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OIU agents to parents: Stop senseless tragedies this high school homecoming season 

 
(Columbus) – With many high school homecoming celebrations already underway, agents with the Ohio 
Department of Public Safety’s Ohio Investigative Unit (OIU) would like to remind parents not to participate 
in illegal and dangerous behavior, such as providing alcohol to minors.  

To help foster good choices, parents and teens need to understand Ohio’s underage drinking laws.  

• It is illegal to provide a place for your child and his/her friends to drink in a “safe” environment. In 
fact, parents may not provide alcohol to children who are under 21, who are not their own, even in 
their own home with the other parents' permission. Those convicted of providing alcohol to a 
person under 21 years of age face maximum sentences of six months in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.  
 

• It is illegal for anyone under 21 to purchase, consume or possess alcoholic beverages. Anyone 
convicted of underage alcohol violations faces a maximum $1,000 fine and/or up to six months in 
jail.  

 
• If you are under 21 and are caught driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .02 percent or 

higher, a level that can be reached after just one or two drinks, you can be arrested. Punishment 
is suspension of your driver license for at least 90 days up to a maximum of two years, plus four 
points added to your driving record. Having an open container of alcohol in a motor vehicle is also 
illegal.   

 
• Under 21 individuals can be criminally charged with allowing underage consumption and/or also 

furnishing alcohol if they host a party and their parents/guardians are away.  
 

In April, during prom season, agents as well as deputies from the Jackson County Sheriff’s Office and 
troopers with the Ohio State Highway Patrol were made aware of an underage house party in Jackson 
County. After conducting surveillance and through conversations with the party-goers, agents charged 38 
individuals with underage alcohol related violations. The parents were not home at the time of the party. 
Court proceedings are on-going.  
 
Together, we can make Ohio a safer place to live, by stopping senseless tragedies associated with 
irresponsible and illegal underage alcohol consumption. If you have information about a bar, store or 
carryout selling beer and/or liquor to persons under the age of 21, or you have information of an underage 
house party, please notify OIU by calling #677 on your cell phone and your complaint will be investigated.  

 
# # # 

The Ohio Investigative Unit agents are plain-clothed fully sworn peace officers. OIU is charged with 
enforcing the state’s liquor laws and is the only state law enforcement agency specifically tasked with 
investigating food stamp fraud crimes. Agents also investigate tobacco violations. 
Follow OIU on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/pages/Ohio-Investigative-Unit/165782203506269 
and on Twitter by logging onto http://twitter.com/Ohio_OIU.  
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