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OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
 

DOCUMENTATION OF NEW ABBREVIATED  
ADULT INSTRUCTOR TRAINING 

 

 
ABBREVIATED ADULT DRIVER TRAINING ENTERPRISE 

      
ENTERPRISE # 

      

NEW INSTRUCTOR NAME 

      

TRAINING COORDINATOR CERTIFYING INSTRUCTION (PRINT) 

      

LICENSE # 

      

 

ABBREVIATED ADULT INSTRUCTOR TRAINING - SUMMARY OF TIME TOTALS 

PHASE 1  Basic Instructor Course 

   

PHASE 2 Part 1: 1 hour 

  Training in classroom instructional topics prior to attending driver training class. 

 Part 2: 8 hours 

  
Must observe, co-instruct, and review instructional methods covering all classes in 
the school lesson plan, TC assesses final lesson. 

   

PHASE 3 Part 1: 1 hour 

  
Introductory training for the Behind the Wheel (BTW) instructional topics / methods prior to 
participating with BTW lessons. 

 Part 2: 8 hours 
   Must observe and co-instruct in Ohio BTW lessons. 

 Part 3: 2 hours 

  Must conduct BTW instruction with Training Coordinator (TC) assessment. 

 

More time may be conducted for candidates in order to meet minimum expectations. 

 

Once the 20 hour training is complete and the instructor is licensed by the Department, the instructor will complete 
a 180 day probationary period as per O.A.C. 4501-8-05 (E). On the 5th month of the probationary period, the Training 
Coordinator shall submit the following assessments to the Department in order to show the instructor successfully 
completed their probationary term: 

 Probationary Instructor Classroom Assessment 

 Probationary Instructor Behind-the-Wheel (Road) Assessment 

 

OHIO ADMINISTRATIVE CODE (O.A.C.) REFERENCES: 

4501-8-05(A) No person shall give instruction for hire in the operation of a motor vehicle unless such person is the holder of 
a current and valid probationary instructor license or non-probationary instructor license issued by the director. The 
instructor shall act only under the authority and guidance of a licensed driver training enterprise.  
 
4501-8-05(C)(6) Except for an online instructor applicant, proof the applicant has completed a training program  within the 
ten years immediately preceding the application for an instructor’s license. 
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PHASE 1 

Receive a basic instructor course overviewing being a licensed driving instructor in the state of Ohio. The course will include 
materials that can be used for instruction. The certificate of completion for the administrative course shall be included with 
the instructor’s application. 

 

PHASE 2 

Receive a course in the basics of classroom instruction. Reviews the Abbreviated Adult Ohio Driver Training Curriculum, 
Digest of Motor Vehicle Laws, Lesson Plans, handouts, and other materials used for instruction. Observe and co-instruct the 
required 4 hours of classroom instruction with review following each class session.  

NOTE: This phase combines observation with practice in teaching and learning the philosophy, techniques, ethics, and 
rules of driver education in the classroom. 

PART 1 

Part 1 shall be conducted by the training coordinator or by a competent abbreviated adult instructor under supervision of the 
training coordinator. Initial instruction in the curriculum and school policies & procedures shall be provided to trainees before 
entering the classroom environment. Once the trainee begins the observation / co-teaching experience in the classroom 
(Part 2) these topics should be reviewed at the conclusion of each class to review and affirm their use during the lesson. 

TIME = 1 HR 

Signatures indicate confidence the instructor candidate understands the required topics 
SIGNATURE OF TRAINEE 

X 

DATE 

      

SIGNATURE OF TRAINER 

X 
 

LICENSE # OF TRAINER 

      

DATE 

      

PART 2 

Part 2 shall be conducted by the training coordinator or by a competent instructor under supervision of the training 
coordinator. The trainee shall observe the classroom environment conducted by a competent instructor for the first 4 hours. 
At the conclusion of each class the competent instructor shall review the use of the topics listed in Part 1 with the trainee. 
For the remaining 4 hours of classroom instruction the competent instructor shall work with the trainee to co-instruct each 
class. The competent instructor should begin as the primary instructor and gradually give greater responsibility to the trainee 
as he / she becomes ready. The competent instructor shall always be in class with the trainee ready to step in and ensure 
that information given to students is correct and the classroom maintains a proper learning environment. The training 
coordinator shall personally attend at least one full class co-instructed by the trainee and complete an assessment. 
(Should the trainee fail to receive a satisfactory assessment the training coordinator shall attend additional period(s) of co-
instruction until satisfied with his / her performance. The duration of any additional observation time shall be determined by 
the training coordinator. 

TIME = 8 HRS  

 The instructor candidate must sign the class roster during each class attended. 

 The training coordinator shall sign the class roster for the class(es) he / she attends. 

 A maximum of four instructor candidates may observe one class. 

 A maximum of two instructor candidates may co-instruct one class. 

 Multiple trainees may observe a class conducted by a licensed instructor. 

Signature of Training Manager indicates the instructor candidate has received a satisfactory assessment survey score. 
SIGNATURE OF TRAINING MANAGER 

X 
 

DATE 

      

CURRICULUM USED BY SCHOOL 

 State of Ohio  Other (Specify)       

 Completed class rosters are attached showing attendance for all 4-hours of classroom instruction. 

 Lesson plan for date of assessment 

 Satisfactory Assessment completed by the training coordinator is attached. 
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PHASE 3 

Receive a class in the basics of BTW instruction. Receive hands-on practice of all aspects of the BTW route plan and school 
training practices. Observe, co-instruct, and instruct 4-hours of student BTW training with review following each session. 

NOTE: This phase combines classroom and practical training to prepare the instructor candidate to provide BTW training 
that is safe and that builds upon prior learning to enhance student retention. 

PART 1 

Part 1 shall be completed by the training coordinator or by a competent instructor under supervision of the training. Initial 
instruction in the topics listed below (at minimum) shall be provided to trainees prior to their participation with BTW 
instruction. A training vehicle should be utilized for appropriate topics (blind spots, exercising vehicle control, etc.) 

TIME = 1 HR 

 

 Proper hand position for student  

 Contents of BTW curriculum  

 Application of BTW route plan  

 Interrelating BTW & classroom training  

 Administrative functions  

 Proper mirror adjustment / blind spots  

 Checking temporary permits  

 Other 

 Proper “maneuverability” lesson technique 

 Exercising emergency vehicle control 

 Right side driving 

 Proper turning technique for student safety 

 Running Commentary 

 Visual scanning & cueing training 

 Higher risk activities / locations 

Signatures indicate confidence the instructor candidate understands the required topics. 
SIGNATURE OF TRAINEE 

X 

DATE 

      

SIGNATURE OF TRAINER 

X 

LICENSE # OF TRAINER 

      

DATE 

      

PART 2 

Part 2 shall be conducted by the training coordinator or by a competent instructor under supervision of the training 
coordinator. The next 8-hours of training shall cover all lesson topics from the Abbreviated Adult Ohio Driver Training BTW 
Curriculum using any combination of the following: 

 Trainee driving and trainer teaching 

 Trainer driving and trainee teaching 

 Trainee co-instructing with trainer 

 Driver training student driving, trainer teaching, and trainee observing from the back seat. 

The topics listed in PART 1 as well as other pertinent topics shall be reviewed at the conclusion of each lesson. 

TIME = 8 HRS 

 
Abbreviated Adult Ohio Driver Training Curriculum  

Laboratory Lessons Covered 
(Note Observing, Driving or Teaching for BTW) 

DATE(S) ON TOPIC 
(MM / DD / YY) 

TIME ON 
TOPIC 
HR:MIN 

TRAINEE TRAINER 

INITIALS INITIALS LIC. # 

Basic Maneuvers: 
 

 Observe    Teach    Co-Instruct    Drive 

            

            

            

                        

Maneuverability: 
 

 Observe    Teach    Co-Instruct    Drive 

            

            

            

                        

Turns, Staying in Lane, Lane Changes, Intersections: 
 

 Observe    Teach    Co-Instruct    Drive 
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Other Topics: (based on the needs of the student) 

 

 Observe    Teach    Co-Instruct    Drive 

            

            

            

                        

Evaluation: 
 

 Observe    Teach    Co-Instruct    Drive 

            

            

            

                        

PART 3 

Part 3 Hands-on phase where the trainee actually teaches a 2-hour block of instruction to a student driver for BTW under the 
direct supervision of the Training Coordinator. This will only be conducted when Training Coordinator and trainer(s) agree 
that the trainee is competent to safely complete this part. During this part the Training Coordinator must remain with the 
trainee in the vehicle so that he / she may intercede should a problem arise. The Training Coordinator must complete an 
assessment of the trainee’s performance so that improvements can be suggested and problems documented. The trainee 
must perform with an acceptable assessment score to complete training.  

TIME = 2 HRS 

Signatures indicate confidence the instructor candidate has received a satisfactory assessment score. 
SIGNATURE OF TRAINEE 

X 

DATE 

      
SIGNATURE OF TRAINER 

X 

LICENSE # OF TRAINER 

      

DATE 

      
 

 Copy of student’s BTW training record. 

 Copy of the BTW route plan. 

 Copy of the BTW assessment completed by the training manager is attached. 

TRAINING NOTES 
NOTES FROM TRAINING TEAM REGARDING CANDIDATE’S PERFORMANCE AND LEARNING / IMPROVEMENT PLANS 

      

 


