
How Do I Become an EMS Instructor? 

 

Thank you for your interest in Emergency Medical Services (EMS) education. It is said 
that students learn more from their teachers than their textbooks. With that in mind, the 
State Board of Emergency Medical Services (EMS Board) has determined that all EMS 
initial training and EMS continuing education must be taught by competent and 
knowledgeable instructors 
. 
The EMS Board may issue four levels of certificates to teach: 1) EMS Instructor; 2) 
Assistant EMS instructor; 3) EMS Continuing Education Instructor; and 4) Physician as 
EMS instructor. By law, section 4765.23 of the Ohio Revised Code (ORC), only those 
issued an EMS certificate to teach by the EMS Board may teach courses offered 
through an EMS accredited training program or an approved continuing education 
training program. 
 
An EMS certificate to teach is issued to an applicant who meets the qualifications 
established in the Ohio Administrative Code (OAC) and adopted by the EMS Board. 
The following link has been provided for the complete text of the instructor rules 
http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4765-18 . Reference OAC 4765-18-05 for EMS Instructor 
qualifications; OAC 4765-18-18 for Assistant EMS Instructor qualifications; OAC 4765-
18-15 for EMS Continuing Education Instructor qualifications; and OAC 4765-18-09 for 
Physician as EMS Education Instructor qualifications. 
 
An applicant for a certificate to teach as an EMS Continuing Education Instructor 
must be currently certified/licensed as a First Responder, an EMT, a Registered Nurse 
(RN), a Physician Assistant (PA) or a Physician. An EMS Continuing Education 
Instructor may teach EMS continuing education courses, on any topic, to the level of the 
instructor’s certificate to practice. An EMS Continuing Education Instructor is required to 
complete six (6) hours of EMS teaching and either two (2) instructional CE hours or 
successfully complete the instructional methods examination to renew the certificate to 
teach. To apply for certificate to teach as an EMS Continuing Education Instructor an 
applicant must: 

 Have held a certificate/license as a FR, EMT-B, EMT-I, EMT-P, RN or PA at least 
3 of the past 5 years; 

 Submit written documentation of qualifications to teach to EMS Program Director; 

 Verify compliance with OAC 4765-8-01 (A)(6) to (A)(12) 

 Obtain Program Director’s signature on application; 

 Submit a completed application as approved by the Board. 
 
An applicant for a certificate to teach as an Assistant EMS Instructor must be 
currently certified/licensed as a First Responder, an EMT, an RN, a PA or a Physician. 
An Assistant EMS Instructor may teach EMS initial training courses and continuing 
education courses, on any topic, to the level of the instructor’s certificate to practice. An 
Assistant EMS Instructor is required to complete sixteen (16) hours of EMS teaching 
and either six (6) instructional CE hours or successfully complete the instructional 

http://codes.ohio.gov/oac/4765-18


methods examination to renew the certificate to teach. To apply for certificate to teach 
as an Assistant EMS Education Instructor an applicant must: 

 Have held a certificate/license as a FR, EMT-B, EMT-I, EMT-P, RN or PA at least 
3 of the past 5 years; 

 Pass the Instructor Knowledge exam at the level of certification (RN & PA tests at 
Medic level); 

 Pass the practical skills exam at the level of certification (RN & PA tests at Medic 
level); 

 Complete 8 hours of instruction specific to the field of EMS and 

 Complete 10 hours of supervised teaching under auspices of an accredited 
institution; 

 Comply with OAC 4765-8-01 (A)(6) to (A)(12); 

 Submit a completed application as approved by the Board. 
 
An applicant for a certificate to teach as an EMS Instructor must be currently 
certified/licensed as a First Responder, an EMT, an RN, a PA or a Physician. An EMS 
Instructor may teach EMS initial training courses and continuing education courses, on 
any topic, to the level of the instructor’s certificate to practice. An EMS Instructor is 
required to complete twenty-four (24) hours of EMS teaching and either six (6) 
instructional CE hours or successfully complete the instructional methods examination 
to renew the certificate to teach. To apply for certificate to teach as an EMS Education 
Instructor an applicant must: 

 Have held a certificate/license as a FR, EMT-B, EMT-I, EMT-P, RN or PA at least 
5 of the past 7 years; 

 Pass the Instructor Knowledge exam at the level of certification (RN & PA tests at 
Medic level); 

 Pass the practical skills exam at the level of certification (RN & PA tests at Medic 
level); 

 Complete 8 hours of instruction specific to the field of EMS and 

 Complete 10 hours of supervised teaching under auspices of an accredited 
institution; 

 Complete 50 hours in instruction of adult students and basic teaching techniques; 

 Comply with OAC 4765-8-01 (A)(6) to (A)(12); 

 Submit a completed application as approved by the Board. 
 
An applicant for a certificate to teach as a Physician as EMS Instructor must be 
currently licensed as a Physician in Ohio. A Physician as EMS Instructor may teach 
EMS initial training courses and continuing education courses and is not required to 
complete instructional CE hours or a minimum number of EMS teaching hours to renew 
the certificate to teach. To apply for certificate to teach as a Physician as EMS 
Education Instructor an applicant must: 

 Comply with OAC 4765-8-01 (A)(6) to (A)(12); 

 Submit a completed application as approved by the Board. 
 



An initial application for a certificate to teach may be found on the EMS Web Site using 
the following link 
http://www.ems.ohio.gov/ems_forms.stm  or contact an Education Coordinator at the  
 

Division of EMS. 
Ohio Division of EMS 

Attn: Linda Mirarchi, PhD 
EMS Education Coordinator 

1970 West Broad Street 
Columbus, OH 43223 

800/233-0785 
lmirarchi@dps.state.oh.us 

http://www.ems.ohio.gov/ems_forms.stm

