A If you have any questions about

s parents, you are naturally

concerned about the safety, health alcohOl and t.he l.aw, cqll the DO Your
and development of your children. Ohio Investigative Unit at

)
(614) 644-2415 Teenager’s
Friends Drink

We are too.

A parent’s attitude and behavior
toward alcohol, much like attitudes
and behaviors about other issues,
may influence the attitudes and
behaviors of children.

in Your Home?

We need YOUR help to
protect Ohio's children...
M Talk to your children about Ohio Investigative Unit
alcohol and the law. Ohio Department of Public Safety
P.O. Box 182081
M Be at home when your children Columbus, Ohio 43218-2081

have a party, and c!o npt provide www.investigativeunit.ohio.gov

alcohol or allow drinking.

M Contact law enforcement if you
are aware of underage persons
purchasing or consuming alcohol.
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M Report establishments that sell =~_ OHIO DEPARTMENT
alcohol to those under 21 by "’/ OF PUBLIC SAFETY
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If so,

You should know...

You cannot give alcohol to your
children’s friends under 21 years
of age — even in your own home
with their parent’s permission.
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Nor can you knowingly allow
anyone under 21 to remain in your
home or on your property while =
they possess or consume alcoholic
beverages.
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If you do, you are
breaking the law!
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you are

breaking the laWT!,i_.H

What this means to you...
# If you are convicted of providing

alcohol to a person under 21 years
of age, the maximum sentence is:

6 months in jail and/or
$1,000 fine

Officers can take any alcohol,
money or property (refrigerator,
furniture, stereos, etc.) used to
commit any offense.

YOU MAY NOT GET IT BACK!
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Others can sue you if you provide
alcohol to anyone under 21 and
they, in turn, damage property or
injure or kill someone.
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You may lose time and money for:
» attorney fees/lawsuits

court appearances and costs
jail term

fines

higher insurance rates

Why do we have
these laws?

Teenage drinking often leads to fights,
vandalism, drunk driving and other
dangerous behavior.

Alcohol abuse can interfere with
emotional and social growth and often
leads to failure in school.

. Alcohol dependency can develop

rapidly for those under 21, often in

. less than a year. Studies indicate

parents often times do not find out
i for at least another year.

Legally, parents can give
alcohol to their own
children who are
under the age of 21.
O.R.C. Section 4301.69




