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Staying Off the Roads 
Means Knowing the Law

Did you know that Ohio law requires 
all APVs, off-highway motorcycles and 
snowmobiles to be properly registered, 
based on use, with the Bureau of Motor 
Vehicles? Ohio Revised Code 4519 
also require that APV and off-highway 
motorcycle owners will need to present 
a title for their vehicles for fi rst-time 
registration, fi rst-time renewal or transfer 
of registration.

As of July 1, 1999 no certifi cate 
of registration or renewal of a 
certifi cate of registration shall be 
issued for an off-highway motorcycle 
or all-purpose vehicle required to be 
registered under section 4519.02 
of the Revised Code unless a 
certifi cate of title has been issued 
under this chapter for the motorcycle 
or vehicle.

The law permits the Ohio Depart-
ment of Natural Resources to al-
low minors between the ages of 12 
and 16 to operate snowmobiles and 
APVs without a license on state-
controlled land under its jurisdiction 
if accompanied by a parent or guard-
ian who is a licensed motor vehicle 
operator, 18 years of age or older.

For more information, contact the 
Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles at 
614-752-7500.
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For more information on operating your vehicle on Ohio 

Department of Natural Resources’ property,
please call (614) 265-6694.

For additional information, contact your local Deputy
Registrar or the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles

P.O. Box 16520 
Columbus, Ohio 43216-6520



Get the News Before You Cruise
Know the facts about Ohio’s title law, 
and stay revved up all year long. The 
law states:

• Dealers are required to provide you with a 
title for all APVs and off-highway motorcycles 
within 30 days of your purchase.

•  Before you can register your APV or off-
highway motorcycle with the Ohio Bureau of 
Motor Vehicles, it must be titled.

•  First-time renewal of an APV or off-
highway motorcycle registration will require 
presentation of an Ohio title.

•  You can purchase a 30-day sticker from your 
dealer or local Deputy Registrar for $5.50 
to be used while waiting for your title to be 
secured.

•  The 30-day stickers are designed to stay 
intact and legible for a 30-day period.

•  Non-Ohio residents may obtain a 15-day 
registration sticker for APVs, off-highway 
motorcycles and snowmobiles from the Ohio 
Bureau of Motor Vehicles for $8.50.

•  Temporary, non-resident tags are required 
only if a visitor’s home state does not provide 
registration for recreational vehicles.

Ohio law provides penalties similar to those 
imposed for related offenses involving motor 
vehicles, and for violations of registration, 
equipment or operating requirements.

Registration Reminders
• Registrations are valid for up to three years.
•  All registrations expire on December 31 in 

the third year after the date of issuance.
•  Application for the renewal of a registration 

may be made no earlier than 90 days prior 
to expiration.

•  Registration certifi cates for APVs, mini-
bikes, trail bikes and snowmobiles are 
accompanied by an alphanumeric decal 
which must be visibly displayed on the 
vehicle.

Proof of Ownership Documents
When applying for a title for your off-highway 
motorcycle or APV, you must present one of 
the following along with a VIN inspection* at 
any County Title Offi ce:

1. Manufacturer’s Certifi cate of Origin
2. Title from another state in your name or 

assigned to you with a bill of sale
3. Assigned Ohio Certifi cate of Title
4. Court-ordered title
5. Authority letter

* A VIN inspection can be obtained from any 
local Deputy Registrar Agency or most new 
car dealerships. The vehicle must be present 
for the VIN inspection to be performed.

* Snowmobiles are not titled *

Play it Safe
APVs, off-highway motorcycles and snowmobiles 
provide hours of entertainment and enjoyment. 
So, keep it fun and safe for everyone by reviewing 
Ohio’s operating regulations and making sure to 
obey the law.

Operating Regulations
APVs and snowmobiles may be used:

•  To cross a highway other than a limited 
access highway or freeway

•  On county and township highways whenever 
approved by those having jurisdictional 
authority over them

•  Off and alongside streets or highways from 
the place of unloading the vehicle to the place 
at which it is intended and authorized to be 
used

•  On the berm or shoulder of any highway, 
other than a limited access highway or 
freeway, when the terrain is such that the 
vehicle can be used safely

• On the berm or shoulder of a county or 
township road when traveling from one area 
of operation to another

APVs and snowmobiles may not be used:

•  On any limited access highway or freeway or 
the right-of-way thereof

•  On any private property without special 
permission of owner or in any nursery or 
planting area

•  On any state-controlled land or waters except 
those which have been posted as permitting 
snowmobiles or APVs

•  On track or right-of-way of any operating 
railroad

•  When carrying a loaded or uncased fi rearm, 
bow or other hunting implement

•  To chase, pursue, capture or kill any animal 
or wildlife

•  From sunset to sunrise, unless displaying a 
lighted headlight and taillight as required under 
equipment regulations (O.R.C. 4519.40)


