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TEENS WILL SOON FACE DRIVING RESTRICTIONS 
- House Bill 343 takes effect Friday, April 6; limits the number of passengers - 

 
COLUMBUS – One of the last bills Governor Bob Taft signed into law before leaving office amended sections of 
Ohio’s Graduated Driver License law which affects teenage drivers. 
 
Signed January 4, HB 343 places certain restrictions on the operation of motor vehicles by probationary license holders 
and temporary instruction permit holders who are less than 18 years of age. The law takes effect Friday, April 6, 2007. 
 

• Probationary driver license holders under the age of 17 will not be permitted to operate a motor vehicle with 
more than one person who is not a family member in the vehicle, unless accompanied by the license holder’s 
parent, guardian, or legal custodian. Studies conducted by the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety have 
shown that one passenger doubles the risk of a fatal crash among teen drivers, two passengers triple the risk, 
and three or more passengers increase the risk by more than six. 

 
• Probationary driver license holders between 17 and 18 years of age will be restricted from driving between the 

hours of 1 a.m. and 5 a.m. unless the holder is accompanied by a parent or guardian, with the following 
exceptions: an emergency situation, driving to or from a school activity, or driving to or from work. Travel to or 
from work is permitted provided the teen has written documentation from the employer. 

 
• Probationary license holders under the age of 17 are prohibited from driving between midnight and 6 a.m. 

unless accompanied by a parent or guardian with the same exceptions as above. This is a change to the 
previous restriction of 1 a.m. to 5 a.m. 

 
• Permit holders under the age of 18 will be prohibited from driving between the hours of midnight and 6 a.m., 

unless accompanied by a parent, guardian, or legal custodian who holds a valid license.  This is a change to 
the previous restriction of 1a.m. to 5 a.m. 

 
• If a probationary driver license holder under the age of 17 is convicted of having committed one moving 

violation during the first six months of having a driver license, the person must be accompanied by a parent or 
guardian whenever operating a motor vehicle during the six-month period commencing on the date on which 
the person is convicted of or pleads guilty to the moving violation or until the person attains the age of 17.   

 
For a copy of the bill, go to http://www.legislature.state.oh.us/bills.cfm?ID=126_HB_343. 
 
The Ohio Department of Public Safety includes the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles, the Office of Criminal Justice 
Services, the Ohio Emergency Management Agency, Ohio Emergency Medical Services, Ohio Homeland Security, 
the Ohio Investigative Unit, and the Ohio State Highway Patrol. 
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