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Introduction 
 
The Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services in conjunction with the 
Ohio Community Corrections Organization published in 1993 the 
Community Corrections Bench Book for elected officials and 
practitioners. The purpose of the bench book was to document 
existing and proposed sanctions for adult and juvenile offenders in 
Ohio. Since 1993, the adult felony, misdemeanor, traffic, and 
juvenile sentencing codes have been revised and the purposes of 
sanctions have changed. This new statutory sanctions manual is 
designed to replace the original document and provide information 
on current statutory sanctions. 
 
Community sanctions in Ohio are based on a continuum of services1 
from the least restrictive to the most restrictive. Using a mix of 
prevention, intervention, education, treatment, and traditional 
incarceration, community corrections works to prevent, treat, and 
rehabilitate criminals in addition to handing down punishment for a 
crime. Current research has shown that what works in corrections 
are programs that are designed based on the offenders risk to public safety, assessment of 
criminogenic needs and include a cognitive behavioral element in the treatment services. 
Intensive services need to be designed to serve moderate to high-risk offenders. Providing low 
risk offenders with intensive services increases the likelihood the offender will commit new 
crimes. The continuum is designed to provide a range of correctional services that become more 
obtrusive the higher up the continuum you move. This document is not designed to be the final 
definitive listing of all community corrections sanctions and programs, but rather, a living 
document that can be added to and updated.  
 
Sanctions in Ohio are statutorily divided into financial, non-residential, and residential. The first 
three sections of the manual provide information on specific sanctions mentioned in the law. One 
of the major changes in the code is to provide sentencing judges with the ability to sentence 
offenders to one or more of these of sanctions directly without first placing the offender on 
probation. The fourth section is a brief examination of the specialty dockets. Finally, the 
appendices are designed to provide resource information. 
  
The development of this document was through the effort of several organizations. The Ohio 
Community Corrections Organization, the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction, 
and the Ohio Department of Youth Services provided assistance in reviewing and updating the 
current statutory sanctions. The Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services thanks these 
organizations for their invaluable assistance. 

                                                        
1 Community Corrections in Ohio is the provision of services to alleged and adjudicated offenders in Ohio. Services 
prior to conviction in Ohio are usually provided by corrections professionals and are considered part of the continuum 
of sanctions available for treatment.  
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Fines 
 
Description:  A fine is a possible sanction for violating any criminal law in Ohio and the 

amount is set by state law. Fines for adult felony offenders are as follows:  
 

 Felony 1 up to $20,000, 
 Felony 2 up to $15,000, 
 Felony 3 up to $10,000, 
 Felony 4 up to $5,000, and 
 Felony 5 up to $2,500. 

 
If the offense is a first-, second- or third-degree felony drug offense, the 
judge must impose a fine of at least one half of, but not more than the full 
amount of the felony fine unless the offender can prove indigence. The 
judge also has an option to add an additional fine that is not more than the 
total value of any personal or real property of the offender. The sum of both 
fines may not exceed the statutory amount of the felony level fine.  

 
A fine may also be used as a sanction for adult misdemeanor offenders as 
follows:  
 
 Misdemeanor 1 up to $1,000, 
 Misdemeanor 2 up to $750, 
 Misdemeanor 3 up to $500, 
 Misdemeanor 4 up to $250, and 
 Minor Misdemeanor up to $150. 

 
Fines for juveniles are set at lower amounts as follows: 
 
 Minor misdemeanor up to $50, 
 Misdemeanor 4 up to $100, 
 Misdemeanor 3 up to $150, 
 Misdemeanor 2 up to $200, 
 Misdemeanor 1 up to $250, 
 Felony 5 up to $300, 
 Felony 4 up to $400, 
 Felony 3 up to $750, 
 Felony 2 up to $1,000, 
 Felony 1 up to $1,500, and 
 Aggravated murder or murder up to $2,000. 

 
The court may determine if the offender is indigent. Upon an indigent 
filing, the court may impose community service in lieu of fines.  

 
If the offender has been found to be able to pay and refuses, the court may 
jail the adult offender. Each day in jail reduces the offender’s fine debt by 
$50. Juvenile offenders may be sentenced to a term of community service if 
they are able to pay but do not pay the fine. 

 
The Clerk of Court is responsible for collecting any financial sanctions and 
may contract with another public or private agency to collect the fees. Fines 
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once imposed are considered a civil liability and courts may use the civil 
recovery procedures to collect the fines. 
 
The fine sanction may be used in combination with any other sanction. If an 
offender completes all other sanctions imposed and has paid any court- 
ordered restitution, the court may cancel the balance of any fees owed. 

 
 Legal Authority:  ORC Section §2929.18 sets forth fines for felonies. ORC §2929.28 sets forth 

fines for misdemeanors. ORC § 2152.20 sets forth fines for delinquent or 
juvenile traffic offenders. ORC §2947.14 gives the authority to the court 
for jail time in satisfaction of fines.  

 
Eligibility:   Fines are available as a sanction for any criminal, delinquent or traffic 

offense in Ohio. In practice, fines are not imposed since many offenders do 
not have the resources to pay the fines. 

 
Who decides?  The sentencing judge makes the decision. 
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Fees 
 
Description:  State law allows judges to assess fees the offender must pay as part of the 

sentencing process. Fees may not exceed the actual cost of the services 
being provided. The fee reimbursement may be for the following: 

 
 Confinement in a jail or juvenile detention facility, 
 Confinement in a prison or juvenile institution, 
 Confinement in a residential facility, 
 Costs of arrest and prosecution in the case of arson, 
 Any part of a community control sanction, including supervision,  
 The administrative cost of implementing a community control 

program, 
 Costs of services provided by a private agency, or  
 Any other sanction established by the court. 

 
The clerk of court is responsible for collecting any financial sanctions and 
may contract with another public or private agency to collect the fees. 
The fee sanction may be used in combination with any other sanction. 
Fees may be assigned to both felony and misdemeanor offenders. If an 
offender completes all sanctions imposed and has paid any court-ordered 
restitution,  the court may cancel the balance of any fees owed. 

 
Legal Authority:  ORC §2929.18 sets forth the authority for adult felony offenders. ORC 

§2929.28 sets forth the authority for adult misdemeanor offenders. ORC § 
2152.20 sets forth the authority for juvenile delinquent or traffic offenders. 

 
Eligibility:   Fees are available as a sanction for any criminal offense in Ohio.  
 
Who decides?  The sentencing judge makes the decision. 
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Day Fines 
 
Description:  In the United States, typical fines are tariffs scaled to the severity of the 

crime. One European technique for addressing equity and collection 
issues is the “day fine.” With day fines, the judge first decides the number 
of “day fine units” warranted, based on the nature or severity of the crime 
(the more serious the crime, the higher the number of units). The 
monetary value of each day fine unit is then determined based on the 
offender’s income. In short, the number of units times the percentage of 
income tithed equals the fine amount. Day fines have been piloted in 
several jurisdictions in the United States. Research has shown that if 
carefully implemented, they can increase revenue and decrease more 
expensive residential placements. 

 
Day fines are adjusted to reflect individual circumstances. For example, in 
Sweden, a day fine unit is 1/1000th of the offender’s annual salary, with 
deductions for taxes, dependents, and major debts, but with increase 
based on net worth. In Germany, a day fine unit is the offender’s net 
income for one day. The fine is the amount of income the offender would 
have lost if incarcerated.  

 
Legal Authority:  ORC §2929.18(A)(2) allows for the judge to set the amount of the fine 

based on a standard percentage of daily income for a set number of days. 
Day fines are not an available sanction for delinquent or juvenile traffic 
offenders.  

 
Eligibility:   Felony offenders are eligible for a day fine program; however, the total day 

fine may not exceed the maximum of the standard fines. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge determines the standard percentage and number of 

days based on the seriousness of the offense. 
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Super Fines 
 
Description:  A super fine is a financial sanction that allows the court to impose a fine of 

up to one million dollars on an offender who is convicted of or plead guilty 
to an offense if: 

 
 There are three or more victims, 
 The offender has previous convictions with the current offense 

involve three victims,  
 The offense of conviction is an aggravated murder, murder or felony 

1 that prior to July 1, 1996 would be an aggravated felony, or 
 The offense is a felony 1, 2, or 3 involving drugs or controlled 

substances. 
 

Super fines collected under this provision are deposited into the Crime 
Victims Recovery Fund for distribution. 

 
 Legal Authority: ORC Section §2929.32 authorizes super fines for adult offenders. Super 

fines are not available for juvenile offenders 
 
Eligibility:   Adult offenders convicted of serious felonies. 
 
Who decides?  The sentencing judge makes the decision. 
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Restitution 
 
Description:  Restitution is a way to provide for the victims of adult criminal offenses. 

A judge may impose restitution by itself or as part of other sanctions. 
Restitution to the victim or survivor of the offender’s crime is directly 
tied to their economic loss.  

 
    The judge makes a decision on the amount of the restitution to be paid. 

The amount may be based on recommendations of the victim, offender, 
the probation department, or actual receipts. If there is a dispute, a 
hearing is held to review the amount. 

     
    The court is allowed to provide for restitution for juvenile offenders in 

the following ways: 
 

 Cash reimbursement paid in a lump sum or in installments, 
 Repair work to restore any damaged property to its original 

condition 
 Reasonable amount of labor for the victim or survivor of the victim 
 Community service work 
  Any other form the court deems appropriate 

 
    At the judges discretion a hearing may be held to determine if the 

offender can or could in the future pay the restitution.  
 

    Restitution is to be paid to a government agency for distribution to the 
victim, survivor, or a third party who paid for the expenses of the victim.
Courts may add a surcharge of 5 percent to cover the administration and  
collection of restitution. 

 
    Restitution once imposed is considered a civil liability and the courts may 

now use civil procedures to recover any uncollected amounts. 
 
Legal Authority:  ORC Section §2929.18 authorizes restitution for felonies and ORC 

§2929.28 for misdemeanors. ORC § 2152.19 provides the authority to use 
the sanction for juvenile delinquent or traffic offenders and ORC § 
2151.354 for unruly juvenile offenders. 

 
 
Eligibility:   All felons and misdemeanor offenders may be sentenced to make 

restitution.  
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge makes the decision. 
 



 

 

 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Non-Residential Sanctions 

 
Non-Residential 

 Sanctions 
 



 

 

 
 

9 

Pretrial Release 
 
Description:  Individuals arrested for a criminal offense who do not pose a threat to the 

community, have ties to the community, and the circumstances of the crime 
charged does not require incarceration, may be released before trial. Pretrial 
Release programs were developed to ensure the defendant appeared for trial and 
to provide services to the defendant. Elements of a pretrial program may include: 

 Assessment of risk and needs of the client, 
 Supervision of the client by a trained Pretrial Services Officer, 
 Electronic monitoring,  
 Urinalysis monitoring, 
 Emergency housing,  
 Welfare assistance,  
 Pre-natal care, 
 Treatment for chemical dependency, 
 Treatment for mental health,  
 Counseling services,  
 Other treatment services as determined through assessment, and 
 Review and eligibility determination for alternative disposition programs 

such as Drug Court, Mental Health Dockets, and Diversion Programs. 

While in a pretrial release program preliminary information about the 
defendant’s ability to adapt to the rigors of monitoring within the community 
similar to that of probation supervision can be tested for consideration by the 
court. Also during this time, information can be collected regarding the 
defendant’s residence, employment, social status, and other pertinent information 
that is used in sentencing. This information can then be used to support the 
sentencing option later. 

 
Legal Authority:  ORC § 2937.22 through ORC § 2937.33 provides authority for the bail process. 

ORC § 2152.13 provides juveniles with the same rights to bail as adult 
offenders. Generally, ORC § 2152.26 provides juveniles the right to bail if held in 
jail. The Ohio Codes and Rules derive from Amendment VIII of the U.S. 
Constitution – “Excessive Bail shall not be required…” and subsequent Supreme 
Court rulings such as Stack v. Boyle, 342 U.S. 1 (1951), the passage of the 
Federal Speedy Trial Act of 1973 and the Federal Bail Reform Act of 1984. 

 
    Criminal Procedure Rule 46 establishes the conditions the judge may impose on 

bail which include placing the person in a pre-trial release program, restricting 
travel, associations or place of abode. The judge may also impose several 
community control sanctions including house arrest, work release, and substance 
abuse treatment if the offense is alcohol or drug related. Juvenile Rule 7 outlines 
the options available to court when a complaint is made against a juvenile. 
Courts can release the juvenile to a parent or guardian, or may admit him/her 
to a detention facility. In addition, the American Bar Association adopted the 
new Criminal Justice Black Letter Standards for Pretrial Release in February 
2002. 
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Eligibility:   Generally all persons who have appeared before the court upon receipt of a 
summons are entitled to release on their own recognizance or upon execution of 
an unsecured appearance bond. Exceptions include defendants in capital cases 
and other cases where the proof is evident, or the presumption great that the 
defendant may not appear at all stages of the criminal proceedings or is a threat 
to the community. If the person has a history of failure to appear when required 
in judicial proceedings, or the person’s physical, mental, or emotional condition 
appears to be such that the person may pose a danger to self or others if released 
immediately, that person need not be released on his/her own recognizance or 
upon the execution of an unsecured appearance bond. The ABA’s Standards for 
Pretrial Release provides guidance in the method, factors and process for making 
eligibility determinations. 

 
Who Decides?  The judge decides in felony cases. The Clerk of Court or, if the clerk is not 

available, the officer in charge of the facility to which the person is brought 
decides in misdemeanor cases. 
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Pretrial Diversion 
 
Description:  Diversion Programs are an alternative to traditional criminal prosecution or 

juvenile justice proceedings for first time, non-violent offenders. They offer non-
punitive case processing to selected individuals charged with a certain category 
of crime, most usually property crimes. The goal of pretrial diversion programs 
is to divert defendants from the criminal justice system and the stigma that 
conviction carries, while still holding them responsible for their actions.  

 
    Tenets of these programs are that:   
 

 The defendant’s participation must be voluntary, and done with the advice of 
counsel,  

 Each participant in the program has a service plan established that meets their 
needs and is structured to assist the participant in avoiding future illegal 
behavior, and 

 Successful completion of the service plan and program results in the dismissal 
of pending charges.  

 
Diversion programs may provide services to the participants in house, or by 
arrangement with other community agencies. Services may include:  
 
 Mental Health Services, 
 Employment, 
 Counseling, 
 Education, 
 Urine Drug Screens, and  
 Collection of restitution payments. 

 
Diversion does not guarantee a non-criminal disposition of a suspect’s case 
because the suspect is required to meet specific conditions before the prosecutor 
forgoes the right to bring the case to trial. The prosecutor usually insists on a 
waiver of the suspect’s constitutional right to a speedy trial and statutory right to 
invoke the statute of limitations. Some prosecutors require a guilty plea or an 
admission of guilt before diversion. The victim and arresting officer may file 
objections with the prosecutor before release (ORC §2935.36 (C)). 

 
Legal Authority:  ORC §2935.36 authorizes county prosecutors to establish pretrial diversion 

programs. The presiding common pleas judge must sign-off on the program’s 
written standards. ORC § 2151.331 authorizes the court to place an alleged or 
adjudicated unruly child in a diversion program established by the court. 
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Eligibility:   Unruly juvenile offenders are eligible for diversion. In addition, adult offenders 

(except drug dependant) accused of committing a criminal offense that the 
prosecutor believes probably will not offend again. Generally, violent, repeat, and 
dangerous offenders are ineligible. However, the same section allows pretrial 
diversion for persons accused of a violent offense if any of the following are true:  

 
 The accused did not cause, threaten, or intend serious physical harm;  
 The circumstances of the offense are not likely to recur;  
 The accused has no history of prior delinquency or criminal activity;  
 The accused has led a law-abiding life; and  
 Substantial grounds tend to excuse or justify the offense. 

 
Who Decides?  The prosecutor makes the final decision on who will be eligible to participate in a 

diversion program. However, several counties use a citizen advisory board to 
review and comment on cases being considered. 
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Intervention in Lieu of Conviction 
 

Description: Drug Treatment in Lieu of Conviction is a pretrial diversion for substance 
abusing defendants available in common pleas, county or municipal courts. 
The program is designed to give defendants an opportunity to receive 
treatment and avoid further criminal proceedings. The defendant must 
request consideration for treatment in lieu of conviction. Prior to 
consideration, the defendant must be assessed by a licensed or certified 
substance abuse program. The court then conducts a hearing to determine 
applicability of placement. The defense attorney and the prosecutor may 
present evidence on eligibility or ineligibility to the court. If granted, the 
defendant must admit guilt and all further criminal proceedings are held in 
abeyance unless the court’s conditions are violated. The judge then places 
the defendant on probation with an intervention plan.  

 
On successful completion of a program including one year of abstinence, the 
admission of guilt in a criminal conviction will be removed and the court 
may seal the records related to the case. If the offender’s treatment is 
unsuccessful, the court must find the offender guilty and impose an 
appropriate sanction. 

 
Legal Authority:  ORC §2951.041 authorizes programs for adult substance abusing offenders. 

There is no similar provision in the juvenile code.  
 
Eligibility:   Substance abusing persons accused of any fourth or fifth degree felony 

eligible for community sanctions except if:  
 The offender has previously been convicted or pled guilty to a felony; 
 The offense is an offense of violence; 
 The offense is not vehicular assault, driving while intoxicated, 

corrupting another with drugs, or fourth degree drug possession; 
 The person’s drug or alcohol use was a factor leading to the criminal 

activity; or 
 The alleged victim of the offense was not 65 years or older, 

permanently or totally disabled, under thirteen years of age, or a peace 
officer. 

Who decides?   The sentencing judge makes the decision based on the request of the 
offender. The prosecutor may comment on the request. 
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Community Control Sanctions and Probation 
 
Description:  Community control sanctions are the generic name for a series of 

nonresidential and residential sentences provided for offenders who do 
not receive a prison sentence. An offender who receives a community 
control sanction is placed under the general control and supervision of 
a probation department. The probation department is responsible for 
reporting to the judge any violations of a community control sanction. 
An offender can be sentenced to community control sanctions for up to 
five years.  

 
Probation involves supervision of offenders by a probation officer. The 
probation officer is responsible for ensuring the offender meets the 
conditions of community control set by the judge during sentencing. 
The court imposes additional sanctions to address identified areas of 
offender needs such as chemical dependency, unemployment, limited 
education and training, cognitive behavioral training, and mental 
health. During the period of probation, the offender must abide by the 
law and not leave the State without permission of the probation officer.  
 
The law for misdemeanor offenders is slightly different. The judge has 
the option to sentence the offender directly to community control and 
probation supervision or to jail, suspend the jail sentence, and place 
the offender on probation. 

 
Legal Authority:  The authority to directly sentence adult offenders to community 

control is in ORC § 2929.15 for felonies and ORC § 2929.22 for 
misdemeanors. ORC § 2301.32 authorizes the court of common pleas 
to contract with the Adult Parole Authority to provide supervision 
services. ORC § 2301.27 authorizes the common pleas court to 
establish their own probation department and set specific rules and 
regulations for operation within the broad outlines of the revised code. 
ORC § 2301.30 lists the duties of the probation department. 

 
    ORC § 1901.33 establishes the operation of a municipal court 

department of probation. ORC § 1907.201 establishes the operation of 
a county court department of probation. Adult probation officers in 
municipal or county court probation departments have all the same 
powers as a police officer.  

 
    ORC § 2152.19 provides the authority to use the sanction for juvenile 

delinquent or traffic offenders and ORC § 2151.354 for unruly 
offenders. ORC § 2151.14 and 2151.15 establishes juvenile probation 
departments within the juvenile court and provides powers for juvenile 
probation officers. 

 
Eligibility:   Adult felony offenders not subject to a mandatory prison term or 

misdemeanor offenders not subject to a mandatory jail term are 
eligible for community control sanctions. 
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     Ineligible offenders are those convicted of: 
 

 Aggravated murder; 
 Rape or attempted rape if the act if completed would subject 

the offender to life imprisonment; 
 Gross sexual imposition or sexual battery if the victim is 

under 13, if the offender has a previous conviction for rape; or 
there is a previous conviction of a sex offense where the 
victim was under 13; 

 Involuntary manslaughter where the death occurred when 
the offender was operating a vehicle under the influence; 

 Aggravated vehicular homicide if the offender has a previous 
vehicular homicide or assault conviction or was driving 
under suspension; 

 Felonious, aggravated or simple assault of a police officer 
where there is serious injury; 

 Serious drug offenses including trafficking, corrupting 
another, manufacturing, and possession under specific 
circumstances; 

 First or second degree felony if there is a previous felony 
conviction for aggravated murder, felony one or felony two 
offense; 

 Third degree felony and the offender falls within the repeat 
violent offender definition; 

 An offense where the offender had a firearm or wore body 
armor; 

 Engaging in a pattern of criminal activity and the conviction 
was a felony one; 

 Any sexual offense with a sexually violent predator 
specification;  

 Illegal conveyance of a firearm or contraband into a 
correctional facility; or 

 Operating a vehicle under the influence after the first offense 
 
Juvenile offenders adjudicated as serious youthful offenders are 
subject to the same sentences as adult offenders for the offense. 
Serious youthful offenders would be ineligible for probation for the 
same offenses specified above. All other youth are eligible for 
probation.  

 
Who Decides?   The sentencing judge imposes community control sanctions. 
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Day Reporting 
 
Description:  Day reporting centers provide increased supervision for offenders on 

community control. In general, offenders must physically report to the 
center daily, provide a schedule of their planned activities, and 
participate in designated programs and services provided by the center 
with other community agencies. The offender must report by phone to 
the center at other times and expect random phone checks by center 
staff both during the day and at home following curfew. 

 
Day reporting centers are a resource that enables probation or parole 
officers to tighten control on offenders who are having problems 
abiding by conditions of supervision. The program can provide direct 
treatment services to offenders or it can screen and broker services by 
identifying the community treatment resources offenders need and 
facilitating their access to those services. Offenders are assessed to 
determine needs and services are provided life skills, education or 
training, substance abuse treatment, cognitive behavioral education, 
and job development to address the identified needs. 

 
Legal Authority:  The definition of day reporting is in ORC §2929.01. The authority to 

use the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders and ORC 
§2929.27 for misdemeanor offenders. ORC §2929.51 allows judges to 
suspend jail sentence and place the adult misdemeanor offenders on 
probation. ORC § 2152.19 provides the authority to use the sanction for 
juvenile delinquent or traffic offenders and ORC § 2151.354 for unruly 
offenders. 

 
 
Eligibility:    Felony offenders or misdemeanor offenders eligible for community 

control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides?   The sentencing judge imposes a day reporting sanction. 
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House Arrest 
 
Description:  House arrest restricts offenders to their residences. Offenders are required 

to remain in residence except if the court specifies release for one of the 
following reasons:  

 
 Employment, 
 Counseling, or  
 Education.  

 
While on house arrest, the offender is supervised by a probation or 
post-release control officer.  

 
A judge can sentence a felony offender, misdemeanor offender or 
delinquent offender directly to house arrest or house arrest in 
conjunction with another community control sanction. House arrest is 
frequently used as a sanction for offenders who are having difficulty 
adjusting to community supervision and need more security. House 
arrest can also be used for offenders who are awaiting trial.  

 
Legal Authority:  The definition of house arrest is in ORC §2929.01. The authority to use 

the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders and ORC §2929.27 
for misdemeanor offenders. ORC § 2151.19 authorizes juvenile judges to 
use house arrest up to age 21 for juvenile delinquent or traffic offenders 
and ORC § 2151.354 for unruly offenders. 

 
Eligibility:   Offenders who are eligible for community control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge places an offender on house arrest. 
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Electronic Monitoring 
 
Description:  Electronic monitoring is the use of a device to determine the location of a 

person. The technological advances in electronic devices during the 1990s 
and since the turn of the century are amazing. Devices can include 
breathalyzers, voice recognition, retina scanners, and global positioning 
systems. Each year has seen an advance in the technology.  

 
Due to the advances in technology, the law was changed (effective 
January 2004) to be more flexible. The technical specifications previously 
included in the law are no longer in effect. The device need only: 

 
 Have a transmitter and receiver that can monitor and determine the 

location of a person at any time through a central computer or other 
electronic means; and 

 Have a transmitter and receiver that, through the central computer or 
other electronic monitor, can determine the transmitter has been 
turned off or altered without permission. 

 
To accommodate future technological changes the law allows any 
technology approved by the Director of the Ohio Department of 
Rehabilitation and Correction that can track or locate a person at any 
time. 

 
Research has shown that an electronic monitoring program by itself is 
not effective. Most jurisdictions use electronic monitoring as an 
enhancement of another program such as violation sanction, house arrest 
or intensive supervision probation. 

 
Legal Authority:  The definition of house arrest is in ORC §2929.01. The authority to use 

the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders and ORC §2929.27 
for misdemeanor offenders. ORC § 2151.19 authorizes juvenile judges to 
use electronic monitoring up to age 21 for juvenile delinquent or traffic 
offenders and ORC § 2151.354 for unruly offenders. Ohio Administrative 
Code § 5120:12-02 authorizes the use of electronic monitoring as a step 
down for transitional control offenders. 

 
Eligibility:   Offenders who are eligible for community control sanctions and step down 

in the transitional control program. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judges place an offender on electronic monitoring if the 

offender is under the control and supervision of the court. The Adult 
Parole Authority or a parole board hearing officer places a parolee or post- 
release control violator on electronic monitoring as an intermediate 
sanction. The Adult Parole Authority places a transitional control offender 
on electronic monitoring in their home placement if they are employed 
and complying with program requirements. 
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Community Service  
 
 
Description:  Community service is when an offender works for a public or non-profit 

agency without pay. Community service is a sanction the court may use 
by itself or in conjunction with other community control sanctions. 
Statutory limitations on the maximum number of hours are as follows: 

 
 Felony offender – 500 hours 
 Misdemeanor 1 offender – 500 hours 
 Misdemeanor 2 to 4 offender – 200 hours 
 Minor misdemeanor offender – 30 hours 
 Unruly juvenile – 175 hours 
 Delinquent juvenile – same hours as adult offenders based on offense  
 Child endangering offenders – 200 hours 

 
    The law requires that the offender perform community service work 

under the authority of health districts, park districts, counties, 
municipalities, townships, state agencies or any of their subdivisions, 
other political subdivisions, or charitable operations that render services 
to the community. The agency or charitable organization must agree to 
accept the offender. The agency or charitable organization is required to 
provide a qualified person to supervise the offender’s work. 

 
    Community service work cannot be used as a sanction unless the offender 

agrees to perform the work. Community service orders require offenders 
to work without pay. The court may require an offender to pay a 
“reasonable fee” to cover the costs of participation in the program. 
Community service programs may be supervised by probation 
departments or the court may enter into an agreement with the county 
department of job and family services for supervision. 

 
    Community service may also be used as a means for indigent offenders to 

pay their fines. 
 
Legal Authority:  The authority to use the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders, 

ORC §2929.27 for misdemeanor offenders, ORC §2151.354 for unruly 
juveniles, ORC §2152.19 for juvenile delinquent or traffic offenders and 
ORC § 2919.22 for child endangering. ORC §2151.02 is the statutory 
description of community service. 

 
Eligibility:   Adult and juvenile offenders who are eligible for community control 

sanctions. 
 
Who Decides? The sentencing judge may order community service work if the offender 

agrees.  
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Drug Treatment  
 
Description:  Drug treatment is defined as any program where a person undergoes 

assessment and treatment designed to reduce or eliminate the person’s 
physical or emotional dependence upon alcohol or another drug. 
Substance treatment programs may be outpatient or residential. Drug 
treatment is a sanction that may be imposed alone or with another 
sanction. Offenders sentenced to drug treatment are under the 
supervision of a probation department. Drug treatment programs are 
certified by the Ohio Department of Alcohol and Drug Addiction 
Services under ORC Chapter 3793. 

 
A separate program is established for a person charged with a 
misdemeanor who is taken before the court and the judge determines 
that the person is an alcoholic or suffering from acute alcohol 
intoxication. The judge may place the person in an inpatient drug or 
alcohol treatment program for a period not to exceed five days.  
 
If the judge determines at the time of sentencing that the offender is 
suffering from acute alcohol intoxication, the person charged and 
convicted under the following is eligible for treatment and may be 
committed to a certified drug or alcohol program: 
 

 ORC § 2917.11(B) disorderly conduct,  
 ORC §4511.19(B) (under age 21) operating a vehicle under the 

influence (OVI),  
 ORC § 2919.25 misdemeanor domestic violence, or  
 ORC § 2919.27 violation of a protection order.  

 
A person convicted of OVI must be in treatment for at least three days. 
A person convicted for misdemeanor domestic violence or violating a 
protection order must voluntarily agree to treatment. The term of 
commitment for treatment may not exceed the term of imprisonment. If 
the offender successfully completes the treatment, the judge may dismiss 
any of these charges.  
 

Legal Authority:  The definition of a drug treatment program is in ORC §2929.01. The 
authority to use the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders 
and ORC §2929.27 for misdemeanor offenders. The misdemeanor 
treatment program is described in ORC § 2935.33. ORC § 2152.19 
allows the juvenile judge to order substance abuse treatment at the 
security level deemed appropriate for juvenile delinquent or traffic 
offenders and ORC § 2151.354 for unruly offenders. 

 
Eligibility:    Offenders eligible for community control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge decides on drug treatment options. 
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Drug Testing  
 
Description:  Drug Testing is listed as a separate sanction under the new community 

control sentencing provisions but is generally used in conjunction with 
other sanctions. Drug testing is defined as “a procedure in which blood 
or urine specimens are collected from individuals chosen by automatic, 
random selection and without prearrangement or planning, for the 
purpose of scientifically analyzing the specimens to determine whether 
the individual ingested or was injected with a drug of abuse.”  

 
    The drug testing may be completed by the probation department or by a 

contracted laboratory. If a contracted laboratory is used, the laboratory 
must comply with policies and procedures established by the Ohio 
Department of Rehabilitation and Correction for analysis.  

 
If the offender is in a nonresidential sanction, the offender may be 
charged a fee for the cost of testing.  
 

Legal Authority:  ORC § 5120.63 defines “random drug testing.” The authority to use 
the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders and ORC 
§2929.27 for misdemeanor offenders. ORC § 2951.05 discusses the 
parameters of a drug-testing program. ORC § 2152.19 allows a 
juvenile judge to monitor a juvenile’s use of drugs or alcohol but does 
not specifically reference drug testing. 

 
Eligibility:    Offenders currently in the community on a community control sanction 

or post-release control with substance abuse problems. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge makes the initial determination for drug testing 

at sentencing for community control offenders. The probation officers 
make the decision when to test the offender.  

 
     The parole board sets the condition of random drug testing for 

offenders on post-release control. The parole officers determine when to 
test the offender. 
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Intensive Supervision Probation 
 
Description:  Intensive Supervised Probation (ISP) is a program designed to provide 

increased levels of control of offenders without incarceration. ISP provides 
greater surveillance through smaller caseloads (20 to 25 probationers per 
officer) than regular probation, which is usually 50-200 probationers per 
officer. The offender has an increased number and type of contacts with 
his/her probation officer, including evening checks at his/her residence. In 
addition, the ISP client is usually required to attend various community 
programs. ISPs incorporate surveillance aids such as electronic 
monitoring, police-aided surveillance, random home visits, or daily face-to-
face contact. The programs may require several contacts per week during 
the initial phase of ISP and then reduce the intensity of supervision over 
time. The length of stay in ISP is usually six to 12 months. 

 
Legal Authority:  The definition of intensive probation supervision is in ORC §2929.01. The 

authority to use the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders and 
ORC §2929.27 for misdemeanor offenders. ORC § 2152.19 provides the 
authority to use the sanction for juvenile delinquent or traffic offenders 
and ORC § 2151.354 for unruly offenders. 

 
Eligibility:    Offenders eligible for community control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge decides on intensive supervision. 
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Monitored Time  
 
 
Description:  Many offenders are assessed as being low risk. Research has shown that 

low risk offenders have a higher likelihood of committing new crimes if 
they are required to complete treatment programs. What works with 
these offenders is a hands-off approach. Monitored time falls within this 
category. 

  
Monitored time is defined as a period of time the offender is under the 
control of the sentencing court or parole board but is subject to no 
conditions other than leading a law-abiding life. An offender on 
monitored time may have to periodically notify the supervising 
organization as to where he/she is currently living, but does not need to 
report in person. 

 
Legal Authority:  The definition of monitored time is in ORC §2929.01. The authority to use 

the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders and ORC §2929.27 
for misdemeanor offenders. ORC § 2152.19 provides the authority to use 
the sanction for juvenile delinquent or traffic offenders and ORC 
§ 2151.354 for unruly offenders. 

 
Eligibility:    Offenders eligible for community control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge decides on monitored time. 
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Curfew  
 
Description:  Curfew is a sanction that is usually used in conjunction with other 

community control sanctions. Curfew refers to the requirement that an 
offender be somewhere at a designated time. Generally, intensive 
supervision probation and day reporting programs make use of curfews. 
The offender is required to be home after a certain time at night or when 
they are not in the day reporting program. The curfew is then monitored 
by the supervising agency through visits and phone calls. 
  

Legal Authority:  The definition of curfew is in ORC §2929.01. The authority to use the 
sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders and ORC §2929.27 for 
misdemeanor offenders. ORC § 2152.19 provides the authority to use the 
sanction for juvenile delinquent or traffic offenders and ORC § 2151.354 
for unruly offenders. 

 
Eligibility:    Offenders eligible for community control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge decides on whether to set a curfew. 
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Counseling, Employment, Education or Training  
 
Description:  The use of counseling, employment, education, or training as a community 

control sanction is usually in conjunction with other sanctions. The court 
can require an offender to participate in counseling, obtain or maintain 
employment, complete a GED or complete other educational and 
vocational programs to remain on a community sanction. 

  
Legal Authority:  The definition of education and training is in ORC §2929.01. The 

authority to use the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders and 
ORC §2929.27 for misdemeanor offenders. 

 
ORC § 2152.19 allows the court to order a juvenile delinquent or traffic 
offender to obtain a high school diploma, a certificate of high school 
equivalence, vocational training, or employment. ORC § 2152.19 allows 
the court to require a juvenile delinquent or traffic offender not to be 
absent without legitimate excuse from the public school the juvenile is 
supposed to attend for five or more consecutive days, seven or more 
school days in one school month, or 12 or more school days in a school 
year. ORC § 2151.354 allows the use of this sanction for unruly 
offenders. 

 
Eligibility:    Felony offenders or misdemeanor offenders eligible for community 

control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge decides on whether counseling, employment, 

education, or training is needed. 
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Victim-Offender Mediation 
 
Description:  Victim-offender mediation programs are designed to make the criminal 

justice system more responsive to victims. The victim-offender mediation 
program allows crime victims to meet with the offenders who committed 
the crimes with a trained mediator present. The purpose of the program is 
to allow the victim to confront the offender and to have the offender 
understand and make restitution for the harm he/she has caused. The 
program promotes healing and restoration of victims, acknowledgement 
of responsibility by offenders, and promotes the remorse of offenders. 

 
Legal Authority: The definition of victim-offender mediation is in ORC §2929.01. The 

authority to use the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders and 
ORC §2929.27 for misdemeanor offenders. ORC § 2152.19 provides for 
the use of victim-offender mediation for juvenile delinquent and traffic 
offenders. ORC § 2151.354 allows the judge to use this sanction for unruly 
offenders. 

 
Eligibility:    Adult and juvenile offenders eligible for community control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge makes the decision with the prior approval of the 

victim. 
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License Violation Report 
 
Description:  Under Ohio law, certain occupations require a license to practice, such as 

those involving nurses, lawyers, doctors, accountants, cosmetologists, 
embalmers, social workers, and realtors. Many of these licenses contain 
provisions where a conviction for a criminal offense could result in 
suspension or revocation of the license. In cases where the convicted 
offender maintains a license to practice an occupation, the court has the 
ability to send a report to the licensing authority regarding the 
circumstances of the crime and conviction. 

 
Legal Authority: The authority to use the license violation report is in ORC §2929.17 for 

felony offenders and ORC §2929.27 for misdemeanor offenders.  
 
Eligibility:    Felony offenders or misdemeanor offenders eligible for community 

control sanctions. This sanction is not available for juveniles. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge decides if a license violation report is to be filed. 
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Domestic Violence Counseling Program 
 
Description:  A specialized disposition exists for offenders convicted of a domestic 

violence, felonious assault, aggravated assault, or assault, where the 
following conditions exist: 

 
 The victim was a family or household member; 
 The offense was in the vicinity of one or more children who were 

not victims of the offenses; and 
 The offender or victim was the parent, guardian, custodian, or 

person in loco parentis of one or more of the children. 
 
If all of the conditions are met, the court may require the offender to 
obtain counseling. Generally, in these cases, counseling is only one 
community sanction imposed by the court. 

 
Legal Authority: The authority to use counseling for the specified offenses is in ORC 

§2929.17 for felony offenders and ORC §2929.27 for misdemeanor 
offenders. This sanction is not available for juvenile offenders. 

 
Eligibility:    Felony offenders or misdemeanor offenders eligible for community 

control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge decides on the domestic violence counseling 

program. 
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Judicial Release 
 
Description:  Judicial release is the process where the sentencing judge can release an 

offender from prison or juvenile correctional facility and place them on 
probation prior to the expiration of the sentence. The offender may apply 
for the judicial release, a juvenile’s parent or guardian may apply for 
release, the Department of Youth Services may request an early release, or 
the court can grant release at its own discretion. For adult offenders, the 
court must have a hearing before granting judicial release. The hearing 
must be within 60 to 180 days of the request. For juvenile offenders, the 
court has the option of granting the release without a hearing, holding a 
hearing within 30 days, or rejecting the request. 

 
If a judicial release hearing is granted, the offender must attend the 
hearing if required to do so by the court. If judicial release is granted, the 
court may impose any community control sanctions needed. If the offender 
violates the community control, the court may reinstate the remainder of 
the term of incarceration.  

 
Legal Authority:  Judicial release is defined in ORC § 2929.20 for adults and ORC § 

2152.22 for juveniles. 
 
Eligibility:   Adult offenders who are serving a prison term are eligible if: 
 

 The prison term is 10 years or less; 
 The prison term is not a mandatory term; or 
 The stated term includes a mandatory term, but the mandatory 

term has already been served. 
 
Adult offenders are eligible to apply as follows: 
 

 Between 30 and 90 days of commitment if the conviction is for a 
felony four or five; 

 After four years of incarceration if the conviction was for a fourth- 
or fifth-degree felony and the sentence(s) was of five years 
duration; 

 After five years of incarceration if the conviction was for a fourth- 
or fifth-degree felony and the sentence(s) was between five and 10 
years duration; 

 Anytime after 180 days of commitment if the conviction was for a 
first-, second-, or third-degree felony and the offender has served 
at least four years of a five-year sentence or five years of a sentence 
between five and 10 years. 

 
The offender is eligible to apply for judicial release within these times 
as long as any mandatory sentences have been served. If not, the time 
clock for filing begins after the mandatory sentence has been served. 
The offender is entitled to only one hearing during the period of 
incarceration for judicial release. 
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Adult offenders convicted of drug offenses are not eligible for early 
release unless the court makes a finding that a sanction other than 
prison would adequately punish the offender, there is no threat to 
public safety, and the release would not demean the seriousness of the 
offense. 
 
Any juvenile offender committed to the legal custody of the 
Department of Youth Services under ORC Chapter 2152 is eligible for 
judicial release. Juvenile offenders are committed for indeterminate 
sentences that include a minimum or maximum, or until age 21. 
Consideration for judicial release to probation occurs as follows: 
 
 During the first half of the minimum term of commitment, or 
 During the first half of the period between the day of commitment 

and the youth attaining age 21, if committed until age 21. 
 

If an initial request for judicial release is rejected by the juvenile judge, 
a second request may be made no earlier than 30 days from the initial 
journal entry. If the second request is rejected, no further requests for 
judicial release to probation may be made. 
 
Any juvenile offender committed to the legal custody of the 
Department of Youth Services is eligible to judicial release to 
Department of Youth post-release control supervision. Consideration 
for judicial release to post-release control occurs as follows: 
 
 During the second half of the minimum term of confinement, or 
 During the second half of the period between the day of 

commitment and the youth attaining age 21, if committed until age 
21. 

 
If the initial request by the youth or the youth’s parent for judicial 
release is rejected under these provisions, one additional request may 
be made during each period of 90 days the youth is in a secure facility 
following the journal entry. There is no limit on the number of 
requests that can be made. The Department of Youth Services may also 
make requests for judicial release under these provisions.  

 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge makes the determination for judicial release. 
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Parole (Adult offenders convicted of an offense committed prior to July 1, 1996 can be placed on      
parole, as well as all juvenile offenders committed to the Department of Youth Services) 

 
Description:  Adult offenders who committed offenses prior to July 1, 1996, received 

indeterminate sentences specifying the minimum and maximum time to be 
spent in prison. These offenders are released from institutions on parole. 
Parole refers to the supervision of offenders released from a state 
institution with conditions, and is subject to penalties or reincarceration 
for violations. Parole is a traditional form of early release and the most 
common form of correctional supervision after probation.  

 
Ohio Law, prior to 1996, provided an adult person’s maximum term of 
incarceration cannot exceed the maximum sentence given by the judge. 
Moreover, it provides that the minimum term of incarceration to be served 
cannot be less than the minimum sentence given by the judge, less any 
time off for good behavior while institutionalized (“good time”). Within 
these parameters, the actual time served by an offender depends on his 
parole date established by the Ohio Adult Parole Board. Parole is the most 
common mode of releasing a prison inmate from an indeterminate 
sentence. 
 
Juvenile offenders are released to parole from state juvenile correctional 
facilities if they have not reached their maximum sentence or age 21, when 
committed to 21. Juvenile parole supervision incorporates the 
components of community protection, accountability, and competency 
development as youth transition back into the community. This is 
accomplished through a supervision and case management system that 
enforces the rules of parole, holds the youth accountable to the 
community and places them in programs and services that contribute to 
competency development and self-sufficiency. 
 
Juvenile offenders may be released to parole supervision under judicial 
release. The juvenile court must receive monthly reports on these youth 
from the Department of Youth Services unless an agreement exists for a 
longer reporting period. 

 
Legal Authority:  Parole for adult offenders is under the authority of the Department of 

Rehabilitation and Correction, Division of Parole and Community 
Services (Sec.§ 5120.06). The division is required to manage and 
supervise the Adult Parole Authority (APA) (ORC Chapter 5149). The 
APA governs a Parole Supervision Section that must monitor and keep 
records on parolees (ORC Sec. § 5149.03). The Parole Board holds the 
actual hearings on granting or denying parole. Its membership and 
duties are specified in § 5149.10, and § 5149.11. The Parole Board has 
used parole guidelines since 1986 to guide release decisions. 

 
Parole for juvenile offenders is authorized by ORC § 2152.16. 
Determination to release offenders is made by the Release Authority, a 
bureau of the Department of Youth Services. The Release Authority is 
established under ORC § 5139.50. ORC § 5139.51 through 5139.54 and 
Administrative Rule Chapter 5138-68 provide the rules and operation of 
parole. 
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Eligibility:   Adult prison inmates serving indeterminate terms for offenses committed 
prior to July 1, 1996 become eligible for parole after serving their 
minimum sentences plus any mandatory time, minus reductions for good 
time or similar programs described elsewhere. Inmates serving 
determinate sentences offenses committed prior to July 1, 1996 are not 
eligible for parole. Instead, they are given unsupervised final releases at 
the end of their determinate sentences, reduced by good time, etc. 

 
    Juvenile offenders committed to the Department of Youth Services are 

eligible for parole at any time after the minimum sentence and any 
specification time has been served. A juvenile committed to the 
Department of Youth Services until age 21 may not be released on parole 
prior to age 21 unless the youth has been granted judicial release.  

 
Who Decides?  The Ohio Parole Board, based on a review by a hearing officer and a 

parole plan developed by the Ohio Adult Parole Authority, makes the 
determination for adults. The Releasing Authority of the Ohio 
Department of Youth Services decides parole releases, based on reviews by 
hearing officers and board members, or the case plan developed by the 
parole officer in collaboration with the institutional social worker. 
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Post-release Control (Adult offenders convicted of an offense committed after July 1, 1996) 
 
Description:  Post-release control applies to offenders who committed crimes after 

July 1, 1996 with determinate sentences. After serving the sentence, 
they are released from prison. Following release, the offender may be 
supervised in the community. The supervision following release from 
prison is called post-release control. Post-release control replaces 
parole in Ohio. While on post-release control, offenders receive services 
from other community programs including education, counseling and 
vocational training. Most offenders are required to maintain 
employment.  

 
Legal Authority:  ORC § 2967.28 provides the definition of post-release control and when 

it is to be used. Post-release control supervision is under the 
authority of the Department of Rehabilitation and Correction, 
Division of Parole and Community Services (Sec.§ 5120.06). The 
division is required to manage and supervise the Adult Parole 
Authority (APA) (ORC Chapter 5149). The APA governs a Parole 
Supervision Section that must monitor and keep records on parolees 
(ORC Sec. § 5149.03). The Parole Board holds the actual hearings on 
granting or denying parole. Its membership and duties are specified in § 
5149.10, and § 5149.11. The Parole Board has used parole guidelines 
since 1986 to guide release decisions. 

 
Eligibility:   Offenders convicted of a felony 1, felony 2, felony sex offense, or felony 

3 where there was a threat or actual physical harm must be placed on 
post-release control supervision. The term of post-release control is as 
follows: 
 

 Felony 1 or felony sex offense – five years 
 Felony 2 that is not a sex offense – three years, and 
 Felony 3 that is not a sex offense and where there was harm 

– three years. 
 

Any felony three, four or five that is not included in these classes may 
be subject to a period of up to three years of post-release control. The 
Ohio Parole Board makes the determination if post-release control is 
needed for these offenders. The Ohio Parole Board also sets the terms 
and conditions of the post-release control and if additional sanctions are 
needed such as placement in a halfway house, financial sanctions or 
other community program. 

 
Who Decides?  The Ohio Parole Board, based on information from state institutional 

staff and a parole officer investigatory report with recommendations. 
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Community Based Correctional Facilities 
 
Description:  Community Based Correctional Facilities (CBCFs) are secure residential 

programs for adult offenders administered by Facility Governing Boards. 
Legislation was introduced in 2005 to change the governance of the 
facility to a Facility Governing Board with a Judicial Advisory Board.  
The Facility Governing Board is composed of at least six members, two-
thirds appointed by the Judicial Advisory Board and one-third, or portion 
thereof, by the board(s) of commissioners of the member county(ies). 
Counties or groups of counties with a population of 200,000 or more are 
eligible to formulate a community-based correctional proposal for the 
establishment of a CBCF. Single county programs exist in major urban 
areas and regional facilities provide services to the rest of the state. 

 

    A CBCF is a statutorily established facility designed to be the most 
restrictive sanction before offenders are committed to prison. Offenders 
are restricted to the facility during an orientation period of at least 30 
days. Participation in community programming such as education and 
training is gradually implemented over the length of stay. Offenders are 
committed for up to six months.  

 

CBCFs offer assessments and specialized treatment to help offenders 
reintegrate into the community. These services include individual and 
group counseling, cognitive behavioral training, employment, education 
and vocational training, literacy, substance abuse treatment, community 
service, and life skills training.  

 

Legal Authority:  ORC § 2301.51 through 2301.58 provide the statutory authority for the 
establishment and operation of CBCFs. ORC § 2929.16 provides the 
sentencing authority for felony offenders. Operational guidelines for the 
facility are in the Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 5120:1-14-08.  

 

Eligibility:   By statute, all felony offenders who are eligible for community control 
sanctions are eligible for participation in a CBCF. The facility 
governing boards can establish rules for eligibility specific to the facility 
under their jurisdiction. Offenders must be willing to participate in the 
program prior to acceptance. 

 

Who Decides?  The sentencing court decides to sentence an offender to a CBCF. 
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Community Correctional Facilities 
 
Description:  A Community Correctional Facility (CCF) is a secure community based 

residential facility for youth based on the CBCF model. The facilities are 
funded by the Ohio Department of Youth Services but are operated 
locally. Each of the facilities is different,  but includes programming 
such as education, job training, and substance abuse counseling. 
Families are involved in all of the programming. 

 
    CCFs are statutorily established facilities designed to be the most 

restrictive sanction before juveniles are committed to state juvenile 
correctional facilities. Juveniles are restricted to such a facility during 
assessment and introductory phases. Participation in community 
programming such as education and training is gradually implemented 
over the length of stay.  

 
Legal Authority:  ORC § 5139.36 provides the statutory authority for the establishment and 

operation of CCFs. ORC § 2152.19 provides the sentencing authority for 
delinquent juveniles. Operational guidelines for the facility are in the Ohio 
Administrative Code Chapter 5139:61.  

 
Eligibility:   Delinquent offenders eligible for community control sanctions.  
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing court determines if a juvenile offender is sentenced to a 

CCF. 
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Jail 
 
Description:  Jail is a secure facility used to provide a short-term holding and sentencing 

option for the court. A person who is convicted of one or more 
misdemeanors and sentenced to a term of imprisonment generally serves 
the term of imprisonment in a county, multi-county, or municipal jail or 
workhouse. The definite term of sentencing for misdemeanor offenders is 
as follows: 

 
 Misdemeanor 1 up to 180 days, 
 Misdemeanor 2 up to 90 days, 
 Misdemeanor 3 up to 60 days, and 
 Misdemeanor 4 up to 30 days. 

 
    Felony offenders eligible for community control sanctions may be 

sentenced to a jail for a term up to six months. Offenders convicted of a 
felony OVI (operating a vehicle under the influence) may be sentenced for 
up to one year. Jails also hold persons awaiting trial, sentencing, transfer 
to prison, and under revocation proceedings for probation, furlough or 
parole. 

 
    Juveniles may only be held in a jail for a period not to exceed six hours if 

the child is alleged to be delinquent for an offense that would be a felony. 
The period may not to exceed three hours if the child is alleged to be 
delinquent for an offense that would be a misdemeanor; violation of a valid 
court order; an unruly offense or traffic offense. The child must be out of 
touch of all adults; supervised by an adult at all times; and may not be 
physically secured to a stationary object during the detention. 

 
    In addition, certain nonviolent fourth- and fifth-degree felons may be 

committed to local jails under contract with the State. To date, no state 
offenders have been housed in county jails under this provision.      

 
Legal Authority:  ORC § 1.05 defines imprisonment in a jail. ORC § 307.93, § 341, and 

§753.16 provide the statutory authority for operation of a jail. The 
authority to use the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony offenders 
and ORC §2929.27 for misdemeanor offenders. ORC § 2151.311 
provides the procedures for holding juveniles in jails. ORC § 5120.161 
gives the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction the 
authority to contract with jails to house inmates. ORC §5120.10 gives 
the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction the authority to 
establish standards for jails. Ohio Administrative Code Chapters 5120:1 - 
8, 5120:1 – 10, and 5120:1 – 12 are the regulations for full-service, five-day 
and eight-hour jails. 

 
Eligibility:   Felony offenders or misdemeanor offenders eligible for community 

control sanctions. Certain OVI offenders have mandatory jail sentences 
the length of which is dependant on prior OVI offenses. Driving under 
suspension also has a mandatory jail sentence. 

 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge decides on jail. 
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Work Release 
 
Description:  Work release involves allowing an offender to leave a residential setting 

or jail for the purpose of continuing their regular employment but 
requires them to report to the facility during non-working hours. This 
permits the offender to provide financial assistance to their families and 
meet any financial sanctions. Some programs either provide services, such 
as chemical dependency treatment and educational and vocational 
training, or refer offenders to outside resources for these services.  

 
Legal Authority: Work release is authorized by the “intermittent confinement” provisions 

of ORC §2929.16(B) for felons and ORC 2929.24(B) and § 2929.26(B)(1) 
for misdemeanants. It authorizes the judge to permit the offender to serve 
the sentence in intermittent confinement overnight, on weekends, or 
both, or at any other time or times that will allow him to continue at his 
occupation or care for his family.  

 
Eligibility:  Offenders residing in jails, minimum security jails, and community based 

correctional facilities. 
 
Who Decides? The sentencing judge can sentence to work release directly. For offenders 

sentenced to jail, the jail officials may decide which offenders participate.
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Minimum-Security Jail 
 
Description:  Minimum-security jails (MSJ) provide counties, municipal corporations, or 

affiliated counties and municipal corporations with an alternative means of 
confinement for persons sentenced for nonviolent misdemeanors, traffic, 
and fourth- and fifth-degree felonies. Offenders sentenced to MSJs must be 
classified by the jail administration as minimum security based on escape 
risk, propensity for assault or violent behavior, and prior criminal history. 
The Department of Rehabilitation and Correction, through its Bureau of 
Adult Detention, develops minimum standards and minimum renovation, 
modification, and construction criteria for minimum-security jails. 
Generally, MSJ facilities provide intensive treatment programs for the 
offenders incarcerated, such as substance abuse, cognitive treatment, and 
education. 

 
Legal Authority:  ORC §341.34 and §753.21 provide for the establishment and operation of 

minimum-security jails. ORC §5120.10 gives the Ohio Department of 
Rehabilitation and Correction the authority to establish standards for jails. 
The authority to use the sanction is in ORC §2929.17 for felony 
offenders and ORC §2929.27 for misdemeanor offenders. 

 
Eligibility:   Non-violent offenders convicted of misdemeanor, traffic, or fourth- or 

fifth-degree felony offenses. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge decides on MSJ sanction. 
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Jail Industry Program 
 
Description:  The mission of jail industry programs as specified in the Ohio Revised 

Code is to employ as many qualified prisoners as possible in jail 
manufacturing and service industries; agriculture, both public and 
private; public works; institutional jobs; or maintenance of the jail. Jail 
industries were designed to be self-supporting programs via profits 
from these activities.  

 
Participation in a jail industry program improves discipline by 
decreasing prisoner idle time, giving participants job skills to help 
reintegration into the community and teaching responsibility. 
Participants’ earnings are used to reimburse the county for the direct 
cost of administering the program, housing the prisoner while in the 
program, for support of any dependents as ordered by the sentencing 
judge, necessary expenses incidental to employment, payment of fines, 
court costs, and debts acknowledged by the prisoner prior to 
sentencing. Any remaining wages are kept by the participant. A jail 
industry board comprised of persons with knowledge or experience in 
social services, labor, law enforcement and business oversees the 
programs. 

 
Legal Authority:  ORC § 5147.30 authorizes the establishment of a jail industry program 

and provides operational guidelines. 
 
Eligibility:   Prisoners residing in jails. 
 
Who Decides?  The jail industry board establishes the rules for who is eligible for the 

program. The jail administrator selects prisoners to participate. 
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Detention Home 
 
Description:  Detention homes are secure facilities operated by juvenile courts to 

provide a short-term holding and sentencing option. The facility may be 
used to detain delinquent children awaiting disposition for evaluation 
purposes, for adjudicated delinquent children for up to 90 days, and 
adjudicated juvenile traffic offenders. Juvenile traffic offenders must be 
separated from delinquent offenders. Detention homes are required to 
maintain an education program during the school year, recreational 
programs, and adequate medical and mental health programs.  

 
Legal Authority:  ORC § 2152.41 provides for the establishment of detention homes, ORC § 

2152.42 provides for staff and programming in the facility, and ORC 
§2152.19 and 2152.21 allow the use of detention homes for dispositions. 
ORC § 5139.281 authorizes the Department of Youth Services to fund 
detention homes and develop standards for operation of those homes. 
Administrative Rules Chapter 5139-37 provides for the licensing, funding 
and operation of detention homes licensed by the Department of Youth 
Services. ORC § 5139.31 allows the Department of Youth Services to 
inspect any facility receiving subsidy funding.  

 
Eligibility:   Accused and adjudicated delinquent or juvenile traffic offenders are 

eligible to be housed in detention homes. 
 
Who Decides? The juvenile judge determines the use of detention homes. 
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Juvenile Rehabilitation and Treatment Centers 
 
Description:  Juvenile rehabilitation and treatment centers are operated by the juvenile 

court as secure dispositional options. Adjudicated delinquent, dependent, 
neglected, abused, and juvenile traffic offenders may be held in the 
facilities for training, treatment, and rehabilitation. Rehabilitation and 
treatment centers are designed to hold juveniles for extended periods. 
Facilities are designed to have educational programs for youth, preparing 
them for graduation from high school. In addition, most facilities have 
vocational programs, cognitive treatment, mental health treatment, 
recreational programs, and other programs that meet the needs of 
juveniles.  

 
Legal Authority:  ORC § 2151.65 allows for the establishment of juvenile facilities. ORC 

§2152.19 and 2152.21 allow the use of detention homes for dispositions. 
Administrative Rules Chapter 5139-35 provides for the licensing, funding 
and operation of rehabilitation and treatment centers licensed by the 
Department of Youth Services. ORC § 5139.31 allows the Department of 
Youth Services to inspect any facility receiving subsidy funding. 

 
Eligibility:   Adjudicated delinquent, dependent, neglected, abused, and juvenile traffic 

offenders are eligible. 
 
Who Decides? The juvenile judge sentences to juvenile rehabilitation and treatment 

centers. 
 
 
 



 

 

 
 

43 

Halfway Houses 
 
Description:  A halfway house is a residential facility where sentenced or unsentenced 

offenders may be placed when they are in need of a more structured 
setting. The primary purpose of a halfway house is to monitor an 
offender’s activities while encouraging reintegration into society 
through employment, training, education, treatment, habilitation, 
compliance with financial sanctions, community service, restitution, and 
other activities designed to rehabilitate the offender and deter future 
crime. 

 
Legal Authority:  The definition of a halfway house is in ORC § 2929.01. The authority to 

sentence directly to a halfway house is in ORC §2929.17 for felony 
offenders and ORC §2929.27 for misdemeanor offenders. ORC § 
2967.14 gives the Adult Parole Authority permissive authority to use 
halfway houses for housing parolees and offenders on post-release 
control. ORC § 2967.14 also gives the Ohio Department of 
Rehabilitation and Correction the authority to license halfway houses. 
Ohio Administrative Code Chapter 5120:1-3 provides regulations 
governing licensure. 

 
Eligibility:   Offenders convicted of misdemeanor or felony offenses are eligible for 

halfway houses regardless of offense. Offenders diverted through 
intervention in lieu of conviction are also eligible. Halfway houses often 
deal with difficult offenders in need of specialized services. However, 
they may exclude certain classes of violent and sexual offenders due to 
their specialized treatment needs.  

 
Who Decides?   Offenders being released from state institutions on parole or post-

release control may be placed in halfway houses upon the 
recommendation of the Adult Parole Authority. The sentencing judge 
decides for intervention in lieu or probationers. However, the halfway 
house administrator has the final approval of whether the offender is 
accepted into the program.  
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Group Homes 
 
Description:  Group homes are non-secure residential facilities operated by private non-

profit and public children services agencies. Delinquent, dependent, 
neglected, abused, unruly, and juvenile traffic offenders may be placed in 
the group for treatment and rehabilitation. Frequently, group homes are 
used when the juvenile offender is unable to return to their family. Group 
homes are designed to hold juveniles for extended periods. Most facilities 
have cognitive treatment, mental health treatment, recreational programs 
and other programs that meet the needs of juveniles. One is allowed to 
leave the home for education and training in the community. 

 
Legal Authority:  Group homes are funded through the Department of Jobs and Family 

Services and are regulated under ORC § 5103.03, and Administrative 
Rules 5101:2-9-03 and 25.  

 
Eligibility:   Delinquent, dependent, neglected, abused, unruly and juvenile traffic 

offenders are eligible. 
 
Who Decides? The juvenile judge sentences to group homes. 
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Transitional Control 
 
Description:  Transitional control is a phased re-entry program designed to ease the 

offender’s transition from prison to the community. The Adult Parole 
Authority monitors the behavior and adjustment of the offender during 
this time. Transitional control takes place during the last 180 days of 
the inmate’s sentence. The offender is still considered on inmate status 
during transitional control. Transitional control inmates are placed in 
local residential programs like halfway houses and are required to wear 
electronic monitoring devices. The court of common pleas in the 
county of conviction has the right to disapprove the inmate’s placement 
on transitional control. Participants may be charged a fee for the cost of 
the program while in transitional control. 

 
A prisoner who violates any rule established by the Department of 
Rehabilitation and Correction under this section may be returned to 
prison. The inmate receives credit towards completion of his 
sentence for the time the prisoner was on transitional control. 

 
Legal Authority:  Transitional control is defined in ORC § 2967.26. Ohio Administrative 

Code Chapter 5120:12 provides administrative regulations 
governing transitional control. 

 
Eligibility:   Prison inmates, other than those serving mandatory or life terms, who 

are within 180 days of release are eligible.  
 
Who Decides?  The Adult Parole Authority determines inmate eligibility for 

transitional control. 
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Alternative Residential Facility 
 
 
Description:  The ORC makes a provision for alternative residential facilities as a 

sentencing option. It is defined as a residence, other than the offender’s 
home, that: 

 
 Provides programs through which the offender may seek or 

maintain employment or may receive education, training, 
treatment, or habilitation; 

 
 Has received the appropriate license or certificate for any 

specialized education, training, treatment, habilitation, or other 
service that it provides from the government agency that is 
responsible for licensing or certifying that type of education, 
training, treatment, habilitation or service; and 

 
 Is not a community based correctional facility, jail, halfway house, 

or prison. 
 
The law does not designate any specific facilities that fall within this 
definition, but they could include facilities such as a non-secure 
substance abuse facility, a mental health residential facility, or a group 
home for mentally retarded offenders. The language is permissive to 
allow courts flexibility in placing offenders with special needs. 

 
Legal Authority: The authority to use alternative residential for the specified offenses is in 

ORC §2929.16 for felony offenders and ORC §2929.26 for misdemeanor 
offenders.  

 
Eligibility:    Felony offenders or misdemeanor offenders eligible for community 

control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides?  The sentencing judge determines the placement in an alternative 

residential facility. 
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Drug Courts 
 
 
Description:  Drug courts began because of the number of offenders in the system that 

have substance abuse problems who cycle through treatment programs 
and the criminal justice system without changing their habits.  

  
   Drug courts: 

♦ Identify offenders with substance abuse problems that have 
contributed to their criminal acts; 

♦ Treat offenders, not just the offense, while protecting communities; 

♦ Serve lower level, drug-involved offenders; 

♦ Conduct court proceedings that are non-adversarial, consisting of 
reviews of the offender’s progress in meeting treatment and 
behavioral goals; 

♦ Provide treatment that includes sanctions for inappropriate 
behavior and rewards for accomplishments; 

♦ Supply substance abuse, education, employment, counseling and life 
skills training; and 

♦ Establish phases of treatment that lead to successful graduation and 
the likelihood that offenders will not be rearrested in the future. 

Both national and Ohio research has shown that non-violent offenders 
participating in drug courts are significantly less likely to be rearrested 
than drug offenders served by more traditional sentencing approaches. 

 
Legal Authority: According to Rule 36(B) of the Rules of Superintendence, courts are 

required to develop a case assignment system whereby cases are assigned 
to one judge who becomes primarily responsible for the determination of 
every issue and proceeding in the case until its termination. 
Superintendence Rule 36(B) & (C) allows courts and judges the flexibility 
to create “particular sessions” or “specialized dockets” for cases involving 
the same subject-matter as long as the basic criteria outlined in the rule is 
met for the type of case involved.  

 
Eligibility:     Felony offenders or misdemeanor offenders eligible for community 

control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides? The sentencing judge determines if an offender is eligible and should be 

placed with the court. 
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Mental Health Courts 
 
 
Description:  Specialized mental health dockets were started to try to solve the problem 

of the increasing number of offenders in the system with mental health 
problems. The mentally ill offenders seemed to be cycling through the 
system on continual petty offenses. The success of the drug courts led to 
the efforts to have other specialized dockets to work with specific 
problems. 

  
Mental health courts: 

♦ Identify offenders with mental health problems that contribute to 
their criminal behavior; 

♦ Treat offenders for underlying mental illnesses; 

♦ Provide medication monitoring, individual or group therapy, 
substance abuse counseling, vocational training, life skills training 
and stable housing; 

♦ Require offenders to appear before the judge on a regular basis to 
review treatment goals and progress; 

♦ Establish sanctions and rewards to change offender behavior; and 

♦ Offer to remove original charges once offenders successfully 
complete the program and remain crime free. 

Mental health courts help create safer communities by providing a 
structured court process that addresses treatment needs and reduces 
recidivism. 

 
Legal Authority: According to Rule 36(B) of the Rules of Superintendence, courts are 

required to develop a case assignment system whereby cases are assigned 
to one judge who becomes primarily responsible for the determination of 
every issue and proceeding in the case until its termination. 
Superintendence Rule 36(B) & (C) allows courts and judges the flexibility 
to create “particular sessions” or “specialized dockets” for cases involving 
the same subject-matter as long as the basic criteria outlined in the rule 
are met for the type of case involved. 

 
Eligibility:     Felony offenders or misdemeanor offenders eligible for community 

control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides? The sentencing judge determines if an offender is eligible and should be 

placed with the court. 
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Reentry Courts 
 
 
Description:  Reentry courts were developed as the result of a national initiative to have 

courts become more involved with offenders after their return from prison. 
 

Reentry courts:  

♦ Evaluate offenders prior to sentencing to determine treatment and 
educational needs; 

♦ Link a court officer, offenders and prison staff while offenders are 
still in prison; 

♦ Involve a court officer in the development of reentry plans for 
offenders; 

♦ Coordinate the delivery of services to offenders once released to the 
community; 

♦ Build offender accountability with appearances before the judge on a 
regular basis; 

♦ Share sanction decisions for offender violations jointly between the 
court and Adult Parole Authority; and 

♦ Require offenders to remain crime free, employed and in treatment 
for at least one year after release. 

By addressing a wide range of complex issues and concerns, reentry 
courts provide a promising strategy for offenders returning to 
communities — and remaining crime free. 

 
Legal Authority: According to Rule 36(B) of the Rules of Superintendence, courts are 

required to develop a case assignment system whereby cases are assigned 
to one judge who becomes primarily responsible for the determination of 
every issue and proceeding in the case until its termination. 
Superintendence Rule 36(B) & (C) allows courts and judges the flexibility 
to create “particular sessions” or “specialized dockets” for cases involving 
the same subject-matter as long as the basic criteria outlined in the rule 
are met for the type of case involved. 

 
In Ohio, the treatment services are provided through a contract with the 
Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction. Legislation is being 
proposed to formalize the court’s ability to work with offenders on parole 
and post-release control through the addition of a code section (proposed 
ORC §2967.281). Offenders can also be released under ORC §2929.20 
judicial release. 

 
Eligibility:     Felony offenders or misdemeanor offenders eligible for community 

control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides? The sentencing judge determines if an offender is eligible and should be 

placed with the court. 
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Domestic Violence Courts 
 
Description:  Domestic violence has a long-range impact on families and creates a cycle 

of violence among family members. Courts have tried various strategies to 
reduce domestic violence. Specialized court dockets for domestic violence 
have been tried in several states. 

    
   Domestic violence courts: 
  

 Have a specialized caseload of indicted domestic violence cases in 
the jurisdiction; 

 
 Involve a network of criminal justice and social service partners to 

provide treatment; 
 

 Provide specialized training to personnel to work with the offender 
and victims of domestic violence; 

 
 Require offenders meet regularly with the judge; 

 
 Define procedures for the routine use and enforcement of protective 

orders; 
 

 Provide batterers’ treatment that is long term; 
 

 Monitor the defendant to ensure accountability with protection 
order and victim safety; and  

 
 Provide enhanced safety and services to victims. 

 
Programs that have shown promise have been those that developed a 
strong defendant monitoring and accountability module. Recent 
research is beginning to show that protection orders do provide 
increased protection for women in domestic violence situations. 
Batterers’ treatment continues to be debated and many existing 
programs do not show positive results. 

 
Legal Authority: According to Rule 36(B) of the Rules of Superintendence, courts are 

required to develop a case assignment system whereby cases are assigned 
to one judge who becomes primarily responsible for the determination of 
every issue and proceeding in the case until its termination. 
Superintendence Rule 36(B) & (C) allows courts and judges the flexibility 
to create “particular sessions” or “specialized dockets” for cases involving 
the same subject-matter as long as the basic criteria outlined in the rule is 
met for the type of case involved. 

 
Eligibility:     Felony offenders or misdemeanor offenders eligible for community 

control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides? The sentencing judge determines if an offender is eligible and should be 

placed with the court. 
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Sex Offender Courts 
 
 
Description  Delaware juvenile court established a community sex offender program 

that included a sex offender court.  
 
   Sex offender courts: 
 

 Have a specialized caseload of sex offender cases in the jurisdiction; 
 

 Involve the probation department in coordinating treatment 
services and supervision of the offender; 

 
 Require offenders to appear before the judge on a regular basis to 

review treatment goals and progress; 
 

 Monitor the offender to ensure community and victim safety; and 
 

 Provide psychological services for offenders at the court. 
 

The Delaware court has show a marked decrease in recidivism of 
juvenile sex offenders. 

 
Legal Authority According to Rule 36(B) of the Rules of Superintendence, courts are 

required to develop a case assignment system whereby cases are assigned 
to one judge who becomes primarily responsible for the determination of 
every issue and proceeding in the case until its termination. 
Superintendence Rule 36(B) & (C) allows courts and judges the flexibility 
to create “particular sessions” or “specialized dockets” for cases involving 
the same subject-matter as long as the basic criteria outlined in the rule is 
met for the type of case involved. 

 
Eligibility     Felony or misdemeanant sex offenders or delinquent offenders eligible for 

community control sanctions. 
 
Who Decides? The sentencing judge determines if an offender is eligible and should be 

placed with the court. 
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PREFACE 
 

 
      

     The following guide outlines the classification and adjudication of offenders in Ohio who 

commit sexually oriented offenses and child-victim oriented offenses, as provided in ORC 

Chapter 2950. The guide includes the changes made by Am.Sub.S.B. No. 5, 2003 Ohio Laws File 

29, effective July 31, 2003, that directly impact the classification and adjudication of such 

offenders. 

     This guide was conceived to aid general division judges in Ohio’s courts of common pleas. 

To that end, this guide does not cover individuals adjudicated as delinquent for committing a 

sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense. Nor does this guide address the 

requirements imposed by the legislation upon others, such as sheriffs departments, the Attorney 

General of Ohio or the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation. 

     While this guide is offered as an aid to common pleas court judges, it should not be 

considered the end of a judge’s research on the issues covered within, but, rather, the starting 

point.  In the opinion of the authors, the legislation is complicated and, at times, confusing. It is 

likely that new issues raised by the legislation will be addressed by a myriad of court decisions, 

just as ORC Chapter 2950 has been since its reenactment in 1997 by Am.Sub.H.B. No. 180, 146 

Ohio Laws, Part II, 2560. Therefore, where appropriate, this guide points out some of the issues 

that appear unresolved by the new legislation.  

Any opinions expressed in this guide are entirely those of the authors.



 

 

 

58 

Introduction - Applicable Offenses 
 

To Whom Does ORC Chapter 2950 Apply? 

ORC 2950 applies to defendants who plead guilty, or are convicted, of sexually oriented 
offenses or chi ld-v ict im or iented offense s .  

Sexually Oriented Offenses (ORC 2950.01(D)) 
 

Category I (ORC 2950.01(D)(1)(a)) 
• rape (ORC 2907.02) 
• sexual battery (ORC 2907.03) 
• gross sexual imposition (ORC 2907.05) 
• importuning (ORC 2907.07) 

 
Category II (ORC 2950.01(D)(1)(b)) 
When the victim is under 18 years of age:  

• kidnapping to engage in sexual activity (ORC 2905.01(A)(4)) 
• corruption of a minor (ORC 2907.04) 
• sexual imposition (ORC 2907.06) 
• voyeurism (ORC 2907.08) 
• compelling prostitution (ORC 2907.21) 
• pandering obscenity involving a minor (ORC 2907.321(A)(1) or (3)) 
• pandering sexually oriented matter involving a minor (ORC 2907.322(A)(1) or (3)) 
• illegal use of a minor in nudity-oriented material or performance (ORC 2907.323(A)(1) 

or (2)) 
• endangering children through obscene material or nudity-oriented matter (ORC 

2919.22(B)(5)) 
• kidnapping committed with sexual motivation (ORC 2905.01) 
• menacing by stalking committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2903.211) 
• abduction committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2905.02) 
• unlawful restraint committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2903.03) 
• criminal child enticement committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2905.05)  
• child stealing (ORC 2905.04, repealed on July 1, 1996). 

 
Category III (ORC2950.01(D)(1)(d); ORC 2971.01(G) and (L)) 
When the offense is committed with a sexual motivation: 

• aggravated murder (ORC 2903.01) 
• murder (ORC 2903.02) 
• felonious assault (ORC 2903.11) 
• kidnapping (ORC 2905.01) 
• involuntary manslaughter (ORC 2903.04(A)) 

 
Category IV (ORC 2950.01(D)(1)(d)) 

• sexually violent offenders 
o rape (ORC 2907.02) 
o sexual battery (ORC 2907.03) 
o gross sexual imposition involving a victim under the age of 13 (ORC 

2907.05(A)(4)) 
o felonious sexual penetration (ORC 2907.12, repealed September 3, 1996) 

• homicide with a sexual motivation specification 
• assault with a sexual motivation specification  
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• kidnapping with a sexual motivation specification 
 
Category V (ORC 2950.01(D)(1)(f)) 
Defendants who have violated an existing or former law or ordinance of another nation, state, 
federal law, military law or Indian tribal law that is substantially equivalent to any of the above 
offenses.  
 
Category VI (ORC 2950.01(D)(1)(g)) 
Convictions or guilty pleas for attempt, conspiracy or complicity to commit any of the 
enumerated offenses. 
 
Category VII -- Presumptive registration-exempt sexually oriented offense 
When the victim is 18 years of age or older: 

• sexual imposition (ORC 2907.06) 
• voyeurism (ORC 2907.08)  
• menacing by stalking committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2903.211) 
• This includes any of the above committed by a juvenile whose case has been transferred 

to the common pleas court. 
 

Any violation of an existing or former law or ordinance of another nation, state, federal law, 
military law or Indian tribal law that is substantially equivalent to any of the above offenses.  
 
Any attempt to commit, conspiracy to commit, or complicity in committing any of the above 
offenses. 
 
Any person who has been convicted of, pleaded guilty to or adjudicated a delinquent child for 
committing any other sexually oriented offense, including a prior presumptive registration-
exempt offense, does not qualify for presumptive registration-exempt status. ORC 
2950.01(P)(1)(e). 
 
Child-Victim Oriented Offense  (ORC 2950.01(S)) 
 
When the victim is under 18 years old and is not a chi ld of the person who commits  the of f ense:   

• kidnapping (ORC 2905.01(A)(1),(2), (3), or (5)) 
• abduction (ORC 2905.02) 
• unlawful restraint (ORC 2905.03) 
• criminal child enticement (ORC 2905.05) 
• child stealing (former ORC 2905.04),  

 
Any violation of an existing or former law or ordinance of another nation, state, federal law, 
military law or Indian tribal law that is substantially equivalent to any of the above offenses.  
 
Any attempt to commit, conspiracy to commit, or complicity in committing any of the above 
offenses. 

 
Does not include any offense listed above that is a sexually violent offense. An offense listed 
above that is a sexually violent offense is within the definition of a sexually oriented offense. 
ORC 2950.01 (S)(2) 
 
NOTE:  If the offense as defined above is committed by a person who is under 18, and the case 

has been transferred for criminal prosecution to the common pleas court, see ORC 
2950.01(S)(b).  
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CLASSIFICATIONS UNDER ORC CHAPTER 2950 
 
 
Classification of Sexually Oriented Offenders 
 
Habitual Sexual Offender  (ORC 2950.01(B)) 
A habitual sexual offender is a person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a sexually oriented 
offense that is not a registration-exempt sexually oriented offense;  
 
and  
 
who previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to one or more sexual offenses or child-
victim oriented offenses; or the person was previously adjudicated a delinquent child for 
committing a sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense and was classified a 
juvenile offender registrant in any state. 
 
Sexual Predator (ORC 2950.01(E)(1)) 
A sexual predator is a person who has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to committing a 
sexually oriented offense (that is not registration exempt) and is likely to engage in the future in 
one or more sexually oriented offenses.  
 
Sexually Violent Offender (ORC 2971.01(G) and (L)) 
Sexually violent offenders are those who commit rape, sexual battery, gross sexual imposition 
involving a victim under the age of 13, or felonious sexual penetration. Sexually violent 
offenders are also those who commit homicide, assault or kidnapping with a sexual motivation 
specification.  
 
Classification of Persons Who Commit Child-Victim Offenses 
 
Habitual Child-Victim Offender (ORC 2950.01(T)) 
A habitual child-victim offender is a person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a child-victim 
oriented offense;  
 
and  
 
Has at least one prior conviction of a child-victim oriented offense or has at least one prior 
adjudication as a delinquent child for committing one or more child-victim oriented offenses and 
was classified a juvenile offender registrant or out-of-state juvenile offender registrant based on 
that adjudication(s). (Note:  For more on juveniles, see ORC 2950.01(T)(1)(a) & (b)(ii)). 
 
Includes a person who was previously convicted of a child-victim oriented offense and who, on 
and after 7/31/03, is automatically classified a habitual child-victim offender pursuant to 
ORC 2950.091(E). (ORC 2950.01(T)(2)) 
 

 Child-Victim Predator  (ORC 2950.01(U)) 
 A child-victim predator is a person who has been convicted of or pleads guilty to a child-victim 

oriented offense and is likely to engage in the future in one or more child-victim oriented 
offenses. ORC 2950.01(U)(1). 
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SUMMARY OF REGISTRATION AND 
COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION PROVISIONS 

 
 
Sexually Oriented Offenses Requiring Registration (ORC 2950.04) 
 
A. Persons with a Duty to Register:  The following offenders who are convicted or plead 
guilty to a sexually oriented offense have a duty to register, regardless of whether they are 
adjudicated a sexual predator or habitual sexual offender: 
 

1. Any person sentenced to prison or “confinement” and is released in any manner on or 
after 7/1/1997, regardless of when the offense was committed; 
 

a. Confinement includes, but is not limited to, a community residential sanction. 
ORC 2950.01(A). 
 

2. Any person sentenced to prison or “confinement” on or after 7/1/97, regardless of 
when the offense was committed; 
 
3. Any “habitual sexual offender” required to register before 7/1/97; 
 
4. Any person required to register as a sex offender or child-victim offender in any other 
state, nation or jurisdiction; 
 
5. Any person who is convicted of or who pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented offense 
“that is not registration exempt” in another state, federal court, military court, Indian 
tribal court or in a court in any other nation, regardless of whether the offender had a 
prior duty to register for the offense if 

• the offender resides or is domiciled in Ohio, even temporarily; or 
• the offender enters Ohio to attend a school or institution of higher education, 

either on a full-time or part-time basis; or 
• the offender is employed in Ohio “for more than 14 days or for an aggregate 

period of 30 or more days in a calendar year.”  
 

NOTE:  For purposes of determining the responsibility to register with regard 
to employment, the statute sets forth the following as the relevant time period: 
“more than 14 days or for an aggregate period of 30 or more days in a calendar 
year.”  It is unclear whether the responsibility to register is triggered by 14 
consecutive days and whether those days are calendar days, work days, etc. 

 
6. Any person sentenced to prison or “confinement” and is released in any manner on or 
after 7/1/97, regardless of when the offense was committed, and the person is 
adjudicated to be a sexual predator subsequent to the release. 
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Child-Victim Oriented Offenses Requiring Registration (ORC 2950.041) 
 
A. Persons with a Duty to Register:  The following persons who are convicted or plead guilty 
to a child-victim oriented offense have a duty to register:  
 

1.  Offenders convicted of a child-victim oriented offense in Ohio who 
• Are sentenced for a child-victim oriented offense (regardless of when the offense 

was committed) to a prison term or any type of confinement, and are released on 
or after 7/31/03; or 

• Are sentenced for a child-victim oriented offense on or after 7/31/03; or  
• Were sentenced prior to 7/31/03 for a sexually oriented offense that is now a 

child-victim oriented offense and were required to register under ORC 2950.04 
(continuation of prior duty)  ORC 2950.041(A)(1)(a)-(c). 

 
2. Offenders who, subsequent to their release, are adjudicated a child-victim predator 
under ORC 2950.09(C). ORC 2950.041(A)(4) 

 
3. Offenders convicted of a child-victim oriented offense in a foreign jurisdiction (any 
other state or nation, including military court or tribal court) who have a duty to 
register in the foreign jurisdiction as a result or are released from confinement 
imposed as a result of the child-victim oriented offense on or after 7/31/03; and 

• move to and reside in Ohio or temporarily are domiciled in Ohio for more than 
five days; or  

• enter Ohio to attend any school or institution of higher education on full or 
part-time basis; or 

• are employed in Ohio for more “for more than 14 days or for an aggregate 
period of 30 or more days in a calendar year.” 

 
NOTE:  For purposes of determining the responsibility to register with regard 
to employment, the statute sets forth as the relevant time period: “more than 14 
days or for an aggregate period of 30 or more days in a calendar year.”  It is 
unclear whether the responsibility to register is triggered by 14 consecutive days 
and whether those days are calendar days, work days, etc. 

 
Duties of Persons Required to Register Based Upon Sexually Oriented Offenses  
or Child-Victim Oriented Offenses 
 
A. Initial Registration:  Persons required to register based upon sexually oriented offenses  
or child-victim oriented offenses must initially: 
 

1. Register personally with the county sheriff within 5 days 
• where the offender resides; 
• anywhere the offender is domiciled for more than 5 days; 
• any county in which the offender attends any school (full-time or part-time) 
• any county in which the offender is employed “for more than 14 days or for 

an aggregate period of 30 or more days in a calendar year” even if the 
offender does not have a temporary or permanent residence in this state; 

• register “with the sheriff or other appropriate person” in any other state in 
which the offender attends a school or institution of higher learning or is 
employed “for more than 14 days or for an aggregate period of 30 or more 
days in a calendar year.”   
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2. Complete sheriff’s registration form, which includes a photo of the offender and 
the information required by ORC 2950.04(C). (This information will be 
forwarded to BCI pursuant to ORC 2950.04(D)).  

 
B. Notice of change of address; registration of new address (ORC 2950.05) 
 

1. Offender must provide written notice of address change to the sheriff with whom 
offender most recently registered the address. 
 

a. 20 days prior to changing address of residence or school. 
 
b. Within 5 days of changing address of employment. 
 

2. Offender must also register with sheriff of county where new residence, school, or 
employment is located. 
 

C. Registration of Addresses Outside of Ohio:  The initial registration and change of address 
registration requirements apply even where the residence, school, or employment is outside 
Ohio. 
 

a. Registration law of new state:  If new address is in another state, the offender must 
register in the manner required by that state. 

 
i. Timing:  Registration must be complete seven days prior to changing the 
address, or the time period required by the foreign jurisdiction, whichever 
period is earlier. 

 
D. Periodic Verification of Current Address (of residence, school, and employment) 

1. Frequency   
Every 90 days after initial registration, if offender: 

• is required to register based on a sexually oriented offense; or  
• has been adjudicated a sexual predator; or  
• is required to register as a result of an aggravated sexually 

oriented offense; or 
• is required to register based on a child-victim oriented offense and has 

been adjudicated a child-victim predator. 
 

Otherwise, offender shall verify addresses annually on each anniversary of 
initial registration date. (ORC 2950.06) 
 

Duration of Duty to Register (ORC 2950.07) 
 
A. Commencement:  For commencement of duty to register, see ORC 2950.07(A). 
 
B. Duration of Duty to Register 
 

1. Category One (ORC 2950.07(B)(1)) 
 For persons 

• adjudicated a sexual predator relative to a sexually oriented offense that is 
not a registration-exempt sexually oriented offense; or 

• convicted of a sexually oriented offense and offender has a duty to register as 
a result of an aggravated sexually oriented offense; or 

• adjudicated a child-victim predator   
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Duty continues until death and shall not be removed or terminated.  
(ORC 2950.07(A)(1)) 

 
2. Category Two (ORC 2950.07(B)(2)) 
For persons 

• adjudicated a habitual sex offender; or 
• adjudicated a habitual child-victim offender; or 
• automatically classified as a habitual child-victim offender  

 
Duty continues until death OR 20 years. (ORC 2950.091(E)) 
 
a. Duty is 20 years for habitual sex offender if both apply: 

 
i. At least one of the sexually oriented offenses for which the offender 
has been convicted and is included in the habitual sex offender 
determination is  

• sexual imposition (ORC 2907.06(A)(1) or (5)) involving a victim 
who is 18 or older; or  

• voyeurism (ORC 2907.08(A),(B) or (E)) (Voyeurism) involving 
a victim who is 18 or older; or  

• menacing by stalking (ORC 2903.211) and a misdemeanor. 
 

and 
 

ii. Total of all sexually oriented offenses of which the offense has been 
convicted and that are included in the habitual sex offender 
determination does not include at least two sexually oriented offenses 
that are not described above in (i).  

 
b. Otherwise, duty to register continues to death. 
 

3. Category Three (ORC 2950.07(B)(3)) 
 

For persons not covered under Category One or Category Two, duty to register lasts 
10 years.  

 
C. Tolling of Duty to Register:  The number of years an offender is required to register is tolled 
for any period during which offender is returned to confinement in a secure facility for any 
reason. The duty to register resumes upon offender’s release from confinement. ORC 
2950.07(D).  
 
D. “Credit” for Time Registered in Foreign Jurisdiction (ORC 2950.07(E)) 

  
1. Applicable Offenders:  Applies to offenders who have been adjudicated in a court in 
another state, federal court, military court, Indian tribal court, or court of any other 
nation for committing a sexually oriented offense or child-victim offense that is not a 
registration-exempt offense.  

 
a. Process:  The offender can apply to the sheriff of any county where offender  

• resides (or is temporarily domiciled); or  
• attends school or an institution of higher learning; or 
• is employed; 
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to ask the sheriff for credit against duty to register from the time that offender 
has complied with registration requirements of another jurisdiction 

 
b. Determination:  Sheriff shall grant credit if offender provides adequate proof 
that offender complied with foreign jurisdiction’s registration requirements. 
 
NOTE:  The statute does not define what proof constitutes “adequate” proof. 
 
c. Right of Appeal:  Offender can appeal to court of common pleas if he/she 
disagrees with sheriff’s determination. 

 
Persons Subject to Community Notification (ORC 2950.11(F)) 
 
A. Persons Subject to Community Notification Provision:  The following offenders are subject 
to notification of their presence in the community: 
 
 1. an offender adjudicated as a sexual predator; 

NOTE:  ORC 2950.11 refers only to persons adjudicated as sexual predators. 
Presumably, the general assembly also meant to include those persons 
automatically classified as sexual predators (i.e sexually violent offenders and 
offenders designated as sexual predators in another jurisdiction) 
 

 2. an offender adjudicated as a child-victim predator; 
 

3. an offender adjudicated as a habitual sex offender when the tria l  c our t  
de termines that the off ender shou ld be subj ect  to c ommunity  not i f icat ion ; 
 
4. an offender adjudicated as a habitual child-victim offender when the tr ia l cour t  
de termines that the off ender shou ld be subj ect  to c ommunity  not i f icat ion ; 

    
5. an offender who has committed an aggravated sexually oriented offense. 

 
a. Aggravated sexually oriented offenses are 

• Rape of a child under the age of 13 (ORC 2907.02(A)(1)(b) 
• Forcible rape (ORC 2907.02(A)(2) committed on of after 7/31/03 

 
Duties of Persons Subject to Community Notification (ORC 2950.04(G); ORC 2950.041(G)) 
 
A. Send sheriff of the county in which offender intends to reside notice at least 20 days prior to 
residency, stating; 

• Offender’s name; 
• Address/addresses at which the offender intends to reside; 
• Sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense of which the offender 

was convicted; 
• Statement that the offender has been adjudicated a sexual predator, habitual sex 

offender, child-victim predator, or habitual child-victim offender (or has 
committed an aggravated sexually oriented offense) and that, as of the date of 
the notice, the determination has not been removed under ORC 2152.84 or 
ORC 2152.85.   
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Residency Prohibited Within 1,000 Feet of Any School  (ORC 2950.031) 
 

A. No person who has been convicted of or pleaded to either 
• a sexually oriented offense that is not a registration-exempt sexually oriented offense; 

or 
• a child-victim oriented offense  
shall establish a residence or “occupy residential premises” within 1,000 feet of any school 
premises. 

 
NOTE:  The definition of “school premises” is borrowed from the drug offense statute 
and is broadly defined as “any parcel of real property on which any school is situated, 
whether or not any instruction, extracurricular activities, or training provided by the 
school is being conducted on the premises * * *.”  

 
B. Injunctive Relief  

 
1. An owner or lessee of real property that is located within 1,000 feet of any school has 
a cause of action for injunctive relief against an offender who establishes or occupies a 
residence within 1,000 feet of that school. 
 
2. The owner or lessee does not have to prove irreparable harm in order to obtain the 
relief. 

 
Penalties For Violating Registration and Community Notification Requirements  
(ORC 2950.99) 
 
A. Category One  (ORC 2950.99(A)(1)(b)(i)-(iv)) 
 

1. Prior Conviction for Violation of Duties:  Applies where an offender previously has 
been convicted of a violation of duties to register, to notify of intent to reside or 
change address, or to periodically verify current address based upon sexually oriented 
offense or child-victim offense. 
 
2. Punishment 

 If the most serious sexually oriented offense or child-victim offense upon which the 
above duties were based was 

 
a. Aggravated murder, murder, or a F1, F2, F3, or F4, then offender is guilty of a 

F3.  
 
b. F5, then offender is guilty of a F4. 

 
c. M1, then offender is guilty of a F4. 

 
d. Misdemeanor other than a M1, then offender is guilty of a misdemeanor that is 

one degree higher than the most serious sexually oriented offense/child-victim 
offense upon which the above duties were based.  

 
B. Category Two (ORC 2950.99(A)(1)(a)(i)-(ii)) 
 

1. No Prior Conviction for Violation of Duties:  Applies where there has been no prior 
conviction of a violation of duties to register, to notify of intent to reside or change 



 

 

67 

address, or to periodically verify current address based upon sexually oriented offense 
or child-victim offense. 

 
2. Punishment 
If the most serious sexually oriented offense or child-victim oriented offense upon which 
the above duties were based was 
 

a. Aggravated murder, murder, or a F1, F2, or F3, then offender is guilty of a F3. 
 
b. F4, F5, or misdemeanor, then offender is guilty of a felony or misdemeanor of 

the same degree of the most serious sexually oriented offense/child-victim 
offense upon which the above duties were based. 

  
C. Probation/Parole/Post-Release Control:  Where offender from either category is on 
probation or parole or subject to post-release control, the violation shall constitute a 
violation of the conditions of probation, parole, or other post-release control. ORC 
2950.99(A)(2). 
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CLASSIFICATION AND ADJUDICATION OF 
SEXUALLY ORIENTED OFFENSES 

 
Presumptive Registration-Exempt Sexually Oriented Offenses 
 
A. Applicable Offenses (ORC 2950.01(P)(1)(e)) 
When the victim is 18 years of age or older: 

• sexual imposition (ORC 2907.06) 
• voyeurism (ORC 2907.08)  
• menacing by stalking committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2903.211) 

 
This includes any of the above committed by a juvenile whose case has been transferred to the 
common pleas court. 

 
Any violation of an existing or former law or ordinance of another nation, state, federal law, 
military law or Indian tribal law that is substantially equivalent to any of the above offenses.  
 
Any attempt to commit, conspiracy to commit, or complicity in committing any of the above 
offenses. 
 
B. Removal of Presumption: (ORC 2950.021) A trial court may require an offender who commits a 
presumptive registration-exempt offense to register. 
 

1. In making a determination whether to remove the presumption of registration 
exempt, the trial court shall consider all relevant factors, including, but not limited, 
to: 
 a. public safety; 
 

  b. interests of justice; 
 

c. any of the determinations, findings and declarations made by the general 
assembly regarding sex offenders in ORC 2905.02, including: 

• “sex offenders pose a risk of engaging in further sexually abusive 
behavior” and protection of the public is a “paramount governmental 
interest[.]” 

• a sex offender “has a reduced expectation of privacy because of the 
public’s interest in public safety[.]” 

• with notice, members of the community can prepare themselves 
 

2. Timing:  The court must make a determination about registration prior to imposing 
a sentence upon the offender. ORC 2950.021(A). 
 
3. Hearing:  A hearing is not required. 
 
 

 
C. Result of Determination Not to Remove Presumptive Exemption 
If a court does not remove the presumptive exemption, the offense is classified as a registration-
exempt offense. The offender is not subject to registration under ORC 2950.04 or any other 
duties and responsibilities imposed by Chapter ORC 2950. 
 
D. Duties of Trial Court After Removing Presumptive Exemption  (ORC 2950.021(B)(1)) 
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1. When the trial court removes the presumptive exemption, the trial court shall 
 

a. issue an order “that contains its determination and removes the presumptive 
exemption from registration;” 
 
b. include the order in the offender’s sentence;  
 
c. enter the order in the record of the case; and 
 
d. inform the offender of his/her duties to  
 

  i.  register personally with the county sheriff within 5 days; 
   -- where the offender resides 
   -- anywhere the offender is domiciled for more than five days 

-- any county in which the offender attends any school (full-time 
or part-time) 
-- any county in which the offender is employed “for more than 
14 days or for an aggregate period of 30 or more days in a 
calendar year” even if the offender does not have a temporary or 
permanent residence in this state  
-- register “with the sheriff or other appropriate person” in any 
other state in which the offender attends a school or institution 
of higher learning or is employed “for more than 14 days or for 
an aggregate period of 30 or more days in a calendar year.” 
 

  ii.   provide notice of a change of residential address, even if temporary; 
 

iii. provide notice of attending a school or institution of higher 
education; 
 

  iv.  provide notice if he/she takes employment in another state; 
 

v.  verify addresses in another state if he/she is temporarily domiciled, 
attends a school or institution of higher learning or is employed in 
another state; 
 
vi.  verify addresses, as applicable for  

-- residences  
-- school/institution of higher education  
-- place of employment 
 

vii. provide notice of change of address for  
-- school/institution of higher education  
-- place of employment 

e. require the offender to read and sign a form stating the offender’s duties, 
warning of criminal penalties for failure to verify or register addresses when 
required; and affirming that the judge explained the duties to him/her; 
 

i. If the offender is unable to read the judge must certify on the form 
that the judge specifically informed the offender of the duties and the 
offender indicated an understanding of the duties;  (ORC 2950.03). 
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ii. The trial court must provide a copy of the signed and/or verified 
form to the offender; 
 
iii. Within three days, the trial court must provide a copy of the signed 
and/or verified form to the Ohio Bureau of Criminal Identification & 
Investigation and the sheriff of the county in which the offender expects 
to reside; 
 

f. determine the offender’s name, identifying factors, the offender’s expected 
future residences in any state, criminal/delinquent history, photograph, 
fingerprints, expected future school/institution of higher learning, and address 
of Ohio employer(s); 
 
g. The trial court must forward this information to the Ohio Bureau of Criminal 
Identification & Investigation, the sheriff of the county where the offender 
expects to reside, the sheriff of the county where the offender attends (or plans 
to attend) school, and the sheriff of the county where the offender is/will be 
employed. 

 
E. Duties of Offender After Removal of Presumptive Exemption  (ORC 2950.021(B)(2)) 

 
1. When the trial court removes the presumptive exemption, the offender is subject to 
registration under ORC 2950.04 and all other duties and responsibilities imposed in 
ORC Chapter 2950 upon persons who are convicted or plead guilty to other sexually 
oriented offenses, including: 
 

a.  the duty to register; 
 

  b. the duty to provide notice of a change of address, even if temporary; 
 

c. the duty to provide notice of attending a school or institution of higher 
education; 
 
d. the duty to provide notice if he/she takes employment in another state;  
(ORC 2950.03(A)).  
 
e. the duty to verify addresses, as applicable for residences, school/institution of 
higher education and place of employment; 
 
d. the responsibility not to establish or occupy residential premises within 1000 
feet of any school premises. (ORC 2950.031) 

 
 
NOTE:  There appears to be no requirement in the statute to provide advance notice to an 
offender who has committed a presumptive registration-exempt that the exemption may be 
removed. However, a trial court should consider providing such a notice prior to accepting plea 
to insure that plea is knowing and voluntary. 
 
NOTE:  The duties of trial court when removing the presumptive exemption are ambiguous. 
For example, it is unclear whether the requirement to issue an order that contains the 
determination imposes a duty on the trial court to specify the reasons for removing the 
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exemption. Also, it is unclear whether the requirement “to enter the order in the record” is 
simply requires the trial court to file the order with the record of the case or state the order on the 
record at or before sentencing. 
 
Sexual Predator Classification and Adjudication 
 
A. “Sexual Predator” Defined:  A sexual predator is a person who  

• has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented offense (not 
including registration-exempt offenses); and 

• is likely to engage in the future in one or more sexually oriented offenses. 
(ORC2950.01(E)) 

 
1. For purposes of sexual predator determination, the sexually oriented offenses are: 

• rape (ORC 2907.02) 
• sexual battery (ORC 2907.03) 
• gross sexual imposition (ORC 2907.05) 
• importuning (ORC 2907.07)   
• aggravated murder (ORC 2903.01) with a sexual motivation 
• murder (ORC 2903.02) with a sexual motivation 
• felonious assault (ORC 2903.11) with a sexual motivation 
• kidnapping (ORC 2905.01) with a sexual motivation 
• involuntary manslaughter (ORC 2903.04(A)) with a sexual motivation   
 
When the vic t im i s  under the age of 18:  
• kidnapping to engage in sexual activity (ORC 2905.01(A)(4)) 
• corruption of a minor (ORC 2907.04) 
• sexual imposition (ORC 2907.06) 
• voyeurism (ORC 2907.08) 
• compelling prostitution (ORC 2907.21) 
• pandering obscenity involving a minor (ORC 2907.321(A)(1) or (3)) 
• pandering sexually oriented matter involving a minor (ORC 2907.322(A)(1) or 

(3)), illegal use of a minor in nudity-oriented material or performance (ORC 
2907.323(A)(1) or (2)) 

• endangering children through obscene material or nudity-oriented matter (ORC 
2919.22(B)(5)) 

• kidnapping committed with sexual motivation (ORC 2905.01) 
• menacing by stalking committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2903.211) 
• abduction committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2905.02) 
• unlawful restraint committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2903.03) 
• criminal child enticement committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2905.05)  
• child stealing (ORC 2905.04, repealed on July 1, 1996) 
• Any law or ordinance of another nation, state, federal law, military law or 

Indian tribal law that is substantially equivalent to any of the above offenses 
• Convictions or guilty pleas for attempt, conspiracy or complicity to commit any 

of the above offenses 
(ORC 2950.09(D)) 

 
B. Classification:  There are two groups of persons who are automatically classified as sexual 
predators. 
 

1. Any person who is convicted of or pleads guilty to a sexually violent predator 
specification. 
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2. Any person who is convicted of, pleads guilty to, or is adjudicated a delinquent child 
for committing a sexually oriented offense in another nation, state, or in a federal court, 
military court, or an Indian tribal court and is required, under the law of that 
jurisdiction to register as a sex offender until death. 
ORC 2950.09(A); ORC 2950.09(B)(5). 

 
C. Adjudication:  For anyone not automatically classified as a sexual predator who is convicted 
of, pleads guilty to, or is adjudicated a delinquent child for committing a sexually oriented 
offense (that is not registration exempt), the trial court must hold a hearing to determine 
whether the offender is a sexual predator. (ORC 2950.09(A)) 
 
 1. Timing of the adjudicatory hearing  
 
  a. The adjudicatory hearing is conducted by the sentencing judge 
 

i. prior to sentencing if the underlying offense is a misdemeanor   
ii. prior or concurrent to sentencing if the underlying sexually 
oriented offense for which the offender is to be sentenced is a felony 
ORC 2950.09(B)(2) 
 
iii. unless the offender waives the timing provisions. 
State v. Bellman (1999), 86 Ohio St.3d 208, 210-211 (defendant may waive 
requirement that hearing should precede sentencing); see, also, State v. Echols 
(May 5, 2000), 2nd Dist. App. Nos. 99CA60, 99CA82 

 
 2. Notice of the adjudicatory hearing 

 
a. The trial court shall give the offender and the prosecutor who prosecuted the 
offender for the sexually oriented offense notice of the time, date and location 
of the sexual predator hearing prior to sentencing. ORC 2950.09(B)(2). 
 

i. Notice must specifically address the sexual predator hearing. Notice 
that there will be a sentencing hearing is inadequate.  
State v. Higgenbotham (Mar. 21, 2000), 7th Dist. App. No. 97 BA 70; State v. 
Thomas (Aug. 10, 1999), 4th Dist. App. No. 98CA16; State v. McCane (Dec. 1, 
1997), Twelfth Dist. App. No. CA97-03-023. 
 
ii. Failure to give adequate notice is plain error and is not waived by the 
offender’s failure to object. 
State v. Gowdy (2000) 88 Ohio St.3d 387, 2000-Ohio-355; State v. Hatfield, 2nd 
Dist. App. No. 2002 CA 4, 2002-Ohio-4968. 

 3. Hearing Procedure 
 
a. The offender has the right to counsel, and, if indigent, the right to court-
appointed counsel. 
 
b. During the hearing, the offender and the prosecutor must be afforded the 
opportunity to 
 
 i. testify 
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 ii. present evidence 
 
 iii. call and examine witnesses and experts 
 
 iv. cross-examine witnesses and experts 

-- Neither party is required to present new evidence or call and 
examine witnesses. 
State v. Boshko (2000), 139 Ohio App.3d 827, 840; See ORC 
2950.09(B)(2). 

   
c. The Rules of Civil Procedure govern, unless clearly inapplicable. 
 
d. The Rules of Evidence do not strictly apply. 

      State v. Cook (1998), 83 Ohio St.3d 404, 425. 
 
e. In addition to evidence presented at the hearing, the trial court may consider 
 i. transcripts of the underlying trial or guilty plea 
 
 ii. victim impact statements 
 
 iii.presentence investigation reports 
 
 iv. prior history of arrests and convictions 
 State v. Eppinger (2001), 91 Ohio St.3d 158, 162. 

4. Expert Witnesses 
 
a. ORC Chapter 2950 does not require a determination to be based on expert 
testimony. 
 
b. The offender and prosecutor must be provided with the opportunity to call 
and examine experts about the likelihood of recidivism. 
 
c. The trial court must provide an expert witness to an indigent offender if the 
court determines that the services of an expert are reasonably necessary to 
determine whether the offender is a sexual predator. 

i. It is within the trial court’s discretion to determine whether the 
services of an expert are reasonably necessary. 
State v. Eppinger (2001), 91 Ohio St.3d 158, 162. 

 
 5. Adjudicatory Factors 

 
a. In determining whether an offender is a sexual predator, the trial court shall 

consider all relevant factors, including, but not limited to: 
 

i. The offender’s age; 
 
ii. The offender’s prior criminal record regarding all offenses, including, 
but not limited to, all sexual offenses; 
 
iii. The age of the victim of the sexually oriented offense for which 
sentence is to be imposed; 
iv. Whether the sexually oriented offense for which sentence is to be 
imposed involved multiple victims; 
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v. Whether the offender used drugs or alcohol to impair the victim of 
the sexually oriented offense or to prevent the victim from resisting; 
 
vi. If the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to 
any criminal offense, whether the offender completed any sentence 
imposed for the prior offense and, if the prior offense was a sex offense 
or a sexually oriented offense, whether the offender participated in 
available programs for sexual offenders; 
 
vii. Any mental illness or mental disability of the offender; 
 
viii. The nature of the offender’s sexual conduct, sexual contact, or 
interaction in a sexual context with the victim of the sexually oriented 
offense and whether the sexual conduct, sexual contact, or interaction in 
a sexual context was part of a demonstrated pattern of abuse; 
 
ix. Whether the offender, during the commission of the sexually 
oriented offense for which sentence is to be imposed, displayed cruelty 
or made one or more threats of cruelty; 
 
x. Any additional behavioral characteristics that contribute to the 
offender’s conduct. 

 ORC 2950.09(B)(3) 
 
b. The court may also consider other factors not enumerated in the statute, 
including, but not limited to: 
 
 i. Whether the offender completed sexual offender programs; 
 State v. Philpott (2002), 147 Ohio App.3d 505, 512 
 
 ii. The offender’s penitentiary disobedience report; 

State v. Philpott (2002), 147 Ohio App.3d 505, 512; State v. Birt (June 29, 2001), 
2nd Dist. App. No. 18595; but, see, State v. Winchester (2001), 145 Ohio App.3d 
92, 96 (noting that prison disciplinary report is not indicative of recidivism) 
 

 iii. The offender’s criminal history; 
State v. McFadden, 10th Dist. App. No. 01AP-1476, 2002-Ohio-5073; State v. 
Johnson (March 13, 2001), 10th Dist. App. No. 00AP-763 
 
iv. The offender’s lack of remorse or acceptance of responsibility; 
 
v. The offender’s possession or use of pornography; 
 
vi. The offender’s history of promiscuity; 
State v. Ivory, 8th Dist. App. No. 79722, 2002-Ohio-1275; State v. Birt (June 29, 
2001), 2nd Dist. App. No. 18595. 
 

 vii. The offender’s aberrant sexual behavior; 
 
 viii. The offender’s abuse of drugs; 
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State v. Kairis (Feb. 27, 2001), 10th Dist. App. No. 00AP-1053; State v. Ballard 
(Jan. 10, 2000), 12th Dist. App. No. CA99-06-067; State v. Lauderdale (Dec. 31, 
1998), 2nd Dist. App. No. 17036 
  
ix. Any sexually oriented offenses for which the offender has not been 
charged; 
State v. Leyman (Dec. 31, 2001), 5th Dist. App. No. 2001CA00175; State v. Reed, 
7th Dist. App. No. 00 JE 22, 2001-Ohio-3271; State v. Burgess (July 10, 2000), 
12th Dist. App. No. CA99-08-21; State v. Pryce (June 28, 2000), 9th Dist. App. 
No. 19888; State v. McGowin (Feb. 16, 1999), 12th Dist. App. No. CA98-08-92; 
State v. Bedinghaus (July 31, 1998), 1st Dist. App. No. C-970833 

x. Diagnostic tools (e.g. Violence Risk Appraisal Guide (“VRAG”), the 
Sex Offender Risk Assessment Guide (“SORAG”) and the Minnesota 
Multiphasic Personality Inventory (“MMPI”)); and                            
State v. Bowman, 12th Dist. App. Nos. CA2001-05-117, CA2001-06-147, 2002-
Ohio-4373; State v. Hammerberg, 6th Dist. App. No. L-01-1377, 2002-Ohio-
3050; State v. Dodson, Franklin App. Nos. 02AP-141, 02AP-169, 02AP-142, 
02AP-168, 2002-Ohio-4771; State v. Barber, 2nd Dist. App. No. 18804, 2002-
Ohio-1785. 

xi. Whether the offender’s victim was a child.                                         
See State v. Eppinger (2001), 91 Ohio St.3d 158, 162 

6. Adjudication 
 

a. The trial court’s determination must be supported by clear and convincing 
evidence. 
 
 i. If the court determines that the offender is not a sexual predator 

-- the court must so specify in the offender’s sentence and 
judgment of conviction; and 
-- state the reason(s) why the court determined the 
offender is not a sexual predator. 
 

   ii. If the court determines that the offender is a sexual predator 
-- the court must so specify in the offender’s sentence and 
judgment of conviction. 

    (ORC 2950.09(B)(4)) 
 
D. Duties of Trial Court After Adjudicating an Offender as a Sexual Predator   
(ORC 2950.03 and 2950.09) 
 

1. When the trial court adjudicates an offender to be a sexual predator, the trial court 
shall 

a. specify in the offender’s sentence that the offender is a sexual predator; 
 
b. inform the offender of his/her duties to 
  

  i.  register personally with the county sheriff within 5 days; 
   -- where the offender resides 
   -- anywhere the offender is domiciled for more than five days 

-- any county in which the offender attends any school (full-time 
or part-time) 
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-- any county in which the offender is employed “for more than 
14 days or for an aggregate period of 30 or more days in a 
calendar year” even if the offender does not have a temporary or 
permanent residence in this state  
-- register “with the sheriff or other appropriate person” in any 
other state in which the offender attends a school or institution 
of higher learning or is employed “for more than 14 days or for 
an aggregate period of 30 or more days in a calendar year.” 
 

  ii. provide notice of a change of residential address, even if temporary; 
 

iii. provide notice of attending a school or institution of higher 
education; 
 

  iv. provide notice if he/she takes employment in another state; 
 

v. verify addresses in another state if he/she is temporarily domiciled, 
attends a school or institution of higher learning or is employed in 
another state; 
 
vi. verify addresses, as applicable for  

-- residences  
-- school/institution of higher education  
-- place of employment 
 

vii. provide notice of change of address for  
-- school/institution of higher education  
-- place of employment 
 

c. require the offender to read and sign a form stating that the offender has 
been adjudicated a sexual predator (and any other classifications); indicating 
whether the offender’s offense was an aggravated sexually oriented offense; 
stating the offender’s duties; warning of criminal penalties for failure to verify 
or register addresses when required; and affirming that the judge explained the 
duties to him/her; 
 

i. If the offender is unable to read the judge must certify on the form 
that the judge specifically informed the offender of the duties and the 
offender indicated an understanding of the duties. 

 (ORC 2950.03).  
 

ii. The trial court must provide a copy of the signed and/or verified 
form to the offender. 
 
iii. Within three days, the trial court must provide a copy of the signed 
and/or verified form to Bureau of Criminal Identification & 
Investigation and the sheriff of the county in which the offender expects 
to reside. 
 

d. determine the offender’s name, identifying factors, the offender’s expected 
future residences in any state, criminal/delinquent history, photograph, 
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fingerprints, expected future school/institution of higher learning, and address 
of Ohio employer(s); 
 

i. The trial court must forward this information to the Bureau of 
Criminal Identification & Investigation, the sheriff of the county where 
the offender expects to reside, the sheriff of the county where the 
offender attends (or plans to attend) school, and the sheriff of the county 
where the offender is/will be employed. 

 
Adjudication as a Habitual Sexual Offender 
 
A. Alternative or Concurrent Classification:  A court may determine that an offender is both a 
sexual predator and a habitual sexual offender if the offender satisfies the criteria for both 
classifications. Alternatively, a court may determine that an individual is a habitual sexual 
offender, but not a sexual predator. (ORC 2950.09(E)(1)) 
 

1. Permanent Classification:  If a court determines that an offender is a habitual sexual 
offender, the classification is permanent for the duration of the offender’s life. 
 
2. Timing:  The determination is conducted by the sentencing judge 
prior to sentencing 

 
B. Habitual Sex Offender Defined:  A habitual sex offender is a person who 

• has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented offense (not 
including registration-exempt offenses);  
and 

• has been previously convicted or pleaded guilty to one or more sexually oriented 
offenses or child-victim oriented offenses; or was previously adjudicated a 
delinquent child for committing one of more sexually oriented offenses or child-
victim oriented offenses and was classified a juvenile offender registrant.  

 
1. For purposes of habitual sexual offender classification, the sexually oriented offenses 
are: 

• rape (ORC 2907.02) 
• sexual battery (ORC 2907.03) 
• gross sexual imposition (ORC 2907.05) 
• importuning (ORC 2907.07) 
• aggravated murder (ORC 2903.01) with a sexual motivation 
• murder (ORC 2903.02) with a sexual motivation 
• felonious assault (ORC 2903.11) with a sexual motivation 
• kidnapping (ORC 2905.01) with a sexual motivation 
• involuntary manslaughter (ORC 2903.04(A)) with a sexual motivation   
 
When the vic t im i s  under the age of 18:  
• kidnapping to engage in sexual activity (ORC 2905.01(A)(4)) 
• corruption of a minor (ORC 2907.04) 
• sexual imposition (ORC 2907.06) 
• voyeurism (ORC 2907.08) 
• compelling prostitution (ORC 2907.21) 
• pandering obscenity involving a minor (ORC 2907.321(A)(1) or (3)) 
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• pandering sexually oriented matter involving a minor (ORC 2907.322(A)(1) 
or (3)), illegal use of a minor in nudity-oriented material or performance 
(ORC 2907.323(A)(1) or (2)) 

• endangering children through obscene material or nudity-oriented matter 
(ORC 2919.22(B)(5)) 

• kidnapping committed with sexual motivation (ORC 2905.01) 
• menacing by stalking committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2903.211) 
• abduction committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2905.02) 
• unlawful restraint committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 2903.03) 
• criminal child enticement committed with a sexual motivation (ORC 

2905.05) 
• child stealing (ORC 2905.04, repealed on July 1, 1996) 
• any law or ordinance of another nation, state, federal law, military law or 

Indian tribal law that is substantially equivalent to any of the above 
offenses 

• convictions or guilty pleas for attempt, conspiracy or complicity to commit 
any of the above offenses 

 
2. For purposes of habitual sexual offender classification, the child-victim oriented 
offenses are: 
 
All of the following offenses, when the victim is under 18 years of age and is not 
a child of the offender:  

• kidnapping (ORC 2905.01(A)(1),(2), (3), or (5) ) 
• abduction (ORC 2905.02 ) 
• unlawful restraint (ORC 2905.03) 
• criminal child enticement (ORC 2905.05 ) 
• child stealing (former ORC 2905.04)  
• any law or ordinance of another nation, state, federal law, military law or 

Indian tribal law that is substantially equivalent to any of the above 
offenses 

• convictions or guilty pleas for attempt, conspiracy or complicity to commit 
any of the above offenses 

 
a. “Child-victim oriented offense” does not include any of the above 
offenses that is a sexually violent offense. An offense that is a sexually 
violent offense is within the definition of a sexually oriented offense.  
 
NOTE:  Under the definition of “sexually violent offense,” only kidnapping, 
presumably with sexual motivation, qualifies as a sexually violent offense.) 
 
 

 
C. Result of Determination of Habitual Sexual Offender Classification (ORC 2950.09(E)) 
 

1. If the court determines that the offender does not meet the criteria of a habitual 
sexual offender 
 

a. the court must so specify in the offender’s sentence and judgment of 
conviction. 

 



 

 

79 

2. If the court determines that the offender does meet the criteria of a habitual sexual 
offender 
 

a. the court must so specify in the offender’s sentence; and  
 
b. determine whether the offender will be subject to community notification 
provisions 
 

i. Automatic:  any habitual sexual offender who was also adjudicated a 
sexual predator, or pleaded guilty or was convicted of an aggravated 
sexually oriented offense is automatically subject to community 
notification provisions, or was determined to be a habitual sex offender 
subject to community notification provisions in a foreign jurisdiction. 
 -- Aggravated sexually oriented offenses are 

• Rape of a child under the age of 13 (ORC 
2907.02(A)(1)(b) 

• Forcible rape (ORC 2907.02(A)(2) committed on of after 
7/31/03 

 
ii. Presumed: It is presumed that any habitual sexual offender who has 
committed two or more child-oriented offenses or sexually oriented 
offenses against a victim under the age of 18 that “subjecting the 
offender to community notification provisions is necessary in order to 
comply with” the purposes of Chapter 2950. 

 
NOTE: There is nothing in the statute indicating how the presumption 
is rebutted and whether the offender has the burden to overcome the 
presumption or if the trial court must remove the presumption in 
making its determination. 
 
iii. Court Imposed:  For any offender where community notification is 
not presumed or automatic, the court may subject the offender to 
community notification provisions. 
 
NOTE:  There are no standards in the statute by which the court is to 
make the determination as to whether to subject the offender to 
community notification provisions. Thus, it is recommended that the 
court base its decision on the purposes and principles of Chapter 2950 
as set forth in ORC 2950.02, including: 

• “sex offenders pose a risk of engaging in further sexually 
abusive behavior” and protection of the public is a 
“paramount governmental interest[.]” 

• a sex offender “has a reduced expectation of privacy because 
of the public’s interest in public safety[.]” 

• with notice, members of the community can prepare 
themselves 
ORC 2950.01(D)(1)(g) 
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CLASSIFICATION AND ADJUDICATION 
OF CHILD-VICTIM OFFENSES 

 
Child-Victim Predator Classification and Adjudication 
 
A. “Child-victim predator” defined: A child-victim predator is a person who  

• has been convicted of (or pleaded to) a child-victim oriented offense and 
• is likely to engage in the future in one or more child-victim oriented offenses.  
(R.C 2950.01(U)(1)). 
 

1. For purposes of child-victim predator classification and adjudication, the child-victim 
oriented offenses are: 

 
When the victim is under 18 years old and is not a child of the person who commits the offense:  

• kidnapping (ORC 2905.01(A)(1),(2), (3), or (5)) 
• abduction (ORC 2905.02) 
• unlawful restraint (ORC 2905.03) 
• criminal child enticement (ORC 2905.05) 
• child stealing (former ORC 2905.04),  
• any violation of an existing or former law or ordinance of another nation, 

state, federal law, military law or Indian tribal law that is substantially 
equivalent to any of the above offenses.  

• any attempt to commit, conspiracy to commit, or complicity in committing 
any of the above offenses. 

 
B. Prior Sexual Predator Classification Remains in Effect  (ORC 2950.091(A)(1)) 
  

1. Applicable Offenders  
  Offenders who were  

• convicted of (or pleaded guilty to) a sexually oriented offense prior to 
7/31/03;  and 

•  automatically classified as a sexual predator pursuant to ORC 2950.09(A) 
(by being convicted of a sexually violent offense with a sexually violent 
predator specification); and 

• on or after 7/31/03, the sexually oriented offense upon which the 
classification was based is no longer considered a sexually oriented offense 
but a child-victim oriented offense. 

• Result:  The sexual predator classification remains valid and in effect.  
 
C. Automatic Classification as Child-Victim Predator:  The following offenders are 
automatically classified as child-victim predators. 
 
 1. Category One (ORC 2950.091(A)(2)) 
 

a. Applicable Offenders:  Offenders who were: 
• convicted of (or pleaded guilty to) a sexually oriented offense prior to 

7/31/03; and 
• adjudicated a sexual predator in relation to that offense under ORC 

2950.09; and 
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• on or after 7/31/03, the sexually oriented offense upon which the 
adjudication was based is no longer considered a sexually oriented offense 
but is instead a child-victim oriented offense. 

 
 2. Category Two  
  

a. Applicable Offenders:  Offenders who were 
• convicted of (or pleaded guilty to) committing a child-victim oriented 

offense in a foreign jurisdiction (another state, federal court, military 
court, Indian tribal court, or in a court of another nation); and 

• were required by that foreign jurisdiction to register as a child-victim 
offender or sex offender until the offender’s death. 

 
b. Challenge:  A person may challenge the automatic classification based upon a 
conviction and registration requirement from a foreign jurisdiction. See ORC 
2950.07(F).  

 
D. Adjudication as Child-Victim Predator: For anyone not automatically classified as a child-
victim predator who is convicted of, pleads guilty to, or is adjudicated a delinquent child for 
committing a child-victim oriented offense and is being sentenced after 7/31/03, the trial court 
must hold a hearing to determine whether the offender is a child-victim predator.  
 
 1. Timing 
 
  a. The adjudicatory hearing is conducted by the sentencing judge 
 

i. prior to sentencing if the underlying child-victim oriented offense is a 
misdemeanor. 
 
ii. prior or concurrent to sentencing if the underlying offense is a 
felony. 

 
2. Notice and Rights 
 

a. Court shall notify the offender and the prosecutor who prosecuted the 
offender notice of date, time, and location of the hearing. ORC 
2950.091(B)(2). 

 
b. Offender and prosecutor have the same opportunities and rights as provided 

in ORC 2950.09(B)(2) regarding sexual predator hearings. ORC 
2950.091(B)(2). 

 
c. Right of Appeal:  Offender or prosecutor may appeal as a matter of right the 

court’s determination. ORC 2950.091(B)(4). 
 
 3. Hearing procedure 

 
a.  The offender has the right to counsel, and, if indigent, the right to court-

appointed counsel. 
 
b. During the hearing, the offender and the prosecutor must be afforded the 

opportunity to: 
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  i. testify 
 
  ii. present evidence 
 
  iii. call and examine witnesses and experts 
 
  iv. cross-examine witnesses and experts 

 
4. Adjudicatory factors:  In making a determination as to whether an offender is a child-
victim predator, the judge shall consider all relevant factors, including but not 
limited to, all of the factors identified in ORC 2950.09(B)(3) regarding sexual 
predator hearings. These factors are: 

 
i. The offender’s age; 
 
ii. The offender’s prior criminal record regarding all offenses, including, 
but not limited to, all child-victim oriented offenses; 
 
iii. The age of the victim of the child-victim oriented offense for which 
sentence is to be imposed; 
 
iv. Whether the child-victim oriented offense for which sentence is to be 
imposed involved multiple victims; 
 
v. Whether the offender used drugs or alcohol to impair the victim of 
the child-victim oriented offense or to prevent the victim from resisting; 
 
vi. If the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to 
any criminal offense, whether the offender completed any sentence 
imposed for the prior offense and, if the prior offense was a child-victim 
oriented offense, whether the offender participated in available 
programs for child-victim offenders; 
 
vii. Any mental illness or mental disability of the offender; 
 
viii. The nature of the offender’s sexual conduct, sexual contact, or 
interaction in a sexual context with the victim of the child-victim 
oriented offense and whether the sexual conduct, sexual contact, or 
interaction in a sexual context was part of a demonstrated pattern of 
abuse; 
 
ix. Whether the offender, during the commission of the child-victim 
oriented offense for which sentence is to be imposed, displayed cruelty 
or made one or more threats of cruelty; 
 
x. Any additional behavioral characteristics that contribute to the 
offender’s conduct. 

 ORC 2950.09(B)(3) 
  

NOTE:  All references to a “sexual offense” or “sexually oriented 
offense” that are in made in the sexual predator determination section 
are construed as being references to a “child-victim oriented offense” 
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and all references to “sexual offenders” are construed as being 
references to “child-victim offenders.”  ORC 2950.091(B)(3). 

 
4. Standard:  After reviewing all testimony and evidence presented at the hearing, the 

court shall determine by clear and convincing evidence whether the offender is a 
child-victim predator. ORC 2950.091(B)(1)(4).  

• If the court determines that offender is not a child-victim predator, it shall 
so state in offender’s sentence and judgment of conviction and provide the 
reason(s) why the court determined that the offender is not a child-
victim predator. ORC 2950.091(B)(1)(b)(4). 

•  If court determines that offender is a child-victim predator, it shall so state 
in offender’s sentence and judgment of conviction and specify that the 
determination was pursuant to ORC 2950.091(B)(1)(b)(4).  

• The offender or prosecutor may appeal as a matter of right as to the judge’s 
determination of whether the offender is or is not a child-victim predator. 
ORC 2950.091(B)(1)(b)(4). 

 
E. Duties of Trial Court upon Determination the Offender is a Child-Victim Predator 

 
1. When the trial court adjudicates an offender to be a child-victim predator, the 
trial court shall 
 

a. specify in the offender’s sentence that the offender is a child-victim 
predator; 
 
b. inform the offender of his/her duties to  
 

  i.  register personally with the county sheriff within 5 days; 
   -- where the offender resides 

-- anywhere the offender is domiciled for more than five 
days 
-- any county in which the offender attends any school 
(full-time or part-time) 
-- any county in which the offender is employed “for 
more than 14 days or for an aggregate period of 30 or 
more days in a calendar year” even if the offender does 
not have a temporary or permanent residence in this 
state  
-- register “with the sheriff or other appropriate person” 
in any other state in which the offender attends a school 
or institution of higher learning or is employed “for 
more than 14 days or for an aggregate period of 30 or 
more days in a calendar year.” 
 

ii. provide notice of a change of residential address, even if 
temporary; 
 
iii. provide notice of attending a school or institution of higher 
education; 
 

  iv. provide notice if he/she takes employment in another state; 
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v. verify addresses in another state if he/she is temporarily 
domiciled, attends a school or institution of higher learning or 
is employed in another state; 
 
vi. verify addresses, as applicable for  

-- residences  
-- school/institution of higher education  
-- place of employment 
 

vii. provide notice of change of address for  
-- school/institution of higher education  
-- place of employment 
 

c. require the offender to read and sign a form stating that the offender 
has been adjudicated a child-victim predator (and any other 
classifications); whether any of the offender’s offenses was an 
aggravated sexually oriented offense; stating the offender’s duties; 
warning of criminal penalties for failure to verify or register addresses 
when required; and affirming that the judge explained the duties to 
him/her; 
 

i. If the offender is unable to read the judge must certify on the 
form that the judge specifically informed the offender of the 
duties and the offender indicated an understanding of the duties. 

 (ORC 2950.03).  
 

ii. The trial court must provide a copy of the signed and/or 
verified form to the offender. 
 
iii. Within three days, the trial court must provide a copy of the 
signed and/or verified form to bureau of criminal investigation 
and the sheriff of the county in which the offender expects to 
reside. 
 

d. determine the offender’s name, identifying factors, the offender’s 
expected future residences in any state, criminal/delinquent history, 
photograph, fingerprints, expected future school/institution of higher 
learning, and address of Ohio employer(s); 
 

i. The trial court must forward this information to the bureau of 
criminal investigation, the sheriff of the county where the 
offender expects to reside, the sheriff of the county where the 
offender attends (or plans to attend) school, and the sheriff of 
the county where the offender is/will be employed. 

 
F. Duration of Classification or Adjudication: Classification or adjudication of the 
offender as a child-victim predator is permanent and continues in effect until the 
offender’s death and in no case shall it be removed or terminated. ORC 
2950.091(D)(2).    
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Classification and Adjudication of Habitual Child-Victim Offenders 
 
A. “Habitual Child-Victim Offender” Defined:  A habitual child-victim offender is a person who 
is convicted of or pleads guilty to a child-victim oriented offense;  
 
and  
 
Has at least one prior conviction of a child-victim oriented offense or has at least one prior 
adjudication as a delinquent child for committing one or more child-victim oriented offenses and 
was classified a juvenile offender registrant or out-of-state juvenile offender registrant based on 
that adjudication(s).  
 
Includes a person who was previously convicted of a child-victim oriented offense and who, on 
and after 7/31/03, is automatically classified a habitual child-victim offender pursuant to 
ORC 2950.091(E). ORC 2950.01(T)(2) 

 
1. For purposes of habitual child-victim offender classification and adjudication, the 
child-victim oriented offenses are: 

 
When the victim is under 18 years old and is not a child of the person who commits the offense:  

• kidnapping (ORC 2905.01(A)(1),(2), (3), or (5)) 
• abduction (ORC 2905.02) 
• unlawful restraint (ORC 2905.03) 
• criminal child enticement (ORC 2905.05) 
• child stealing (former ORC 2905.04)  
• any violation of an existing or former law or ordinance of another nation, 

state, federal law, military law or Indian tribal law that is substantially 
equivalent to any of the above offenses.  

• any attempt to commit, conspiracy to commit, or complicity in committing 
any of the above offenses. 

 
B. Whether Prior Habitual Sexual Offender Adjudication Remains in Effect   
(ORC 2950.091(A)(1))  

 
1. Applicable Offenders  

• prior to 7/31/03, a person was convicted of or pleaded to a sexually oriented 
offense, and  

• after 7/31/03, the sexually oriented offense is no longer a sexually oriented 
offense but is a child-victim oriented offense, and 

• prior to 7/31/03, a judge determined that the offender was a habitual sex 
offender 

 
 2. Determination 
 
  a. Habitual Sexual Offender Remains in Effect:  If one or more of the offenses 

that was the basis of the offender being a habitual sex offender remains after 
7/31/03 a sexually oriented offense, notwithstanding the re-designation of the 
offense, the determination and classification of that person as a habitual sex 
offender remains valid and in effect. (ORC 2950.091(E)(1)). 
 
b. Automatic Classification as Habitual Child-Victim Offender:  If none of the 
offenses that was the basis of the offender being a habitual sex offender remains 
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after 7/31/03 a sexually oriented offense, on or after 7/31/03, the offender is 
automatically classified a habitual child-victim offender.  
(ORC 2950.091(E)(2)). 

 
C. Where Offender Is Sentenced to a Child-Victim Oriented Offense After 7/31/03 
 

1. Determination:  The court must determine whether offender is a habitual child-victim 
offender. (ORC 2950.091(E)(3)). 

 
a. Finding that an offender is a habitual child-victim offender 

 If a judge determines that offender has been previously convicted of or pleaded 
to a child-victim oriented offense and that the offender satisfies all other criteria 
for being a habitual child-victim offender, the judge shall so specify in the 
offender’s sentence and the judgment of conviction 

 
i. Community Notification:  The court may impose a requirement that 
offender be subject to community notification provisions of ORC 
2950.10 and ORC 2950.11 only if imposed in offender’s sentence and 
the judgment of conviction. (Unless the offender has also been 
adjudicated a child-victim predator.)  (ORC 2509.091(E)(4)). 
 
NOTE: There are no standards in the statute by which the court is to 
make the determination as to whether to subject the offender to 
community notification provisions. Thus, it is recommended that the 
court base its decision on the purposes and principles of Chapter 2950 
as set forth in ORC 2950.02, including: 

• “sex offenders pose a risk of engaging in further sexually 
abusive behavior” and protection of the public is a 
“paramount governmental interest[.]” 

• a sex offender “has a reduced expectation of privacy because 
of the public’s interest in public safety[.]” 

• with notice, members of the community can prepare 
themselves 
ORC 2950.01(D)(1)(g) 

 
b. Finding that an offender is not a habitual child victim offender 
 
If judge determines that the offender previously has not been convicted or 
pleaded guilty to committing a child-victim oriented offense or that the offender 
otherwise does not satisfy the criteria for being a habitual child-victim offender, 
the judge shall specify in the offender’s sentence that the offender is not a 
habitual child-victim offender. (ORC 2950.091(E)(4)). 

 
D. Determination in Foreign Jurisdiction that Offender Is a Habitual Child-Victim Offender 
 

1. Automatic Classification:  If a court of a foreign jurisdiction determines a person is a 
habitual child-victim offender in that jurisdiction, that person is considered a habitual 
child-victim offender in Ohio.  

 
a. Community Notification:  If another jurisdiction has subjected the offender to 
community as to place of residence, the offender is subject to place of residence 
notification as in R.C 2950.10 and 2950.11 
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i. Exception:  Unless foreign court determines the person is no longer subject to 
community notification.  

 
E. Duration of Classification as habitual child-victim offender. Classification or adjudication of 
the offender as a habitual child-victim offender is permanent. (ORC 2950.091(E)(4)).  
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OFFENSES COMMITTED PRIOR TO JANUARY 1, 1997 
 
Sexual Predator Adjudication for Offenses Committed Prior to January 1, 1997 
 
A. Role of ODRC:  ODRC must assess all offenders who were convicted of or pleaded guilty to 
a sexually oriented offense “that is not registration exempt” on or after January 1, 1997 and the 
offender is serving a term of imprisonment. (ORC 2950.09(C)). 
 
NOTE:  According to the statute, an offense only becomes registration exempt after a court 
determines not to remove the presumption of exemption from a presumed registration-exempt 
offense. Thus, it is unclear whether ODRC has duties for sexually oriented offenses that are 
presumed registration exempt. 
 

1. Automatic Referral:  ODRC must notify the trial court for purposes of sexual 
predator adjudication of all offenders who committed: 

• aggravated murder (ORC 2903.01) with a sexual motivation 
• murder (ORC 2903.02) with a sexual motivation 
• felonious assault (ORC 2903.11) with a sexual motivation 
• kidnapping (ORC 2905.01) with a sexual motivation  
• involuntary manslaughter (ORC 2903.04(A)) with a sexual motivation   
• rape (ORC 2907.02) 
• sexual battery (ORC 2907.03) 
• gross sexual imposition involving a victim under the age of 13 (ORC 

2907.05(A)(4)) 
• felonious sexual penetration (ORC 2907.12, repealed September 3, 1996) 
• homicide, assault or kidnapping with a sexual motivation specification.  
 

2. Recommendation:  For all sexually oriented offenses in which automatic referral does 
not apply, ODRC must consider the sexual predator factors and determine whether or 
not to recommend the offender for adjudication as a sexual predator. ODRC must notify 
the trial court of its determination in a l l cases . 

 
B. Role of the Trial Court for Automatic Referrals:  The trial court must conduct a sexual 
predator hearing after receiving automatic referrals from ODRC. 

 
C. Recommended Offenders:  The trial court must conduct a sexual predator hearing after 
receiving a recommendation of ODRC that an offender be adjudicated as a sexual predator. 
 

1. Timing:  The trial court must hold the hearing prior to the offender’s release from 
incarceration or within one year after release. 
 
2. “Discovery”:  The prosecutor may collect from ODRC all “relevant and necessary,” 
non-privileged, non-confidential information about the offender regarding whether the 
offender is a sexual predator. 
 
3. Notice:  The trial court must provide notice of the date, time and place of hearings 
to the offender and the prosecutor (or successor in office) who prosecuted the offender 
for the sexually oriented offense.  
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4. Determination the Offender Is Not a Sexual Predator: 
a. If the court determines that the offender is not a sexual predator 

-- the court must so specify in the offender’s institutional 
records; and 
-- state the reason(s) why the court determined the 
offender is not a sexual predator 
 

b. If the offender has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented 
offense of child-victim oriented offense other than the offense that was the basis 
for the hearing, the court must then determine whether the offender is a 
habitual sexual offender. 
 

i. If the court determines that the offender is a habitual sexual offender 
-- the court must so specify in the offender’s sentence and 
institutional record; 
-- determine whether to impose a community notification 
requirement; and 
-- provide a copy of the determination to ODRC, the prosecutor 
and the offender. 

 
c. Right of Appeal:  The prosecutor may appeal the determination that the 
offender is not a sexual predator.  The offender may appeal the determination 
that the offender is a habitual sexual offender. 

 
5. Determination That the Offender Is a Sexual Predator: 
 

a. If the court determines the offender is a sexual predator: 
-- the court must so specify in the offender’s sentence and 
institutional records; and 
-- provide a copy of the determination to ODRC, the prosecutor 
and the offender 

 
b. Right of Appeal:  The offender may appeal the determination that the 
offender is a sexual predator. 

 
D. Non-Recommended Offenders:  When ODRC sends a notice indicating that it does not 
recommend that an offender be adjudicated to be a sexual predator, the trial court shall not 
make any determination regarding the sexual predator status, but shall determine whether 
the offender should be subject to community notification requirements. 
 

1. Habitual Sexual Offender Determination: The trial court must determine whether the 
offender is a habitual sexual offender and should be subject to a community notification 
requirement. 
  

a. Hearing Required:  The trial court must provide a hearing to the offender 
prior to imposing a community notification requirement. 
 
b. Institutional Record:  The trial court shall include in the offender’s 
institutional record any determinations made with regard for non-recommended 
offenders. 
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Child-Victim Predator Adjudication for Offenses Committed Prior to 1/1/97 
 
A. Recommended Offenders: The trial court must determine whether an offender is a child-
victim predator after receiving a recommendation from ODRC that an offender be adjudicated 
as a child-victim predator. 
 

1. Applicability: 
 
 a. Applies where an offender: 

• was convicted of or pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented offense that is 
no longer considered a sexually oriented offense but instead a child-
victim oriented offense; and  

• was sentenced for the offense prior to 1/1/97; and 
• was serving a term of imprisonment in a state correctional institution 

on or after 7/31/03; and 
• is recommended by ODRC to be adjudicated a child-victim predator.  

(ORC 2950.091(C)(1)) 
 

2. Hearing 
 

a. Hearing Required: A hearing is required for those offenders who are not 
automatically classified as child-victim predators. 
 
b. Hearing Not Required:  A new hearing is not required where,  
 

• prior to 7/31/03, the court previously conducted a hearing regarding 
the offense while it was still classified a sexually oriented offense to 
determine whether the offender was a sexual predator. (ORC 
2950.091(C)(3)); or 

• prior to 7/31/03, ODRC recommended that the offender be adjudicated 
a sexual predator regarding a sexually oriented offense that is now a 
child-victim oriented offense and the court denied the 
recommendation and determined that the offender was not a sexual 
predator without a hearing unless the offense in question was:  

-- aggravated murder (ORC 2903.01) 
-- murder (ORC 2903.02) 
-- felonious assault  (ORC 2903.11) 
-- kidnapping (ORC 2905.01) 
-- involuntary manslaughter (ORC 2903.04) that is committed with 
a sexual motivation.  
(ORC 2950.091(C)(3)) 

 
 c. Timing: The trial court must hold the hearing prior to offender’s release from 

imprisonment or within one year after release. (ORC 2950.091(C)(2)(a)). 
 

4. Notice and Rights 
 

a. Notice:  The court shall notify the offender and prosecutor who prosecuted  
the offender notice of date, time, and location of the hearing. (ORC 2950.091 
(C)(2)(c)) 
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b. Rights:  Offender and prosecutor have the same opportunities and rights as 
provided in ORC 2950.09(B)(2) regarding sexual predator hearings. (ORC 
2950.091 (C)(2)(c)) 

 
c. Appeal:  Offender or prosecutor may appeal as a matter of right the court’s 
determination. (ORC 2950.091(C)(2)(c)(iii)) 

 
5. Determination: In making a determination as to whether an offender is a child-victim 
predator, the judge shall consider all relevant factors, including but not limited to, all 
of the factors identified in ORC 2950.09(B)(3). (ORC 2950.091(C)(2)(c)).  

 
6. Standard:  After reviewing all testimony and evidence presented at the hearing, the 
court shall determine by clear and convincing evidence whether the offender is a 
child-victim predator. (ORC 2950.091(C)(2)(c)) 
 

  
7. Court Determines That the Offender Is Not a Child-Victim Predator:  If the court 
determines that the offender is not a child-victim predator, the court shall also 
determine whether the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a 
child-victim oriented offense other than the offense in relation to which the hearing is 
being conducted. 

 
a. Other Child-Victim Offenses:  If there ARE other child-victim oriented 
offenses, the court shall include in offender’s institutional record that the 
offender is a habitual child-victim offender and the reasons why it determined 
that the offender is not a child-victim predator. (ORC 2950.091(C)(2)(c)) 
 

i. The court shall attach the determinations and the reasons to the 
offender’s sentence, specifying that the determinations were made in 
accordance with ORC 2950.091(C) 

 
ii. The court shall provide copies to the offender, prosecutor, and 
ODRC. 
 
iii. The court may impose a requirement that the offender be subject to 
community notification under ORC 2950.10 and 2950.11. (If these are 
imposed, the offender may appeal the habitual child-victim offender 
determination.)  

 
b. No Other Child-Victim Offenses:  If there are NOT other child-victim 
oriented offenses, the court shall include, in the offender’s institutional record, 
its determinations and the reasons why it determined that the offender is not a 
child-victim predator. (ORC 2950.091(C)(2)(c)(i)). 

 
8. Court Determines That the Offender Is a Child-Victim Predator:  If the court 
determines that the offender is a child-victim predator, the court shall enter its 
determination in the offender’s institutional record. 

• The court shall attach the determinations and the reasons to the 
offender’s sentence, specifying that the determinations were made in 
accordance with ORC 2950.091(C) 

• The court shall provide copies to the offender, prosecutor, and ODRC. 
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a. Right of Appeal:  The offender or prosecutor may appeal this determination. 
 
B. Non-recommended Offenders:  ODRC may send a notice indicating that it does not 
recommend that an offender be adjudicated a child-victim predator. 
 
 1. Applicability: 
 Applies where, prior to 7/31/03, the offender: 

• was convicted of or pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented offense that is 
no longer considered a sexually oriented offense but instead a child-
victim oriented offense; and  

• was not sentenced for the offense on or after 1/1/97; and 
• was serving a term of imprisonment in a state correctional institution 

on or after 7/31/03; and 
• ODRC sends a determination that it is not recommending that an 

offender be adjudicated a child-victim predator.  
(ORC 2950.091(C)(2)(b)) 

 
2. Determination:  The court shall not make a determination as to whether offender 
should be classified as child-victim predator, but shall determine whether the offender is 
a habitual child offender. ORC 2950.091(C)(2)(b).  
 

 3. Hearing 
 

a. Not Required:  A hearing is not required to make determination of whether 
offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to a child-victim 
oriented offense other than the one in relation to which the department made its 
recommendation. ORC 2950.091(C)(2)(b) 
 
b. Hearing Required:  A hearing is required if the court is going to impose 
community notification obligations. (ORC 2950.091(C)(2)(b)) 

 
4. Record of Determination:  The court shall include in the offender’s institutional 
record any determination made as to whether the offender previously has been 
convicted of or pleaded guilty to a child-victim oriented offense and whether the 
offender is a habitual child-victim offender. (ORC 2950.091(C)(2)(b)).  
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SUSPENSION OF DUTIES AND REMOVAL OF CLASSIFICATIONS 
 
Suspension of Community Notification  (ORC 2950.11(H)) 
 
A. Motion to Suspend Community Notification:  All of the following may file a motion to 
suspend community notification: 

• an offender, unless  
-- the offender is a sexually violent predator 
-- the offender is a habitual sexual offender or habitual child-
victim oriented offender who, subsequent to being subjected to 
a community notification requirement, has pleaded guilty or has 
been convicted of a sexually oriented offense or a child-victim 
oriented offense 
-- the offender is a sexual predator or a child-victim predator, 
who, subsequent to being subjected to a community notification 
requirement, has pleaded guilty or has been convicted of a 
sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense 
 

• the prosecuting attorney of the county in which the offender was 
convicted or pleaded guilty to the offense requiring notification 

 
• the sentencing judge or that judge’s successor in office 

 
NOTE:  The statute provides that removal of the requirement can 
occur “upon the motion of the sentencing judge * * *.”  It is unclear 
whether this really means that the judge may sua sponte reconsider the 
requirement. 
 

1. Timing:  A motion to suspend may be made upon the expiration of 20 years after the 
duty to register for the subject offense begins. 

 
a. Subsequent Motions:  After the initial motion, subsequent motions 
may be made every five years from the entry of an order denying a 
previous motion. 
 

2. Hearing:  A hearing is not required, but the judge cannot suspend the notification 
requirement without a hearing. 
 
3. Determination: In making a determination whether to remove the community 
notification requirement, the trial court shall consider the factors used to determine 
whether an individual is a sexual predator: 

• The offender’s age; 
• The offender’s prior criminal record regarding all offenses, including, 

but not limited to, all sexual offenses;  
• The age of the victim of the sexually oriented offense for which sentence 

is to be imposed; 
• Whether the sexually oriented offense for which sentence is to be 

imposed involved multiple victims; 
• Whether the offender used drugs or alcohol to impair the victim of the 

sexually oriented offense or to prevent the victim from resisting; 
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• If the offender previously has been convicted of or pleaded guilty to any 
criminal offense, whether the offender completed any sentence imposed 
for the prior offense and, if the prior offense was a sex offense or a 
sexually oriented offense, whether the offender participated in available 
programs for sexual offenders; 

• Any mental illness or mental disability of the offender; 
• The nature of the offender’s sexual conduct, sexual contact, or 

interaction in a sexual context with the victim of the sexually oriented 
offense and whether the sexual conduct, sexual contact, or interaction in 
a sexual context was part of a demonstrated pattern of abuse; 

• Whether the offender, during the commission of the sexually oriented 
offense for which sentence is to be imposed, displayed cruelty or made 
one or more threats of cruelty; 

• Any additional behavioral characteristics that contribute to the 
offender’s conduct. 

 ORC 2950.09(B)(3) 
 
NOTE:  The statute requires the court to consider “all of the” factors in 2950.09(B)(3); 
it is unclear whether the court may consider “all relevant factors, including, but not 
limited to” those factors. 
 
NOTE:  When considering community notification imposed upon habitual child-victim 
offenders, all references to a “sexual offense” or “sexually oriented offense” that are made 
in the sexual predator determination section are construed as being references to a 
“child-victim oriented offense” and all references to “sexual offenders” are construed as 
being references to “child-victim offenders.”  ORC 2950.091(B)(3). 
 

a. Burden:  The offender must prove by clear and convincing evidence 
that the offender is unlikely to commit in the future a sexually oriented 
offense or a child-victim oriented offense  

 
NOTE:  Although the prosecuting attorney and trial judge may initiate 
proceedings to remove the notification requirement, the statute places 
the burden on the offender in all instances. 
 
b. Test:  The judge must find by clear and convincing evidence 

 
i. that the offender is unlikely to commit in the future a 
sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense;  
 
and 
 
ii. suspending the community notification requirement is in the 
interest of justice. 
 
NOTE:   The statute does not define “interest of justice.” 

 
4. Duties Upon Determination:  Upon determining that the community 
notification requirement should be removed, the trial court shall: 
 

a. File an order containing the following findings: 
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i. that the offender is unlikely to commit in the future a 
sexually oriented offense or a child-victim oriented offense;  
 
and 
 
ii. suspending the community notification requirement is in the 
interest of justice. 

 
   b. Serve a copy of the order upon 
 

  i. the sheriff with whom the offender most recently registered 
 
  ii. the Bureau of Criminal Identification and Investigation 
 

5. Impact on other Duties:  Suspension of community notification does not 
suspend the offender’s registration duties or victim notification. 

   
6. Right of Appeal:  The prosecuting attorney and the offender may appeal any 
order approving or denying a motion to suspend community notification. 

 
Removal of Sexual Predator Classification  (ORC 2950.09(F)) 
 
A. Petition to Remove Sexual Predator Classification:  An offender classified as a sexual 
predator may petition the common pleas court to enter a determination that the offender is not a 
sexual predator if: 

• the offender was convicted of or pleaded guilty to a sexually oriented offense in 
any jurisdiction other than Ohio; and 

• as a result of that conviction or plea, the offender is required to register as a sex 
offender until the offender’s death; and 

• the offender was automatically classified as a sexual predator in this state as a 
result. 

1. Burden:  The petitioner has the burden of proving by clear and convincing 
evidence that the requirement of registration of the other jurisdiction is not 
substantially similar to the stated reasons for sexual predator classification stated in 
ORC Chapter 2950. 

 
2. Reasons for Removal:  If the court determines that the petitioner “is not an 
adjudicated sexual predator in this state for [the stated purposes in Chapter 2950], the 
court shall include in the determination a statement of the reason or reasons why it 
so determined.” 

 
Removal of Child-Victim Predator Classification  (ORC 2950.091(F)) 

 
A. Petition to Remove Child-Victim Predator Classification:  An offender may petition the 
common pleas court in the county in which the offender resides or temporarily is domiciled to 
enter a determination that the offender is not an adjudicated child-victim predator in this state 
for purposes of registration and community notification provisions if: 

• the offender was convicted or pleaded guilty to a child-victim oriented offense in a 
court of another state, in a federal court, military court, or Indian tribal court, or in 
a court in any other nation; and 

 



 

 

 

96 

• as a result, the offender is required under the law of the foreign jurisdiction to 
register as a child-victim offender until the offender’s death; and 

• The offender was automatically classified a child-victim predator under ORC 
2950.091(A) in relation to this conviction.  

 
1. Burden:  The petitioner has the burden of proving by clear and convincing evidence 
that the requirement of the other jurisdiction that the offender register as a child-victim 
offender until the offender’s death is not substantially similar to a classification as a 
child-victim predator for purposes of this chapter.  
 
2. Reasons for Removal:  If the court grants the petition, it shall include in its 
determination a statement of the reason or reasons why it so determined. (ORC 
2950.091(F)(2)) 

 



 

 

97 

APPENDIX A 
 

Sections of the Revised Code Affected by Am.Sub.S.B. 5 
 
Sections of the Revised Code that have been amended or added by Am.Sub.S.B. 5 include the 
following: 
 
2901.07------Testing of offenders sentenced to incarceration 
2907.07------Importuning+ 
2919.24 -----Contributing to unruliness or delinquency of a child 
2929.01------Definitions (Penalties and Sentencing)* 
2929.13------Guidance by degree of felony 
2929.19------Sentencing Hearing 
2929.21------Penalties for misdemeanor 
2935.36------Pre-trial diversion programs for certain offenders 
2950.01------Definitions* 
2950.02------Legislative determinations & intent to provide information to protect public safety 
2950.021 ----Presumptive registration-exempt offenses; whether offender is required to 

register* 
2950.03 -----Notice to offender of duty to register and update address 
2950.031 ----Residency prohibited within 1,000 feet of school* 
2950.04------Duty to register based upon sexually oriented offense* 
2950.041 ----Duty to register based upon child-victim oriented offense* 
2 950.05 -----Notice of change of address; registration of new address* 
2950.06------Periodic verification of current address* 
2950.07------Commencement of duty to register; duration* 
2950.08------Persons Authorized to inspect records 
2950.081 ----Disclosure of sex offender registration information in possession of sheriff 
2950.09------Classification as sexual predator; determination hearing* 
2950.091 ----Classification as child-victim predator* 
2950.10------Notice to victim of offender’s registration or change of information 
2950.11------Persons to be notified within geographical area 
2950.111---  Requests for verification of offender’s residence address 
2950.12------Immunity 
2950.13------Duties of attorney general 
2950.14------Information to be provided to BCI&I prior to release 
2950.99------Penalties* 
2971.01------Definitions (Sentencing of sexually violent predators) 
 
109.42 -------Victim’s bill of rights pamphlet 
109.57 -------Duties of superintendent of bureau 
 
311.171------Fees charged by sheriff 
325.32 -------Reduction or remission of fees 
 
1923.01------Jurisdiction in forcible entry and detainer; definitions 
1923.02------Persons subject to forcible entry and detainer action 
1923.051 ----Procedure when restitution sought on basis of drug offenses 
 
2152.02------Definitions (Delinquent Children) 
2152.19------Additional orders of disposition; victim restitution, impact statement 
2152.191 ----Children subject to sex offender registration and notification law 
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2152.811 ----Children adjudicated delinquent for committing a presumptive registration-    
exempt sexually oriented offense 

2152.82------Order at time of dispositional order classifying child as juvenile sex offender 
registrant 

2152.83------Subsequent orders classifying child as juvenile sex offender registrant 
2152.84------Hearing upon completion of disposition on whether to continue classification or 

determination 
2152.85------Petition requesting reclassification or declassification 
2152.851 ----Effect of redesignation of sexually oriented offense as child-victim offense 
 
2743.191 ----Reparations fund 
2743.69------Annual report by attorney general 
 
3319.20------Prosecutor to notify board of nonlicensed employee’s guilty plea or conviction      

of certain offenses 
3319.31------Grounds for refusing, suspending, revoking or limiting license 
 
5139.13------Duties as to facilities and treatment and training of children 
 
5321.01------Definitions (Landlords and Tenants) 
5321.03------Action by landlord authorized 
 
NOTE:  After 1/1/04, new versions of sections 109.42, 2152.02, 2152.19, 2743,191, 2929.01, 
2929.13, 2929.19, 2929.23, 2950.01, 2950.99, and 5321.01 are to take effect (some of these are 
modifications to changes that became effective 7/31/03). 
 
* Indicates sections cited in this guide. 
 
+ Note that the offense of importuning was amended to remove the same sex language found to 
be unconstitutional by the Ohio Supreme Court in State v. Thompson,  95 Ohio St.3d 264, 2002-
Ohio-2124. 
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APPENDIX B 
 

Quick Reference Chart Summarizing 
Registration and Community Notification Requirements in ORC Chapter 2950 

 
 

Category Registration Community Notification 

 Required? Duration Frequency Required? Duration 

Registration Exempt 
Sexually Oriented 
Offender 

No N/A N/A No N/A 

Sexually Oriented 
Offense 

Yes 10 Years Annual No N/A 

Aggravated Sexually 
Oriented Offense 

Yes Life 90 days Yes 20 Years/Life 

Habitual Sexual 
Offender 

Yes 20Years/Life Annual Presumed 20 Years/Life 

Sexual Predator Yes Life 90 days Yes 20 Years/Life 

Child-Victim Offense Yes 10 Years Annual No N/A 

Habitual Child-Victim 
Offender 

Yes 20 Years Annual Court’s 

Discretion 

20 Years/Life 

Child-Victim Predator Yes Life 90 days Yes 20 Years/Life 
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PSYCHOTROPIC MEDICATION GUIDE 
 

FOR 
 

INVOLUNTARY MEDICATION HEARINGS 
 

PREPARED BY 
 

Kathryn A. Burns, M.D., M.P.H. and Howard H. Sokolov, M.D. 
 

Since 1991, Probate Courts have been authorized to provide substituted consent for 
psychotropic medication to judicially committed mentally ill individuals who lack the capacity to 
give informed consent. (ORC §2101.24(T)) 
 
Most judicially committed patients have the capacity to give informed consent. For the minority 
of patients who lack this capacity, administration of involuntary medication upon the approval 
of the court remains the most effective medical means of improving the symptoms of severe 
mental illness. 
 
Involuntary psychotropic medications should only be administered when the medication is 
specifically indicated as appropriate and effective for treatment of a particular psychiatric 
condition. Involuntary psychotropic medication should only be administered if the benefits of 
the medication substantially outweigh the risks involved in terms of side effects and potential 
adverse reactions. 
 
Probate Court authorization to approve involuntary psychiatric medication and procedural 
issues have been addressed in the Ohio Supreme decision in Steele v. Hamilton County Mental 
Health Board, 90 Ohio St.3d 176 (2000) 
 
The following guide to psychotropic medication is designed for rapid reference to the most 
commonly requested involuntary medication. The guide includes the trade and generic name of 
each medication, special information about route of administration if other than oral, dosage 
range, and side effects as well as potential severe adverse reactions. More comprehensive 
information can be found in the references noted at the end of the guide.  
      
We hope this guide will prove useful in involuntary medication hearings. 
 
June 2004 
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FREQUENTLY PRESCRIBED PSYCHOTROPIC MEDICATIONS 
with special application to Involuntary Medication Hearings 

 

TRADITIONAL ANTIPSYCHOTIC MEDICATIONS 

Indications:  Treatment of psychosis (thought disorganization; 
delusions; hallucinations; agitation; other symptoms) 

NOTE:   The se  medications may  be  reque sted as  an oral dose ,  
but wi th a reque st  f or permi ssi on t o admini ster the  short -acting  
injectable  form if  the  oral dose  is re fused . The short -acting  
injectable  form may al so be  requested as “ back up” if  a “Next  
Generation” or one  of the  newer antipsychoti c medi cations i s  
requested but the  patien t re fuses t o swallow the  medica tion .  
(Most of  the  “Next Generat ion” antipsychotic s  are  not  
avai lable  in injectable  form.) 

Side effects:  dry mouth, 
drowsiness, blurred vision, 
tremor, sun sensitivity, 
constipation, weight gain, 
extreme restlessness (akathisia), 
sudden muscle spasm/stiffness 
(dystonia), Parkinsonism, 
tardive dyskinesia (a long term, 
uncontrolled movement 
disorder, usually involving 
muscles of the face and mouth). 

See section on SIDE EFFECT 
MEDICATIONS below.  

Trade Name Generic Name Usual daily dose Special Information (if any) 

Haldol haloperidol 1-100 mg 

Available as tablets, liquid concentrate, short acting 
injectable & long-acting injectable.  The long-acting 
form is usually given every 4 weeks.  The 
medication should be started with either the oral or 
short-acting forms and when the dose is right, the 
patient can be switched to the long-acting form. 

Loxitane loxapine 20-250 mg Available as capsules, oral solution (liquid) and 
injectable (short-acting) forms. 

Mellaril thioridazine 50-800 mg 

Available as tablets and oral solution (liquid) forms. 

May cause a problem with heart conduction; use is 
now reserved for patients with symptoms that 
haven’t responded to other medications. 

Navane thiothixene 5-60 mg Available as capsules, oral solution (liquid) & 
powder (for injection) forms. 

Prolixin fluphenazine 0.5-20 mg 

Available as tablets, liquid concentrate, short acting 
injectable & long-acting injectable.  The long-acting 
form is usually given every 2 weeks.  The 
medication should be started with either the oral or 
short-acting forms and when the dose is right, the 
patient can be switched to the long-acting form. 

Stelazine trifluoperazine 2-40 mg Available as tablets, oral solution (liquid) and 
injectable (short-acting) forms. 

Thorazine chlorpromazine 75-1000 mg Available in tablet, oral solution (liquid) and short-
acting injectable forms. 
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SIDE EFFECT MEDICATIONS (used with “Traditional” Antipsychotic Medications) 

Indications: Treatment/prevention of the movement side effects 
caused by the “Traditional” antipsychotic medications 

NOTE:  Generally, unnecessary to administer these medications 
involuntarily by court order; if patient experiences side effects, can be 
medicated immediately in an emergency without order OR patient 
consents to take orally to prevent/ameliorate side effects. 

Common side effects:  dry 
mouth, dry eyes, constipation 

Trade Name Generic Name Usual daily dose Special Information (if any) 

Artane trihexyphenidyl 2-15 mg 
Some abuse potential – some patients have 
reported experiencing a type of “high” or “buzz” 
(more intense if crushed and smoked) 

Benadryl diphenhydramine 50-400 mg Sedating 

Cogentin benztropine 1-6 mg May be given as a tablet (oral) or injection 

Inderal propranolol 20-120 mg 
Also a blood pressure medication so it may lower 
blood pressure; sometimes used to treat 
impulsivity, aggression and symptoms of panic 

Symmetrel amantadine 100-400 mg Available as capsule or syrup (liquid)  
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“ATYPICAL” or “NEXT GENERATION” ANTIPSYCHOTIC MEDICATIONS 

Indications:  Treatment of 
psychosis (thought 
disorganization; delusions; 
hallucinations; agitation; other 
symptoms) & some are 
approved for treatment of 
bipolar disorder 

Side effects:  In general, much less likely to cause movement-related 
side effects. Many patients on these newer medications gain a 
significant amount of weight and some have developed an elevated 
blood sugar and even diabetes. There are new recommendations 
therefore to monitor blood sugar when patients are taking these 
medications. (A court order may be sought for both the medication 
AND laboratory testing of blood sugar.) 

Trade Name Generic Name Usual daily dose Special information (if any) 

Abilify aripiprazole 10-30mg Tablet form only. 

Clozaril clozapine 50-900 mg 

Tablet form only. 

Useful in treatment of patients with symptoms 
that have not responded to treatment with 
other medications.  There is a risk of 
agranulocytosis (decreased white blood cells 
that fight infection) which can be fatal.  Weekly 
blood work (and later bi-weekly) MUST be 
done to check on the white blood cell count.  
(The blood work is REQUIRED by the FDA.) 

Geodon ziprasidone  Available in capsule and short-acting injectable 
forms 

Risperdal risperidone 1-8 Mg 
Available in tablet & oral solution (liquid) & 
quick dissolvable tablet forms; recently 
released in long-acting injectable form 

Seroquel quetiapine 100-600 mg Tablet form only 

Zyprexa olanzapine 7.5-30 mg 

Available in tablet & oral dissolving tablet 
forms.  (The dissolving form is helpful in 
eliminating the possibility of “cheeking” or not 
swallowing the medication.)  Recently released 
a short-acting injectable. 

 



 

 

 

106 

 

MEDICATIONS FOR BIPOLAR DISORDER/MOOD STABILIZATION 

Indications: treatment of mania, long-term control of 
cycling in bipolar disorder; aggression/impulsivity 

Common side effects:  side effects 
differ based on which medication is 
used 

Trade Name Generic Name Usual daily dose Special Information (if any) 

Depakote, 
Depakene valproic acid 750-3000 mg 

May affect platelet production (platelets are a 
normal component of blood and work in the 
clotting process) and liver function. 

Blood levels can and should be monitored 

Eskalith lithium 
carbonate 600-1800 mg 

Side effects include:  drowsiness, tremor, 
weakness, increased thirst, frequent urination, 
weight gain; may affect thyroid functioning; 
may be fatal in overdose.  Blood levels MUST 
be monitored.  The “therapeutic range” for this 
medication is 0.5-1.5 mEq/L.   

Klonopin clonazepam 

Dosage varies 
depending on 
use – for acute 

mania: 4-24 
mg 

This medication is chemically related to 
valium and other medications called 
“benzodiazepines” as a group.  Level cannot be 
monitored in the blood and over the course of 
time, tolerance/dependence issues arise 
(physical and psychological). 

Neurontin gabapentin 900-3600 mg Blood levels can be monitored 

Tegretol carbamazepine 200-1600 mg 

May affect liver function, bone marrow 
production or blood cell types – blood levels of 
medication and other periodic bloodwork (to 
check for side effects) must be monitored. 

Topamax topiramate 50-400 mg Risk of kidney stones with chronic therapy – 
ensure adequate fluid intake 

Trileptal oxcarbazepine 600-1200 mg 

25-30% patients with reactions to 
carbamazepine may also have reactions to 
Trileptal; blood sodium level should be 
monitored. 
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ANTIDEPRESSANTS 

Indications:  treatment of depression, depressed phase of bipolar disorder, some are used in treating 
anxiety disorders, post-traumatic stress disorder, obsessive-compulsive disorder 

There chemical classes of antidepressants are grouped together in the chart that follows:  
Tricyclic antidepressants were developed first, followed by the SSRIs (Selective Serotonin-
Reuptake Inhibitors) and “Others.” In general, these medications MUST be swallowed by the 
individual (they aren’t available as injectable medications), so they cannot be administered 
involuntarily. 

The “tricyclic” antidepressants can be fatal in overdose and their use has decreased in favor of the 
newer medications to prevent the possibility of suicide. 

CLASS Trade Name Generic Name Usual daily 
dose Special Information (if any) 

Anafranil clomipramine 75-300 mg Tablets only 

Ascendin amoxapine 100-600 mg Tablets only 

Elavil amitriptyline 75-300 mg Available in tablet & oral 
suspension (liquid) forms 

Norpramin desipramine 75-300 mg Tablets only 

Pamelor nortriptyline 40-200 mg Available in capsule & syrup 
forms 

Sinequan doxepin 75-300 mg Capsules only 

TRICYCLICS 

Tofranil imipramine 75-300 mg Available in tablet & capsule 
forms 

Celexa citalopram 10-60 mg Available in tablets & oral 
solution (liquid) forms 

Lexapro escitalopram 10-20 mg Available in tablet and oral 
solution (liquid) forms 

Luvox fluvoxamine 50-300 mg Tablets only 

Paxil paroxetine 20-60 mg 
Available in tablet, oral 
suspension (liquid) & 
controlled release tablets 

Prozac fluoxetine 10-80 mg 
Available in capsules, oral 
solution (liquid) & long-acting 
pellets (last 1 week) 

SSRI 

Zoloft sertraline 50-200 mg Available in tablet/capsule & 
oral solution (liquid) forms 
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CLASS Trade Name Generic Name Usual daily 
dose Special Information (if any) 

Desyrel trazodone 150-600 mg Tablets only 

Effexor venlafaxine 75-375 mg Available as tablets & 
sustained release tablets 

Remeron mirtazapine 15-60 mg 
Available as tablet & oral 
disintegrating (dissolving) 
forms 

“OTHER” 

Wellbutrin bupropion 50-450 mg Available as tablets & 
sustained release tablets 

 
 
NOTE:  There are many other psychotropic medications in the classes of medication presented here.  
There are also other classes of psychotropic medication that have not been presented here (e.g. anti-
anxiety medication) because they are not commonly requested in Involuntary Medication proceedings.   
 
 
References: 
 
Physicians’ Desk Reference 2003 
 
Bezchlibnyk-Butler KZ & Jeffries JJ:  Clinical Handbook of Psychotropic Drugs; 13th Edition; Hogrefe & 
Huber; 2003. 
 
 
Prepared by:  Kathryn A. Burns, MD, MPH 
June 2004 
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Introduction 
 
The Ohio Office of Criminal Justice Services contacted adult probation departments in the 
spring and summer of 2003 to obtain information about programs in their communities. The 
following pages provide a summary of the information collected from those counties responding 
to the survey. For further information about a program see Appendix IV for a court contact in 
the county. 
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Conditional Bonds 
 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams X    X X 26 

Allen Not Available       

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark X    X X  

Clermont X  ? 6 Months X X 27 

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford X    X X 25 

Cuyahoga X    X X 18-32 

Darke Not Available       

Defiance X    X X  

Delaware X    X X 29 

Fairfield X       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin X    X X  

Fulton X    X X  

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey  X   X X  

Harrison X    X X  

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking Not Available       

Lorain Not Available       

Lucas X    X X  

Marion X   25 Days X X        25 

Medina X X  Varies X X All 

Mercer X    X X  

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding X    X X  

Pickaway X    X X  

Portage Not Available       

Preble X    X X  

Richland X  1,000.00  X X 27 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark Not Available       

Summit X    X X 24 
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Trumbull Not Available       

Van Wert X  0 90 Days X X 26 

Wayne X    X X  

Wood X   X        X   
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Fines 

 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average Age 
Of Clients 

Adams X    X X 26 

Allen X    X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark X    X X  

Clermont X  $250 3 Years X X 27 

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford X  $1500  X X  

Cuyahoga X    X         X  

Darke  X   X X  

Defiance Not Available       

Delaware Not Available       

Fairfield X       

Fayette X   5 Years X X 23.5 

Franklin X    X X  

Fulton X    X X  

Gallia X    X X  

Guernsey X    X X 30 

Harrison X    X X  

Huron  X   X X  

Jefferson X       

Lawrence X       

Licking X    X X  

Lorain X    X X  

Lucas X    X X  

Marion X  $100 2 Years X X 23 

Medina X  Varies  X X All 

Mercer X       

Montgomery X       

Ottawa X    X X  

Paulding X    X X  

Pickaway X    X X  

Portage  X Varies  X X  

Preble X    X X  

Richland X  $1500  X X  

Seneca X    X X  

Shelby X       

Stark X       
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average Age 
Of Clients 

Summit Not Available       

Trumbull X  X X    

Van Wert X  $350  X X 26 

Wayne X    X X  

Wood X    X X  
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Fee for Supervision 

 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams X  $15 3 Years X X 26 

Allen X  $15/Month  X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark X  $5/Monthly  X X  

Clermont X  $250 3 Years X X 27 

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford X  $15/Month  X X  

Cuyahoga X  $100-200  X X  

Darke Not Available       

Defiance Not Available       

Delaware Not Available       

Fairfield X  
Sliding Scale 

up to 
$50/Month 

    

Fayette X  $350 Per 
Client 5 Years X X 23.5 

Franklin X  $60 Flat Fee  X X  

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia X  $50/Month  X X  

Guernsey X  $20/Month 3-5 Years X X 30 

Harrison X  $20/Month  X X 30 

Huron X       

Jefferson X  $25     

Lawrence X  $40 3 Years X X 30’s 

Licking X  $250  X X  

Lorain X  $10/Month     

Lucas X  $8/Month  X X  

Marion X  $15/Month 2 Years X X 30 

Medina X  $20/Month  X X All 

Mercer Not Available       

Montgomery X  $50     

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding X    X X  

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage X  $50 Felony 
$25 Misd. 2 Years X X  

Preble Not Available       

Richland X  $20/Month  X X  

Seneca X  $20/Month  X X  

Shelby Not Available       
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Stark X  $20/Month  X X  

Summit Not Available       

Trumbull X  $20/Month 2-5 Years X X  

Van Wert X  $12  X X 26 

Wayne X    X X  

Wood X    X X  
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Restitution 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams X      26 

Allen Not Available       

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark X    X X  

Clermont X  ? 3 Years X X 27 

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton X       

Crawford X    X X  

Cuyahoga X    X X 18-32 

Darke X    X X  

Defiance X    X X  

Delaware X  Varies  X X  

Fairfield X       

Fayette X    X X 23.5 

Franklin X    X X  

Fulton X    X X  

Gallia X  Varies  X X  

Guernsey X    X X  

Harrison X    X X  

Huron  X      

Jefferson X X   X X  

Lawrence X    X X  

Licking X    X         X  

Lorain X X   X X  

Lucas X    X X  

Marion X  ? 2 Years X X 25 

Medina X  Varies  X X All 

Mercer X    X X  

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding X    X X  

Perry        

Pickaway X    X X  

Portage X  Varies 2 Years X X  

Preble X    X X  

Richland X  Varies  X X 30 

Seneca X       

Shelby X    X X  

Stark X       
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit X    X X  

Trumbull X    X X  

Van Wert X  $250  X X 26 

Wayne X    X X  

Wood X    X X  
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Financial Management 
 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams Not Available       

Allen Not Available       

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont  X ? 3 Months X X 27 

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga Not Available       

Darke  X   X X  

Defiance X    X X  

Delaware  X   X X  

Fairfield Not Available       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin X    X X  

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey X    X X 30 

Harrison Not Available       

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking  X    X X 

Lorain Not Available       

Lucas Not Available       

Marion  X 0     

Medina Not Available       

Mercer  X   X X  

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding  X   X X  

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland  X   X X 30 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark Not Available       

Summit Not Available       
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Trumbull  X   X X  

Van Wert X       

Wayne Not Available       

Wood  X   X X  
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Pre-Trial Release 

 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams Not Available       

Allen X    X X 31 

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga X    X X 18-32 

Darke Not Available       

Defiance X    X X  

Delaware X    X X 29 

Fairfield X       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin X    X X  

Fulton X    X X  

Gallia X  $6/Day  X X 25 

Guernsey  X  30 Days X X 30 

Harrison X    X X  

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking X   4 Months X X  

Lorain X   12 Months X X  

Lucas Not Available       

Marion X  $1200/Year 60 Days X X 30 

Medina Not Available       

Mercer X    X X  

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding X    X X  

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland X    X X 27 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark X    X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit X    X X 24 

Trumbull X   30-180 Days X X  

Van Wert X  0 90 Days X X 26 

Wayne Not Available       

Wood X    X X  
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Intervention in Lieu 

 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams  X   X X 26 

Allen X   18 Months X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark X   1 Year  X X  

Clermont X   2 Years X X 27 

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford X  $600 1year X X 25 

Cuyahoga X    X X 18-32 

Darke X    X X  

Defiance X   2 ½ Years X X 30-40 

Delaware X    X X  

Fairfield X   1 Year    

Fayette X    X X 30 

Franklin X    X X  

Fulton X    X X  

Gallia X   1 Year X X 23 

Guernsey X    X X  

Huron  X   X X  

Jefferson  X   X X  

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking Not Available       

Lorain X  None 1 Year  X X  

Lucas X    X X  

Marion X  0 18 Months X X 25 

Medina X   1-3 Years X X All 

Mercer X   Min 1 Year X X  

Montgomery X  $2.34/Day  X X  

Ottawa X   2-3 Years X X  

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway X    X X  

Portage X   1 Year X X  

Preble X    X X  

Richland X    X X 30 

Seneca X       

Shelby  X   X X  

Stark Not Available       

Summit X   1 ½ Years X X Varies 



 

 

 

124 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Trumbull X   1 Year X X  

Van Wert X  0 1year X X 26 

Wayne X    X X  

Wood X    X X  
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Community Control/Probation 

 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams X   3 Years X X 26 

Allen X    X X  

Auglaize  X      

Clark X   2.5 Years X X  

Clermont X   3 Years X X 27 

Clinton X X      

Coshocton X   3 Years X X 25-30 

Crawford X  $15/Month 2-3 Years X X 24 

Cuyahoga X    X X 18-32 

Darke X    X X  

Defiance X  $25-$35/Day 2 ½ Years X X 28-35 

Delaware X  $10/Month  X X 29 

Fairfield X   3-5 Years   19-20 

Fayette X  $600/Client 5 Years X X 23.5 

Franklin X  $60 Flat Fee  X X  

Fulton X   1 ½ Years X X 31 

Gallia X  $50/Month Varies X X 25 

Guernsey X  $20/Month 3-5 Years X X 30 

Harrison X   2 Years X X 30 

Huron X       

Jefferson X       

Lawrence X   2 Years X X 30’s 

Licking X   2 Years X X  

Lorain  X  1 ½ Years X X  

Lucas X  $8/Month 29 Months X X  

Marion X  $1200/Year 1 Year X X 30 

Medina X   
6 Months- 5 

Years X X All 

Mercer X    X X  

Montgomery X  $2.34/Day 18 Months X X  

Ottawa X   2-3 Years X X  

Paulding X    X X 32 

Pickaway X   3 Years X X  

Portage X   2 Years X X  

Preble X    X X  

Richland X   3 Years X X 33 

Seneca X   3 Years X X  

Shelby X    X X  

Stark X    X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit X   1 ½-2 Years X X 24 

Trumbull X   2-5 Years X X 21-28 

Van Wert X   1 Year X X 26 

Wayne X  $175 24 Months X X  

Wood X    X X  
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Day Reporting/Treatment 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams Not Available       

Allen Not Available       

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton X   145.6 Days X X 23 

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga Not Available       

Darke Not Available       

Defiance Not Available       

Delaware X    X X 29 

Fairfield Not Available       

Fayette X    X X 23.5 

Franklin X    X X  

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey Not Available       

Harrison Not Available       

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson  X   X X  

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking Not Available       

Lorain Not Available       

Lucas Not Available       

Marion Not Available       

Medina Not Available       

Mercer Not Available       

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway X    X X  

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland Not Available       

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark X   1 Year X X  

Summit  X   X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Trumbull Not Available       

Wayne Not Available       

Wood Not Available       
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Electronic Monitoring for Pre-Trial Release 

County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams X   3 Months X X 26 

Allen Not Available       

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga X   Less Than 
90 Days X X 18-32 

Darke Not Available       

Defiance X   30-90 Days X X  

Delaware X  $3.50/Day 60 Days X X 29 

Fairfield X       

Fayette X   6 Months X X 23.5 

Franklin Not Available       

Fulton  X   X X  

Gallia X    X X  

Guernsey  X $320 30 Days X X 30 

Harrison X    X X  

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking Not Available       

Lorain X  $6/Day Varies X X  

Lucas X    X X  

Marion Not Available       

Medina Not Available       

Mercer X  $10/Day Varies X X  

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland X  $8/Day 90 Days X X 27 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark X    X X  

Summit  X   X X  



 

 

 

130 

County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Trumbull X  $7/Day 90-180   
Days X X  

Van Wert X  $25 60 Days X X 26 

Wayne Not Available       

Wood X  $16.77 62.6 Days X X  
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Electronic Monitoring for Probation 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length 

Of Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams X   6 Months X X 26 

Allen Not Available       

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark  X $10/Day 60 Days X X  

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford X  $150/Person 1 Year X X Varies 

Cuyahoga X  $7/Day 90 Days X X 18-32 

Darke X    X X  

Defiance  X   X X  

Delaware X  $3.50/Day 45 Days X X 29 

Fairfield X  $250 30days    

Fayette X  $10/Day 120 Days X X 23.5 

Franklin Not Available       

Fulton  X   X X  

Gallia X    X X  

Guernsey  X $320 30 Days X X 30 

Harrison X    X X  

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson  X      

Lawrence X  $10/Day 180 Days X X 30’s 

Licking Not Available       

Lorain X  $6/Day 30 Days X X  

Lucas Not Available       

Marion X  $10/Day 30 Days X X 30 

Medina  X $7/Day 30-180 
Days X X All 

Mercer X  $10/Day 6 Months X X  

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway  X   X X  

Portage X  Varies Per 
Diem Based  X X  

Preble Not Available       

Richland X  $100 1 Year X X 27 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby X  $100/Weekly  X X  

Stark X  $4.75/Day  X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length 

Of Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit  X   X X  

Trumbull X  $7/Day 60 Days X X  

Van Wert X  $25 60 Days X X 26 

Wayne X  $6/Day 90 Days X X  

Wood X  $16.77 62.6 Days X X  
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Community Service 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams X   100 Hrs. X X 26 

Allen X    X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark X   80 Hrs. X X  

Clermont X   1 Year X X 27 Years 

Clinton X       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford X     $1/Hr. 20 Hrs. X X 22 

Cuyahoga  X $65  X X 18-32 

Darke X    X X  

Defiance X   20-60 Hrs. X X 28-35 

Delaware X   60 Hrs. X X 29 

Fairfield X       

Fayette X  Free 120 Hrs. X X  

Franklin X    X X  

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia X   500 Hrs.        X X 21-23 

Guernsey X   200 Hrs. X X  

Harrison X    X X  

Huron  X      

Jefferson X   100 Hrs.        X X  

Lawrence X    X X 30’s 

Licking Not Available       

Lorain X  None 200 Hrs. X X  

Lucas X    X X  

Marion X  0 20 Days X X 21 

Medina X  $50-$250 24-250 Hrs. X X All 

Mercer Not Available       

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway X    X X  

Portage X X  75 Hours X X  

Preble Not Available       

Richland X   150 Hrs. X X 30 

Seneca X    X X  

Shelby X   40 Hrs. X X  

Stark X    X X  

Summit X   50 Hrs. X X 24 
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Trumbull X   40 Hrs. X X 21-28 

Van Wert X  0  X X 26  

Wayne X  0 80 Hrs. X X  

Wood  X   X X  



 

 

135 

Alcohol Treatment 
 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams  X   X X 26 

Allen X X   X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark  X      

Clermont  X  6 Months X X 27 

Clinton  X      

Coshocton  X      

Crawford X    X X  

Cuyahoga X X   X X 18-32 

Darke  X   X X  

Defiance X X   X X  

Delaware  X   X X  

Fairfield  X      

Fayette  X  2 Yrs X X 23.5 

Franklin  X   X X  

Fulton  X   X X  

Gallia  X Sliding Scale 6 Months X X 40 

Guernsey  X   X X  

Harrison  X   X X  

Huron  X   X X  

Jefferson  X   X X  

Lawrence X    X X  

Licking  X   X X  

Lorain X X Varies  X X  

Lucas X X $2300/Yr Up To 7 
Months X X  

Marion  X $20     

Medina  X Varies Varies X X All 

Mercer  X   X X  

Montgomery  X   X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding  X   X X  

Pickaway  X   X X  

Portage  X      

Preble  X   X X  

Richland  X  Varies X X 30 

Seneca  X      

Shelby  X   X X  

Stark X    X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit  X   X X  

Trumbull  X   X X  

Van Wert  X   X X 26 

Wayne  X   X X  

Wood  X   X X  
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Drug Treatment 

 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams  X     26 

Allen X X   X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark  X      

Clermont  X  6 Months X X 27 

Clinton  X      

Coshocton  X      

Crawford  X   X X  

Cuyahoga X X   X X 18-32 

Darke  X   X X  

Defiance X X   X X  

Delaware  X   X X  

Fairfield  X      

Fayette  X  2 Years X X 23.5 

Franklin  X   X X  

Fulton  X   X X  

Gallia  X Sliding Scale 6 Months X         X 40 

Guernsey  X   X X  

Harrison  X   X X  

Huron  X   X X  

Jefferson  X   X X  

Lawrence X    X X  

Licking  X   X X  

Lorain X X Varies  X X  

Lucas X X $2300/Year Up To 7 
Months X X  

Marion  X $20     

Medina  X Varies Varies X X All 

Mercer  X   X X  

Montgomery X X   X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding  X   X X  

Pickaway  X   X X  

Portage  X      

Preble  X   X X  

Richland  X  Varies X X 30 

Seneca  X      

Shelby  X   X X  

Stark X    X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit  X   X X  

Trumbull  X   X X  

Van Wert  X   X X 26 

Wayne  X   X X  

Wood  X   X X  
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Drug Testing 

 

County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length 

Of Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams X    X X 26 

Allen X  $1.55/Panel  X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark X    X X  

Clermont X  $1.50/Test 3 Years X X 27 

Clinton X       

Coshocton X    X X 25 

Crawford X  $5-$60/Test  X X 25 

Cuyahoga X  $7/2 Tests 
$1/Add’l Test  X X 18-32 

Darke X    X X  

Defiance X  0  X X  

Delaware X  $1/Test  X X  

Fairfield X X $7.50-35/Test     

Fayette X  $10/Client 5 Years X X 23.5 

Franklin X  $2/Test 1-3 
Months X X  

Fulton X  $4.50-$10/Test  X X 30-40 

Gallia X  $19/Test  X X 35 

Guernsey X  $12/Test  X X  

Harrison X  $7/Day  X X 30 

Huron X       

Jefferson  X $35  X X  

Lawrence X  $2/Test  X X  

Licking X  $2.50/Test  X X  

Lorain X  $10/Test  X X  

Lucas X    X X  

Marion X  $2/Test 2 Years X X 25 

Medina X  $10  X X All 

Mercer X  $15/Test  X X  

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa X  $20/Test  X X  

Paulding X    X X  

Pickaway X    X X  

Portage X  $10 test 2 years X X  

Preble  X   X X  

Richland X  $5.50/Test  X X 30 

Seneca  X      

Shelby X  $2.50/Test  X X  

Stark X X      
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County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length 

Of Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit  X $8/Day  X X  

Trumbull X    X X  

Van Wert X  $8/Test  X X 26 

Wayne X X $10/Test; 
$17/Substance 

    

Wood X    X X  
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Intensive Supervision Probation 

 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams X   6 Months X X 26 

Allen X  $1,971  X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark X  $1,800/Year 1 Year X X 26 

Clermont X  ? 6 Months X X 27 

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford X  $15/Month 3 Years X X 25 

Cuyahoga X   1 Year X X 18-32 

Darke X    X X  

Defiance X  0 3 Years X X 28-35 

Delaware X  $1.30/Day     

Fairfield X  $1800 1year    

Fayette X   1 Year X X  

Franklin X  $60 Flat Fee 6 Months X X  

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey X   1 Year X X 30 

Harrison X   1 Year X X 30 

Huron X       

Jefferson X       

Lawrence X   9 Months X X 30’s 

Licking X   18 Months X X  

Lorain X  None 1 Year X X  

Lucas X  $2,300/Client 7 Months X X  

Marion X  $1,200/Year 2 Years X X 23 

Medina X   1 Year X X All 

Mercer X  $4/Day 11 Months X X  

Montgomery X  $1.92/Day         X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding X    X X  

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage X   1 year X X  

Preble Not Available       

Richland X  2$0/Month 1 Year X X 27 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby X    X X 25 

Stark X   1 Year X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit X   8 Months X X 24 

Trumbull X    X X 21-28 

Van Wert X   3 Years X X 26 

Wayne X  0 12 Months X X  

Wood X    X X  
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Domestic Violence Program 

 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams X      32 

Allen  X   X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark  X   X X  

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton  X      

Coshocton  X      

Crawford  X   X X  

Cuyahoga X X   X X 18-32 

Darke Not Available       

Defiance  X   X X  

Delaware Not Available       

Fairfield Not Available       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin  X   X X  

Fulton  X   X X  

Gallia X  $180 18 Sessions X   

Guernsey  X   X X  

Harrison  X   X X  

Huron  X   X X  

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence  X      

Licking  X   X   

Lorain  X $35/Session  X X  

Lucas  X   X X  

Marion  X $20     

Medina Not Available       

Mercer  X   X X  

Montgomery X X   X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding  X   X X  

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage  X      

Preble  X   X X  

Richland X  $20/Month 1 Year X X 30 

Seneca  X      

Shelby  X   X X  

Stark X   1 Year X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit  X   X X  

Trumbull Not Available       

Van Wert X  0 10 Weeks X X 26 

Wayne  X Sliding Scale 6 Months    

Wood  X   X X  
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Education Program 

 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams  X   X X 26 

Allen  X   X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont  X  1 Year  X X 27 

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford  X   X X  

Cuyahoga  X   X X  

Darke  X   X X  

Defiance Not Available       

Delaware  X   X X  

Fairfield  X      

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin  X   X X  

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia  X   X X 23 

Guernsey  X   X X  

Harrison  X   X X  

Huron  X   X X  

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence X       

Licking Not Available       

Lorain  X   X X  

Lucas X  0  X X  

Marion  X 0     

Medina  X   X X All 

Mercer Not Available       

Montgomery  X   X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding  X   X X  

Pickaway  X   X X  

Portage Not Available       

Preble X    X X  

Richland  X  1 Year X X 30 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark X    X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit  X   X X  

Trumbull  X   X X  

Van Wert  X $40  X X 26 

Wayne  X 0 6 Months X X  

Wood Not Available       
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Life Skills Training 

 

County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams  X   X X 26 

Allen  X   X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark  X   X X  

Clermont  X  6 Months X X 27 

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga  X   X X  

Darke Not Available       

Defiance Not Available       

Delaware  X   X X  

Fairfield Not Available       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin  X   X X  

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey Not Available       

Harrison Not Available       

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking Not Available       

Lorain Not Available       

Lucas  X   X X  

Marion X  0     

Medina X  $40 8 Hrs. X X All 

Mercer Not Available       

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland Not Available       

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark Not Available       
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County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit Not Available       

Trumbull  X   X X  

Van Wert X  $20/Week 44-52 Weeks X X 26 

Wayne  X   X X  

Wood Not Available       
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Mental Retardation Program 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams  X   X X ? 

Allen Not Available       

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga X X   X X  

Darke Not Available       

Defiance Not Available       

Delaware Not Available       

Fairfield Not Available       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin Not Available       

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey Not Available       

Harrison Not Available       

Huron  X      

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking Not Available       

Lorain X  None Varies X X  

Lucas Not Available       

Marion Not Available       

Medina  X  Varies Varies X X All 

Mercer Not Available       

Montgomery  X   X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland Not Available       

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark Not Available       

Summit Not Available       
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Trumbull Not Available       

Van Wert  X   X X  

Wayne Not Available       

Wood Not Available       
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Mental Health Services 

 

County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams  X   X X 26 

Allen  X   X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark  X      

Clermont  X  2 Years X X 27 

Clinton  X      

Coshocton  X      

Crawford  X   X X  

Cuyahoga X X   X X  

Darke  X   X X  

Defiance X X   X X  

Delaware  X   X X  

Fairfield X       

Fayette  X Client’s Cost 2 Years X X 23.5 

Franklin  X   X X  

Fulton  X   X X  

Gallia  X  
6 Months To 
1 Year X X 40 

Guernsey  X   X X  

Harrison  X   X X  

Huron  X      

Jefferson  X   X X  

Lawrence X       

Licking  X   X X  

Lorain X  Varies  X X  

Lucas  X   X X  

Marion  X 20.00     

Medina X X  Varies X X All 

Mercer  X   X X X 

Montgomery  X   X X  

Ottawa  X   X X  

Paulding  X   X X  

Pickaway X    X X  

Portage X X  2 years X X  

Preble X    X X  

Richland  X   X X 30 

Seneca  X      

Shelby Not Available       

Stark  X   X X  
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County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit  X   X X  

Trumbull  X   X X  

Van Wert  X   X X 26 

Wayne Not Available       

Wood  X   X X  
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Sex Offender Treatment 

 

County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams  X     26 

Allen Not Available       

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark  X   X X  

Clermont  X  2 Years X X 27 

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton  X      

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga X X   X X 18-32 

Darke  X   X X  

Defiance  X   X X  

Delaware Not Available       

Fairfield  X      

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin  X   X X  

Fulton  X   X X  

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey  X   X X  

Harrison Not Available       

Huron  X      

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence X    X X  

Licking Not Available       

Lorain  X   X X  

Lucas X  $2300/Year 3-4 Years X X  

Marion  X $50     

Medina  X Varies Varies X X All 

Mercer  X   X X  

Montgomery  X   X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway  X   X X  

Portage  X      

Preble Not Available       

Richland  X  18 Months    

Seneca  X      

Shelby  X   X X  

Stark  X      
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County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit X X   X X  

Trumbull  X  18 Months X X  

Van Wert  X   X X  

Wayne  X   X X  

Wood  X   X X  
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Victim Offender Mediation 

County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams Not Available       

Allen  X   X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga Not Available       

Darke Not Available       

Defiance  X      

Delaware Not Available       

Fairfield Not Available       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin Not Available       

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey  X   X X  

Harrison Not Available       

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking Not Available       

Lorain Not Available       

Lucas  X   X X  

Marion  X      

Medina Not Available       

Mercer Not Available       

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland X   2 Weeks X X 27 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark X       

Summit Not Available       
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County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Trumbull Not Available       

Van Wert  X 0  X X 26 

Wayne  X 0  X X  

Wood Not Available       
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Victim Offender Reconciliation 

County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams Not Available       

Allen  X   X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga Not Available       

Darke Not Available       

Defiance  X   X X  

Delaware Not Available       

Fairfield Not Available       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin Not Available       

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey Not Available       

Harrison Not Available       

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson  X   X X  

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking Not Available       

Lorain Not Available       

Lucas Not Available       

Marion  X 0     

Medina Not Available       

Mercer Not Available       

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway  X   X X  

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland X    X X  

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark Not Available       
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County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit Not Available       

Trumbull Not Available       

Van Wert X  0     

Wayne Not Available       

Wood Not Available       



 

 

159 

Vocational Program 

County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average Age 
Of Clients 

Adams  X   X X 26 

Allen Not Available       

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont  X  6 Months X X 27  

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford  X   X X  

Cuyahoga  X   X X  

Darke Not Available       

Defiance Not Available       

Delaware  X   X X  

Fairfield Not Available       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin  X   X X  

Fulton  X   X X  

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey  X   X X 30 

Harrison  X   X X  

Huron  X      

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence  X      

Licking Not Available       

Lorain  X   X X  

Lucas  X   X X  

Marion  X 0     

Medina Not Available       

Mercer Not Available       

Montgomery  X   X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding  X 0  X X  

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland Not Available       

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark  X   X X  
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County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average Age 
Of Clients 

Summit  X   X X  

Trumbull  X   X X  

Van Wert  X   X X 26 

Wayne  X  12 Weeks X X  

Wood Not Available       
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House Arrest 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams X    X X  

Allen Not Available       

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford X  $200/Month 2 Weeks X X 20 

Cuyahoga Not Available       

Darke X    X X  

Defiance X   3 Months X X 28-35  

Delaware X  $3.50/Day 45 Days X X 29 

Fairfield X  $250 30 Days    

Fayette X  0 90 To 120 
Days X X 23.5 

Franklin X  $56/Week 60 Days X X  

Fulton X   45 Days X X 31 

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey X    X X  

Harrison X    X X  

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence X  $10 180 Days X X 30’s 

Licking X   90 Days X X  

Lorain X       

Lucas Not Available       

Marion Not Available       

Medina  X $7/Day 30-180 Days X X All 

Mercer X    X X  

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland X  $8/Day 45 Days X X 27 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby X  $100/Week  X X  

Stark Not Available       

Summit  X   X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Trumbull X  $7/Day 60 Days X X  

Van Wert Not Available       

Wayne X  0 90 Days X X  

Wood X    X X  
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Community Based Correctional Facility 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average Age 
Of Clients 

Adams  X  6 Months X         X 26 

Allen  X   X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark  X  4-6 Months X         X  

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton  X   X   

Crawford  X  6 Months X X 20-25 

Cuyahoga Not Available       

Darke  X   X X  

Defiance  X   X X  

Delaware  X   X X  

Fairfield  X      

Fayette  X Free 6 Months X X 21 

Franklin X   4 Months X X  

Fulton  X   X   

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey  X  6 Months X X  

Harrison  X   X X 30 

Huron  X   X X  

Jefferson  X      

Lawrence  X      

Licking  X   X   

Lorain  X None 4 Months X X  

Lucas  X   X X  

Marion  X 0 6 Months X X 22 

Medina  X  Varies X X All 

Mercer  X   X X  

Montgomery  X 75.00/Day  X X  

Ottawa  X   X X  

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway  X   X X  

Portage  X      

Preble Not Available       

Richland  X 50.00/Day 120 Days X X 27 

Seneca  X   X   

Shelby Not Available       

Stark  X  4 Months X X  

Summit X X   X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average Age 
Of Clients 

Trumbull X   4-6 Months X X  

Van Wert  X  100days X X 26 

Wayne  X  3-4 Months X X  

Wood X    X   
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Minimum Security Jail 
 

County 
Provided 
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams  X 35.00/Day 3 Months X X 26 

Allen  X   X X  

Auglaize  X      

Clark  X   X X  

Clermont  X      

Clinton  X      

Coshocton  X  50  X X  

Crawford  X   X X  

Cuyahoga  X 79.00/Day  X X 18-32 

Darke  X   X X  

Defiance  X   X X  

Delaware  X   X X  

Fairfield  X 40.00 10 Days X X  

Fayette  X 30.00/Day 120 Days X X 26.5 

Franklin  X   X X  

Fulton  X   X X  

Gallia  X 55.00/Day 30 Days X X 30 

Guernsey  X  30-90 Days X X 30 

Harrison  X   X X 30 

Huron  X   X X  

Jefferson  X   X X  

Lawrence  X 32.00/Day  X X 30’s 

Licking  X      

Lorain  X      

Lucas  X   X X  

Marion  X 58.00/Day 15 Days X X 25 

Medina  X  Varies X X All 

Mercer  X   X X  

Montgomery  X 65.00/Day  X X  

Ottawa  X   X X  

Paulding  X   X   

Pickaway  X   X X  

Portage  X $51/Day Varies X X  

Preble  X   X X  

Richland  X      

Seneca  X      

Shelby  X   X X  

Stark  X   X X  
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County 
Provided 
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit  X   X X  

Trumbull  X      

Van Wert  X 10.00 90 Days X X 26 

Wayne  X 20.00 Day 3-4 Months X X  

Wood  X   X X  
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Work Release 

 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average Age 
Of Clients 

Adams X   3 Months X X 26 

Allen X    X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford X    X X  

Cuyahoga  X 
25% Of Gross 

Pay 52 Days X X 18-32 

Darke X    X X  

Defiance  X   X X  

Delaware Not Available       

Fairfield Not Available       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin X  Sliding  Scale 45 Days X X  

Fulton  X   X X  

Gallia X    X X  

Guernsey Not Available       

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence X  0 6 Months X X 30’s 

Licking Not Available       

Lorain X  None  X X  

Lucas Not Available       

Marion X  0 30 Days X X 23 

Medina Not Available       

Mercer X    X X  

Montgomery Not Available       

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding X    X   

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage X  15% of Gross 
Check  X X  

Preble X    X X  

Richland X  12.00/Day 30 Days X X 27 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby X    X X  

Stark Not Available       

Summit X X   X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average Age 
Of Clients 

Trumbull  X 25.00/Day 30 Days X X  

Van Wert  X   X X 26 

Wayne Not Available       

Wood X    X X  
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Halfway House Program 
 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams  X   X X 26 

Allen  X   X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton  X      

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga  X 45.00/Day 52 Days X X 18-32 

Darke Not Available       

Defiance  X   X X  

Delaware Not Available       

Fairfield  X      

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin  X  3 Months X X  

Fulton  X   X X  

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey  X  4-6 Months X X 30 

Harrison Not Available       

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence  X 180 Days  X X 30’s 

Licking  X  6 Months X X  

Lorain  X  45 Days X X  

Lucas  X   X X  

Marion  X      

Medina Not Available       

Mercer Not Available       

Montgomery  X   X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding  X   X X  

Pickaway  X   X X  

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland  X 55.00/Day 60 Days X X 27 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark X    X   
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average Cost 
Per Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Summit  X   X X  

Trumbull Not Available       

Van Wert Not Available       

Wayne  X  6-9 Months X X  

Wood Not Available       
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Drug Court 

County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams Not Available       

Allen X    X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga X    X X  

Darke Not Available       

Defiance Not Available       

Delaware Not Available       

Fairfield Not Available       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin Not Available       

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey Not Available       

Harrison Not Available       

Huron X       

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking Not Available       

Lorain Not Available       

Lucas Not Available       

Marion Not Available       

Medina Not Available       

Mercer Not Available       

Montgomery X    X X  

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland X    X X  

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark X   1 Year  X X  

Summit X    X X  
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County 
Provided  
In-House 

Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length Of 

Time Served 
Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Trumbull X       

Van Wert Not Available       

Wayne Not Available       

Wood Not Available       
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Reentry Court 

County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length 

Of Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Adams Not Available       

Allen X    X X  

Auglaize Not Available       

Clark Not Available       

Clermont Not Available       

Clinton Not Available       

Coshocton Not Available       

Crawford Not Available       

Cuyahoga Not Available       

Darke Not Available       

Defiance Not Available       

Delaware Not Available       

Fairfield Not Available       

Fayette Not Available       

Franklin Not Available       

Fulton Not Available       

Gallia Not Available       

Guernsey Not Available       

Harrison Not Available       

Huron Not Available       

Jefferson Not Available       

Lawrence Not Available       

Licking Not Available       

Lorain Not Available       

Lucas Not Available       

Marion Not Available       

Medina Not Available       

Mercer X    X X  

Montgomery Not Available       

Ottawa Not Available       

Paulding Not Available       

Pickaway Not Available       

Portage Not Available       

Preble Not Available       

Richland X   1 Year X X 30 

Seneca Not Available       

Shelby Not Available       

Stark Not Available       

Summit Not Available       
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County 
Provided In-

House 
Provided 
Outside 

Average 
Cost Per 

Client 

Average 
Length 

Of Time 
Served 

Serves 
Males 

Serves 
Females 

Average 
Age Of 
Clients 

Trumbull Not Available       

Van Wert Not Available       

Wayne Not Available       

Wood Not Available       
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