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Your  chances  of  running  into  
an  uninsured  driver,  or  more  
likely,  they’re  running  into  
you,  are  increasing.      

Ohioans  were  cited  a  record  
1.13  million  times  last  year  for  
driving  without  insurance,  a  
2.5%  increase  over  2011,  
according  to  new  state  
figures.      

Uninsured  drivers  count  for  
about  1  in  8  motorists  on  the  
road  in  Ohio.    

Lawmakers  voted  last  year  to  
more  than  double  the  amount  
of  liability  insurance  that  
motorists  must  carry.    
Minimums  of  $12,500  for  
injury  or  death  involving  one  
person,  $25,000  for  two  or  
more  people  and  $7,500  for  
property  damage  will  
increase  to  $25,000,  $50,000  
and  $25,000,  respectively,  on  
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new  and  renewed  policies  
effective  December  22,  2013.  

The  number  of  uninsured  
drivers  has  increased  nearly  
60%  over  the  past  decade,  
accelerating  amid  the  job  
losses  and  lower  incomes  
accompanying  the  national  
recession  that  began  in  2007.  

Compliance  rests  on  the  
BMV  and  police  checks.    
Penalties  include  license  
suspension  of  up  to  two  
years,  loss  of  vehicle  
registration  and  fines.  

The  Ohio  Insurance  Institute  
expects  there  will  be  an  
increase  in  the  number  of  
uninsured  drivers.    As  the  
price  goes  up,  there  will  be  
some  that  will  opt  out  on  the  
required  insurance.      
(Columbus  Dispatch  4/28/2013)  
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A  nationwide  survey  
commissioned  by  
Bridgestone  Americas,  Inc.,  
released  April  19,  2013  
reveals  distracted  driving  
behaviors  becoming  socially  
unacceptable  among  young  
drivers.      The  survey  polled  
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more  than  2,000  young  
drivers  ages  16-­‐‑21.    Seventy-­‐‑  
one  percent  (71%)  said  that  
reading  received  texts  and  
emails  is  unacceptable,  yet  
45%  admitted  to  doing  it  
themselves.      Eighty  percent  
(80%)  believe  sending  texts  
and  emails  behind  the  
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wheel  are  unacceptable,  but  
37%  admitted  to  the  
behavior.    Ninety-­‐‑five  
percent  (95%)  of  teens  read  
texts  and  emails  when  on  
the  road  alone,  while  32%  
do  so  around  friends  and  
only  7%  when  with  parents.  

Ninety  percent  (90%)  of    
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young  drivers  admitted  to  
posting  on  social  media  
when  alone,  but  29%  post  
when  with  friends  and  5%  
driving  with  parents.      

The  survey  also  uncovered  
what  behaviors  young  
drivers  admit  to  doing  
behind  the  wheel  and  what  
they  believe  what  their  
friends  are  doing  while  
driving.      

Sixty-­‐‑two  percent  (62%)  
believe  their  friends  send  

Are Young Drivers Learning Their Lesson? (Cont’d) 
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texts  and  emails  when  
driving,  while  only  37%  
admitted  to  do  the  same.        

Nine  percent  (9%)  admitted  
to  browsing  social  media  
sites  while  driving,  yet  
believe  29%  of  their  friends  
do  so.      

Overall,  young  drives  
assume  their  friends  are  
participating  in  digital  
distractions  in  significantly  
greater  numbers  than  they  
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admit  doing  themselves.  The  
survey  also  revealed  other  
beliefs/behaviors  from  young  
drivers.    Sixty-­‐‑three  percent  
(63%)  say  they  take  extra  
precautions  to  make  sure  
they  don’t  get  “too  
distracted.”    Sixty-­‐‑five  
percent  (65%)  of  young  
drivers  admitted  to  driving  
while  drowsy;  33%  admitted  
to  sending  texts  and  emails  
on  the  highway,  80%  
admitted  to  reading  at  a  stop  
sign;  78%  confessed  to  
reading  at  stop  lights.  

(    )  
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The  Area  Wide  Protective  
team  and  Universal  Driver’s  
Center  educated  local  teens  
for  National  Work  Zone  
Awareness  Week,  April  15-­‐‑
19,  2013.    The  campaign  
emphasized  the  need  for  
everyone  to  be  aware  and  
involved  in  safety  efforts  in  
and  around  work  zones.  

Thirty  students  from  local  
Ohio  schools  were  given  
instruction  in  the  classroom  
with  the  knowledge  and  
experience  they  need  to  be  
safe  and  feel  comfortable  
when  they  encounter  work  
zones.    After  the  classroom,  
the  students  were  taken  to  a  
full-­‐‑size  functioning  work  

Working in the Community 
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zone  where  they  had  the  
opportunity  to  actually  drive  
through  a  mock  work  zone  
on  a  golf  cart  and  experience  
firsthand  what  they  can  
expect  to  encounter  on  the  
roads.    The  mock  work  zone  
illustrated  a  temporary  traffic  
control  zone,  a  two-­‐‑lane  road  
lane  closure  using  flaggers,  a  
highway  lane  closure  and  a  
lane  shift  on  the  freeway.  

The  students  who  
participated  in  the  program  
were  asked  to  complete  a  
survey  and  share  what  they  
learned.    Some  of  the  
messages  were:  “as  a  driver,  I  
have  to  not  only  be  aware  of  
the  safety  of  myself,  but  also  
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the  safety  of  others,”    “be  
prepared  to  stop  or  slow  
down  at  any  time,”    “always  
watch  people  and  workers  
that  on  the  side  of  the  road  –  
they  could  be  in  danger  if  
drivers  don’t  watch  out,”  
and  “always  pay  attention  to  
the  people,  drivers  and  signs  
around  you.”      

These  students  will  share  
what  they  learned  with  their  
friends  and  families  and  will  
call  for  more  awareness  and  
cautiousness  as  they  hit  the  
roads.    

www.awptrafficsafety.com  
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“Traffic 
Trivia” 
What  year  was  the  
traffic  cone  
invented?    And  who  
invented  the  traffic  
cone?  
(Answers  on  last  page)  

 

 

Public  Hearing    will  be  held  August  26th,  2013  @  10am  in  the  ODOT  Auditorium.  This  hearing  is  
the  forum  to  provide  comments  regarding  the  online  driver  education  rules  as  proposed  and  
filed  with  the  Joint  Committee  on  Agency  Rule  Review.  
 
 

IMPORTANT ANNOUNCEMENT 



Driving  school  inspections  are  required  to  be  done  by  the  staff  of  the  Ohio  Driver  Training  
Program  when  initially  opening  your  school,  changing  the  location  of  the  school,  re-­‐‑inspection  
after  an  inspection  violation  and/or  the  bi-­‐‑annual  inspection.    The  most  common  inspection  
violations  that  are  found  are  as  follows:  

1) No  ID  badges  worn  by  behind-­‐‑the-­‐‑wheel  instructors.  
2) Outdated  text  books.    Text  books  must  have  a  copyright  date  within  10  years.  
3) All  vehicles  not  available  for  inspection  by  the  Ohio  State  Highway  Patrol.  
4) Instructor  assessments  not  performed  annually. 
  

RULES Update 
From the Driver Tra ining Program Director  
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The  following  training  is  being  offered.    Please  see  www.drivertraining.ohio.gov/schools.htm  for  
registration  information.  

DDC8-­‐‑Ohio  Instructor  Trainer  Course  –  Adult  Remedial  

National  Safety  Council  –  Defensive  Driving  3  day  course  in  Youngstown,  Ohio  

October  23-­‐‑25,  2013  

Registration  is  needed  2  weeks  before  starting  date!  

Upcoming Training  
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Training Managers  –  CE  training  needs  to  be  done  every  3  years.    Don’t  lose  your  training  manager  
endorsement.  

Lesson Plans  must  be  current  and  on  file  with  the  enterprise  for  the  BTW  and  classroom.  

Online Account  needs  to  be  updated  as  changes  happen.    Don’t  forget  to  follow-­‐‑up  with  ODPS  with  
supporting  documentation.    

November 30, 2013  –  Final  deadline  for  driving  school  renewals.    

Important Reminders 
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CDL  RULES:    Changes  for  
4501-­‐‑7-­‐‑23  “Character  and  
fitness  for  CDL  schools”  
became  effective  Wednesday,  
May  2,  2013.  
  
  

ONLINE  RULES:    The  online  
driver  education  rules  were  
filed  July  24th,  2013.    
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“Traffic  Trivia”  Answers:    
The  first  orange  traffic  cone  
was  invented  by  Charles  P.  
Rudabaker  of  New  York  in  
1914.  

From  the  Editor:    If  you  
have  any  interesting  traffic  
trivia  questions  or  news  
articles,  please  email  to:    
vluptak@dps.state.oh.us  

Thank  you.  

Contact Information: 
vluptak@dps.state.oh.us 
stacey.l.thompson@dps.state.oh.us 

 
Website Address: 
www.drivertraining.ohio.gov 

 
614.466.3524 
614.728.8330 fax 

 

Upcoming Media Campaigns 
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Drive  Sober  or  Get  Pulled  Over*:  National  Enforcement  Crackdown  –  August  16  thru  September  2  

Back  To  School  Safety  Month:    August  

Child  Passenger  Safety  Week:    September  15  –  September    21  

MADD  National  Teen  Driver  Safety  Week:    October  20  -­‐‑  October  26  www.madd.org  

Halloween:*  Drive  Sober  or  Get  Pulled  Over  –  October  25  -­‐‑  November  1  

Ohio  State  vs.  Michigan:    Fans  Don’t  Let  Fans  Drive  Drunk  –  November  30  

Thanksgiving  Weekend:*  Drive  Sober  or  Get  Pulled  Over  –  November  22  -­‐‑  December  1  

Christmas  Holiday  Season:*  Drive  Sober  or  Get  Pulled  Over  –  December  13  -­‐‑  January  2  

(*)  NHTSA  Media  Campaigns  @  www.nhtsa.gov  
  

Ohio Department of Public Safety 
Ohio Driver Training Program 
1970 W. Broad Street 
Columbus, Ohio 43232 

 

Mission Statement 
  
The   Ohio   Driver   Training   Program’s  
purpose   is   to   educate   the   public  
through   regulation   of   driver   training  
entities   for   the   development   of   safe  
driving  skills  for  life.  


