,-' MEDIA RELEASE

Traffic Safety Office

\
OTS Ohio Traffic Safety Office ¢ Tina O'Grady, Administrator
www.ohiohighwaysafetyoffice.ohio.gov

T~
l\?{?“: OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY
Ted Strickland, Gevernor Cathy Cellins-Taylor, Director

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE: January 29, 2010
Contact: Kristen Castle, Public Information Officer, 614-728-4623

Motorcycle Ohio Rider Education Registration Begins February 1

(COLUMBUS) — The Ohio Department of Public Safety’s Motorcycle Ohio Rider Education Program
registration begins Monday, Feb. 1. Those wanting to learn how to ride a motorcycle or refresh their
motorcycle safety skills may register at www.motorcycle.ohio.gov for one of the $25 courses scheduled
throughout the state from April through October.

More than 150,000 motorcycle riders have been trained since the program’s inception in 1988. More
information about Motorcycle Ohio and the courses, including statewide locations, is available online at
the address listed above.

Beginner Rider Course (BRC)

This 16-hour course is recommended for novice riders. The BRC also teaches tips and strategies for
riders with intermediate skills. BRC students must have a motorcycle learner's permit or a motorcycle
endorsement to take the class. Motorcycles and helmets are provided. Ohio law requires this class for
15% tol7-year-old riders.

Beginner Rider Course-2 (BRC-2)

This 9-hour course is recommended for returning riders or those with prior cycling experience but no
motorcycle endorsement. This course is offered at limited sites. BRC-2 students must have a motorcycle
learner's permit or a motorcycle endorsement. Motorcycles and helmets are provided. By passing the
BRC or BRC-2 course, students will receive a course completion card to add a motorcycle endorsement
to their license without any further exam.

Experienced Rider Course (ERC)

Primarily for advanced riders, students must have a motorcycle endorsement and have at least one year
of cycling experience and/or 1,000 riding miles accrued. Riders taking the course must provide their own
motorcycle, proof of insurance, safety gear, and must pass a motorcycle safety check.

Advanced Rider Course-Sport Bike (ARC-ST)
For advanced riders, students must have a motorcycle endorsement and have at least one year of
cycling experience and/or 1,000 riding miles accrued. Riders taking the course must provide their own
motorcycle, proof of insurance, safety gear, and must pass a motorcycle safety check. Even though this
course is designed for sport bike riders, Motorcycle Ohio encourages all riders on any style of bike to
attend this class.
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Ride SMART: Sober. Motorcycle Licensed. Alert. Right Gear. Trained.
For more information call 1-800-83-RIDER (1-800-837-4337).

Motorcycle Ohio is run by ODPS’ Ohio Traffic Safety Office (OTSO). OTSO coordinates and funds the efforts of DUI
Task Forces and local law enforcement and safety partners around the state to combat impaired and unsafe driving.
OTSO also promotes educational programs, coalition-building efforts and campaigns focused on highway safety in
addition to administering the Driver Training program for the state and Traffic Statistics. For Ohio motorcycle crash
statistics, please visit http://www.publicsafety.ohio.gov/crashes/crash_facts.asp.
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