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Motorcycle Ohio Rider Education Registration Begins February 6

(COLUMBUS) — The Ohio Department of Public Safety’s Motorcycle Ohio Rider Education
Program registration begins Monday, Feb. 6. Those wanting to learn how to ride a motorcycle or
refresh their motorcycle safety skills may register at www.motorcycle.ohio.gov for one of the $25
courses scheduled throughout the state from April through October.

More than 187,000 motorcycle riders have been trained since the program’s inception in 1988.
More information about Motorcycle Ohio and the courses, including statewide locations and
updated training requirements, are available online at the address listed above.

Basic Rider Course (BRC)

This 16-hour course is recommended for novice riders. BRC students must have a valid
Temporary Instruction Permit Identification Permit Card (TIPIC) to take the class. Motorcycles
and helmets are provided. Upon successful completion of this course, the student will earn the
BMV skill-test waiver for a motorcycle endorsement.

Basic Rider Course for Returning Riders (BRC-RR)

This 8-hour course is designed for those 18 years of age or older who have been riding with a
temporary permit for longer than one year (over 1,000 miles of experience) and for experienced
riders returning to riding, with or without a motorcycle endorsement, after several years of not
riding. BRC-RR students must have a have a valid Temporary Instruction Permit Identification
Permit Card (TIPIC) to take the class. Motorcycles and helmets are provided. Upon successful
completion of this course, the student will earn the BMV skill-test waiver for a motorcycle
endorsement.

Basic Rider Course 2 (BRC-2)

This 6-hour, one-day, range-only course (no formal classroom session) requires motorcycle
license or endorsement. This class is also suitable for newly-endorsed/licensed riders. Students
will use their own two-wheeled motorcycle and passengers are allowed.

Advanced Rider Course (ARC)
This 9-hour, one-day course requires motorcycle license or endorsement and students will use
their own two-wheeled motorcycle.

#Hi#

Ride SMART: Sober. Motorcycle Licensed. Alert. Right Gear. Trained.
For more information call 1-800-83-RIDER (1-800-837-4337).

Motorcycle Ohio is run by ODPS’ Office of Criminal Justice Services (OCJS). OCJS coordinates and funds the
efforts of DUI Task Forces and local law enforcement and safety partners around the state to combat impaired and
unsafe driving. OCJS also promotes educational programs, coalition-building efforts and campaigns focused on
highway safety in addition to administering the Driver Training program for the state.



