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Developing Skills for a Lifetime.





	OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY

DOCUMENTATION OF

NEW INSTRUCTOR TRAINING
	

	

	DRIVER TRAINING ENTERPRISE

     
	ENTERPRISE #

     

	NEW INSTRUCTOR NAME

     

	TRAINING MANAGER CERTIFYING INSTRUCTION (PRINT)

     
	LICENSE #

     

	

	CLASS D INSTRUCTOR TRAINING - SUMMARY OF TIME TOTALS

	PHASE 1
	
	Basic Instructor Course

	PHASE 2
	Part 1:
	1 hour

	
	
	Training in classroom instructional topics prior to attending driver training class.

	
	Part 2:
	32 hours

	
	
	Must observe, co-instruct, and review instructional methods covering all classes in the school lesson plan, TM assesses final lesson.

	PHASE 3
	Part 1:
	1 hour

	
	
	Introductory training for the Behind the Wheel (BTW) instructional topics / methods prior to participating with BTW lessons.

	
	Part 2:
	16 hours

	
	
	Must observe and co-instruct in all Ohio BTW lessons (1-10).

	
	Part 3:
	2 hours

	
	
	Must conduct BTW instruction with Training Manager (TM) assessment.

	

	More time may be conducted for candidates in order to meet minimum expectations.

	

	Once the 52 hour training is complete and the instructor is licensed by the Department, the instructor will complete a 180 day probationary period as per OAC 4501-7-05 (D). On the 5th month of the probationary period, the Training Manager shall submit the following assessments to the Department in order to show the instructor successfully completed their probationary term:

	· Probationary Instructor Classroom Assessment
·  Probationary Instructor Behind-the-Wheel (Road) Assessment

	

	Ohio Administrative Code (O.A.C.) references:



	4501-7-05(A) No person shall give instruction for hire in the operation of a motor vehicle unless such person is the holder of a current and valid instructor’s license issued by the director. Instructor candidates completing the 52-hour training requirement may student teach with the training manager supervising from the back seat.

	

	4501-7-05(C)(6) Evidence the applicant has completed a basic instructor course provided and approved by the department. The course shall have been completed no more than one year prior to the date the director receives the "Driver Training Instructor License Application

	

	4501-7-10(C) Instructor candidates who have completed at least 32-hours of training can teach up to two hours of behind-the-wheel instruction for one student with the training manager supervising from the back seat. A lesson plan and route sheet provided by the training manager will be used during the lesson.

	

	PHASE 1

	Receive a basic instructor course overviewing being a licensed driving instructor in the state of Ohio. The course will include materials that can be used for instruction. The certificate of completion for the administrative course shall be included with the instructor’s application.


	PHASE 2

	Receive a course in the basics of classroom instruction. Reviews the State Curriculum Guide, Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws, Lesson Plans, texts, handouts, and other materials used for instruction. Observe and co-teach the required 24-hours of classroom instruction with review following each class session.

	NOTE: This phase combines observation with practice in teaching and learning the philosophy, techniques, ethics, and rules of driver education in the classroom.

	

	PART 1

	Part 1 shall be conducted by the training manager or by a competent instructor under supervision of the training manager. Initial instruction in the curriculum and school policies & procedures shall be provided to trainees before entering the classroom environment. Once the trainee begins the observation / co-teaching experience in the classroom (Part 2) these topics should be reviewed at the conclusion of each class to review and affirm their use during the lesson.

	
	TIME = 1 HR

	

	
	

	

	Signatures indicate confidence the instructor candidate understands the required topics

	SIGNATURE OF TRAINEE

X
	DATE

     

	SIGNATURE OF TRAINER

X
	DATE

     

	

	PART 2

	Part 2 shall be conducted by the training manager or by a competent instructor under supervision of the training manager. The trainee shall observe the classroom environment conducted by a competent instructor for the first 8-16 hours. At the conclusion of each class the competent instructor shall review the use of the topics listed in Part 1 with the trainee.

For the remaining 16-32 hours of classroom instruction the competent instructor shall work with the trainee to co-instruct each class. The competent instructor should begin as the primary instructor and gradually give greater responsibility to the trainee as he / she becomes ready. The competent instructor shall always be in class with the trainee ready to step in and ensure that the information given students is correct and the classroom maintains a proper learning environment. The training manager shall personally attend at least one full class co-instructed by the trainee and complete an assessment. (Should the trainee fail to receive a satisfactory assessment the training manager shall attend additional period(s) of co-instruction until satisfied with his / her performance. The duration of any additional observation time shall be determined by the training manager.

	
	TIME = 32 HRS

	

	· The instructor candidate must sign the class roster during each class attended.
· The training manager shall sign the class roster for the class(es) he / she attends.
· A maximum of four instructor candidates may observe one class.
· A maximum of two instructor candidates may co-instruct one class.
· Multiple trainees may observe a class conducted by a licensed instructor.

	

	Signature of Training Manager indicates the instructor candidate has received a satisfactory assessment survey score.

	SIGNATURE OF TRAINING MANAGER

X


	DATE

     

	

	CURRICULUM USED BY SCHOOL

	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  State of Ohio
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  AAA
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  911
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  All Star
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Other (Specify)      

	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Completed class rosters are attached showing attendance for all 24-hours of classroom instruction.
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Lesson plan for date of assessment.
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Satisfactory Classroom Assessment completed by the training manager is attached.


	PHASE 3

	Receive a class in the basics of BTW instruction. Receive hands-on practice of all aspects of the BTW route plan and school training practices. Observe, co-instruct, and instruct 16-hours of student BTW training with review following each session.

	NOTE: This phase combines classroom and practical training to prepare the instructor candidate to provide BTW training that is safe and that builds upon prior learning to enhance student retention.

	

	PART 1

	Part 1 shall be completed by the training manager or by a competent instructor under supervision of the training manager. Initial instruction in the topics listed below (at minimum) shall be provided to trainees prior to their participation with BTW instruction. A training vehicle should be utilized for appropriate topics (blind spots, exercising vehicle control, etc.)

	
	TIME = 1 HR

	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Proper hand position for student 
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Contents of BTW curriculum 
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Application of BTW route plan 
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Interrelating BTW & classroom training 
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Administrative functions 
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Proper mirror adjustment / blind spots 
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Checking temporary permits 
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Other
	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Proper “maneuverability” lesson technique
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Exercising emergency vehicle control
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Right side driving
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Proper turning technique for student safety
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Running Commentary
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Visual scanning & cueing training
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Higher risk activities / locations

	

	Signatures indicate confidence the instructor candidate understands the required topics.

	SIGNATURE OF TRAINEE

X
	DATE

     

	SIGNATURE OF TRAINER
X
	LICENSE # OF TRAINER

     
	DATE

     

	

	PART 2

	Part 2 shall be conducted by the training manager or by a competent instructor under supervision of the training manager. The next 16-hours of training shall cover all lesson topics from the Ohio Driver Training BTW Curriculum using any combination of the following:

	· Trainee driving and trainer teaching

· Trainer driving and trainee teaching

· Trainee co-instructing with trainer

· Driver training student driving, trainer teaching, and trainee observing from the back seat.

	The topics listed in PART 1 as well as other pertinent topics shall be reviewed at the conclusion of each lesson.

	
	TIME = 16 HRS

	

	Ohio Driver Training Curriculum Laboratory Lessons Covered

(Note Observing, Driving or Teaching for BTW)
	DATE(S) ON TOPIC

(MM / DD / YY)
	TIME ON TOPIC

HR:MIN
	TRAINEE
	TRAINER

	
	
	
	INITIALS
	INITIALS
	LIC. #

	Lesson 1: Objectives A-O (entry-level procedural tasks)
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Observe   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Teach   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Co-Instruct   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Drive
	           
           
           
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Lesson 2: Objectives A-F (minimal traffic, numerous intersections)
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Observe   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Teach   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Co-Instruct   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Drive
	           
           
           
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Lesson 3: Objectives A-D (selective parking techniques)
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Observe   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Teach   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Co-Instruct   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Drive
	           
           
           
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Lesson 4: Objectives A-L (higher speeds, sight distance, planning)
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Observe   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Teach   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Co-Instruct   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Drive
	           
           
           
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Lesson 5: Objectives A-D (moderate traffic, in-town)
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Observe   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Teach   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Co-Instruct   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Drive
	           
           
           
	     
	     
	     
	     


	Lesson 6: Objectives A-H (expressway, controlled access highway)
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Observe   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Teach   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Co-Instruct   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Drive
	           
           
           
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Lesson 7: Objectives A-C (parallel parking / maneuverability test)
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Observe   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Teach   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Co-Instruct   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Drive
	           
           
           
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Lesson 8: Objectives A-B (country roads)
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Observe   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Teach   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Co-Instruct   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Drive
	           
           
           
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Lesson 9: Objectives A-G (large volume of traffic)
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Observe   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Teach   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Co-Instruct   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Drive
	           
           
           
	     
	     
	     
	     

	Lesson 10: Objectives A-E (night driving)
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Observe   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Teach   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Co-Instruct   FORMCHECKBOX 
  Drive
	           
           
           
	     
	     
	     
	     

	

	PART 3

	Part 3 Hands-on phase where the trainee actually teaches a 2-hour block of instruction to a student driver for BTW under the direct supervision of the Training Manager. This will only be conducted when Training Manager and trainer(s) agree that the trainee is competent to safely complete this part. During this part the Training Manager must remain with the trainee in the vehicle so that he / she may intercede should a problem arise. The Training Manager must complete an assessment of the trainee’s performance so that improvements can be suggested and problems documented. The trainee must perform with an acceptable assessment score to complete training.

	
	TIME = 2 HRS

	

	Signatures indicate confidence the instructor candidate has received a satisfactory assessment score.

	SIGNATURE OF TRAINEE

X
	DATE

     

	SIGNATURE OF TRAINER

X
	DATE

     

	

	 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Copy of student’s BTW training record.
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Copy of the BTW route plan.
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Copy of the Lesson plan for date of assessment.
 FORMCHECKBOX 
  Copy of the BTW assessment completed by the training manager is attached.

	

	TRAINING NOTES

	NOTES FROM TRAINING TEAM REGARDING CANDIDATE’S PERFORMANCE AND LEARNING / IMPROVEMENT PLANS

     


NOTE:
Break times must be allowed but must not be counted toward the 52 hour training requirement.

NOTE:

Adult remedial and Juvenile Driver Improvement Program training are separate and DO NOT count toward training for a class D driver instructor license.
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