
 

Firefighter Continuing Education Requirements 

The following is a summary that will help answer questions about meeting the requirements for maintaining a firefighter certification in Ohio. 

Although every attempt has been made to ensure the accuracy of the following information, in the event of a discrepancy, the language in the 

Ohio Administrative Code 4765-20 shall apply. The full rule can be accessed on our webpage at http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4765-20 . 

Certification Level 0 Months but 
less than 12 

months 

12 months but less than 24 
months (30%) 

24 months but less than 36 
months (60%) 

36 months or more (100%) 

Firefighter 
 

0 18 hours  36 hours 54 hours 

Fire Safety 

Inspector 

0 10 hours to include: 

The theory of fire code 
enforcement; 
 

Enforcement of fire codes; 
 
Life safety system of building and 
uses; 
 
The safe use and maintenance of 

facilities, building, and uses which 
are subject to the state of Ohio 

fire code; 
 
The safe handling of materials 
which pose a fire hazard; 
 

Fire code administration; 
 
Legal method of code 
enforcement; 
 
Legal rights of landlords and 
tenants under federal, state, and 

local laws; 
 
The application, installation, use, 
and interpretation of the NFPA 
standards. 

20 hours to include: 

 
The theory of fire code 

enforcement; 
 
Enforcement of fire codes; 
 
Life safety system of building and 
uses; 
 

The safe use and maintenance of 
facilities, building, and uses which 
are subject to the state of Ohio 

fire code; 
 
The safe handling of materials 

which pose a fire hazard; 
 
Fire code administration; 
 
Legal method of code 
enforcement; 
 

Legal rights of landlords and 
tenants under federal, state, and 

local laws; 
 
The application, installation, use, 
and interpretation of the NFPA 
standards. 

30 hours to include: 

 
The theory of fire code enforcement; 

 
Enforcement of fire codes; 
 
Life safety system of building and 
uses; 
 
The safe use and maintenance of 

facilities, building, and uses which are 
subject to the state of Ohio fire code; 
 

The safe handling of materials which 
pose a fire hazard; 
 

Fire code administration; 
 
Legal method of code enforcement; 
 
Legal rights of landlords and tenants 
under federal, state, and local laws; 
 

The application, installation, use, and 
interpretation of the NFPA standards. 

 

 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4765-20


 

EMT Certification Continuing Education Requirements 

The following is a summary that will help answer questions about meeting the requirements for maintaining a EMT certification in Ohio. 

Although every attempt has been made to ensure the accuracy of the following information, in the event of a discrepancy, the language in the 

Ohio Administrative Code 4765-8 shall apply. The full rule can be accessed on our webpage at http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4765-8 . 

Certification Level 0 Months but 
less than 12 

months 

12 months but less than 24 
months (30%) 

24 months but less than 36 
months (60%) 

36 months or more (100%) 

First Responder / 
Emergency 

Medical 

Responder 

0  4 hours of CE 
 

No specialty hours needed 

9 hours of CE 
 

No specialty hours needed 

15 hours to include: 
 

 Patient Assessment 

 CPR 
 Airway management and 

oxygen administration 
 Automated defibrillator 
 Illness and injury 

management 
 Trauma issues 
 Anaphylaxis and patient 

assisted epinephrine 
 

EMT – Basic / EMT 0 12 hours of CE to include: 

 

 1 hour pediatric 
 1 hour geriatric 
 2 hours trauma or the Ohio 

Trauma Triage course 
 

24 hours of CE to include: 

 

 3 hour pediatric 
 1 hour geriatric 
 5 hours trauma to include 

the Ohio Trauma Triage 
course 
 

40 hours of CE to include: 

 

 6 hour Pediatric 
 2 hour Geriatric 
 8 hours trauma to include the 

Ohio Trauma Triage course 

EMT – 
Intermediate / 

AEMT 

0 18 hours of CE to include: 
 

• 2 hour pediatric 
• 1 hour geriatric 
• 2 hours trauma or the Ohio 

Trauma Triage course 

 

36 hours of CE to include: 
 

•  3 hour pediatric 
•  1 hour geriatric 
•  5 hours trauma to include 

    the Ohio Trauma Triage  

    Course 
 

60 hours of CE to include: 
 

•  8 hour pediatric 
•  4 hour geriatric 
•  8 hours trauma to include the 

    Ohio Trauma Triage course 

EMT – Paramedic 
/ Paramedic 

0 26 hours of CE to include: 
 

• 4 hour pediatric 

• 1 hour geriatric 
• 2 hours cardiac care 
• 2 hours trauma or the Ohio 
      Trauma Triage course 
 

51 hours of CE to include: 
 

• 7 hour pediatric 

• 1 hour geriatric 
• 4 hours cardiac care 
• 5 hours trauma to include   
   the  Ohio Trauma Triage  
   course 

86 hours of CE to include: 
 

• 12 hour pediatric 

• 4 hour geriatric 
• 6 hours cardiac care 
• 8 hours trauma to include the 
   Ohio Trauma Triage course 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4765-8


 

 

EMS & Fire Instructor Continuing Education Requirements 

The following is a summary that will help answer questions about meeting the requirements for maintaining a EMT certification in Ohio. 

Although every attempt has been made to ensure the accuracy of the following information, in the event of a discrepancy, the language in the 

Ohio Administrative Code 4765-8-06 (EMS) or 4765-21(Fire) shall apply. The full rule can be accessed on our webpage at 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4765 . 

Certification Level 0 Months but 

less than 12 

months 

12 months but less than 24 

months (30%) 

24 months but less than 36 

months (60%) 

36 months or more (100%) 

Fire Instructor 0            2 hours CEU and 
8 hours of teaching 

4 hours CEU and  
16 hours of teaching 

6 hours CEU and  
24 hours of teaching 

Fire Safety 
Inspector 
Instructor 

0            2 hours CEU and 
8 hours of teaching 

4 hours CEU and  
16 hours of teaching 

6 hours CEU and  
24 hours of teaching 

EMS Instructor 0 2 hours methodology 
7 hours of instruction 

3 hours methodology 
14 hours of instruction 

6 hours methodology 
24 hours of instruction 

Assistant Fire 

Instructor 

0 2 hours CEU and 

2.65 hours of teaching 

4 hours CEU and  

5.3 hours of teaching 

6 hours CEU and  

8 hours of teaching 

Assistant EMS 
Instructor 

0 2 hours methodology 
4 hours of instruction 

3 hours methodology 
9 hours of instruction 

6 hours methodology 
16 hours of instruction 

Continuing 
Education (CE) 

Instructor 
 

0 1 hours methodology 
1 hours of instruction 

1 hours methodology 
3 hours of instruction 

2 hours methodology 
6 hours of instruction 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4765


 


