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OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 
 

DOCUMENTATION OF 
NEW INSTRUCTOR TRAINING-CDL 

 

All information must be typed or electronically printed.  
DRIVER TRAINING ENTERPRISE: 
      

ENTERPRISE #: 
      

NEW INSTRUCTOR NAME (PRINT): 
      
TRAINING MANAGER CERTIFYING INSTRUCTION (PRINT): 
      

LICENSE #: 
      

 
 

New CDL Instructor Training – Summary Time Totals for Phase 1 to Phase 4: 
Phase 1:  40 hours – must observe all Ohio classroom 
Phase 2:  40 hours minimum – must participate in all Ohio BTW Lessons 
Phase 3:  3 hours minimum – must apply Ohio specific topics or tasks during this phase 
Phase 4:  3 hours minimum – must apply Ohio specific topics or tasks during this phase 
Total:  86 hours minimum for curriculum and instruction training for new instructors 
Total: 86 hours minimum for new instructor training 
 

More time may be conducted for candidates in order to meet the minimum expectations. 
 

(8) No less than ten hours of instruction behind-the-wheel on off-highway ranges. At least four hours of instruction shall be given  
off-the-highway and behind-the-wheel before any on- highway, behind-the-wheel instruction can be offered. 
(9) No less than ten hours of behind-the-wheel instruction on streets and highways with normal traffic. 
(10) Twenty hours of behind-the-wheel instruction may be used either for on-highway or off-highway training. The authorizing official or training 
manager who may consider which behind-the-wheel training would be most beneficial to the student shall make such  determination. A 
maximum of two hours of pre-trip and/or post trip instruction is to be credited toward the twenty hours of behind-the-wheel instruction required 
by this paragraph. 

 
 

PHASE 1 –  Observes 40-hour classroom, reviews videos, completes tests and quizzes. Reviews the School Curriculum Guide, CDL 
 Manual, and any textbooks used in classroom. – OBSERVE – TOTAL TIME = 40 HRS* 

OAC 4501-7-11 Topic Covered Date 
(MM/DD/YY) 

Start  
Time 

End  
Time 

Total  
Time 

Class  
Instructor(s) / Manager Initials 

 New Inst Comp Inst  MGR 

Traffic Laws 
 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

Rules and regulations of the public utility 
commission of Ohio. 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

Federal motor carrier safety regulations 
relating to the operation of trucks, 
commercial cars, commercial tractors, 
trailers and semi-tractors, and motor 
vehicles transporting flammable and/or 
hazardous cargo. In addition the 
enterprise shall provide the student with a 
copy of the Code of Federal Regulations, 
Title 49, parts 383 and 391 of the Federal 
Motor Carrier Safety Regulations. 

Observe 

                        CLASS                   

Federal laws relating to vehicle brake 
systems, lighting, and display of 
emergency equipment. 

Observe 

                        CLASS                   

Registration and licensing laws. 
  

Observe 
                        CLASS                   



 

* Note: Break times must be allowed but not included in 40-hour training. This form must be used in conjunction with 40-hour Training Format Guidelines 
 which provides additional details regarding the conduct of the training. 
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PHASE 1 CONTINUED 

Special taxes such as the International 
Registration Plan (IRP), the International 
Fuel Tax Alliance (IFTA), and the Single 
State Registration System (SSRS). 

Observe 

                        CLASS                   

Crash reporting and financial 
responsibility laws. 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

The effects of driver fatigue. 
 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

Safe driving practices. 
 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

Courteous driving practices. 
 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

Routine services and pre-trip safety 
check. 

 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

Use of occupant protection devices, 
including their benefits and effectiveness 
in motor vehicle collisions. 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

Sharing the road. 
 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

Commercial driver license requirements. 
 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

The effect of alcohol and drugs. 
 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

Proper public thoroughfare railroad grade 
crossing procedure. 

Observe 
                        CLASS                   

The possibility of other vehicles traveling 
beside a commercial vehicle out of the 
driver’s view known as the “no zone.” 

Observe 

                        CLASS                   

 
Debrief classroom observation. 

 
                        CLASS                   

Describe Other: 
 

Observe Teach 
                                           

Describe Other: 
 

Observe Teach 
                                           

Describe Other: 
 

Observe Teach 
                                           

Describe Other: 
 

Observe Teach 
                                           

Describe Other: 
 

Observe Teach 
                                           

 
 
 
 



 

* Note: Break times must be allowed but not included in 40-hour training. This form must be used in conjunction with 40-hour Training Format Guidelines 
 which provides additional details regarding the conduct of the training. 
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PHASE 2 – Instructor candidate driving and experienced BTW instructor teaching; experienced BTW instructor driving and instructor 
 candidate teaching; or a student driving, experienced BTW instructor teaching, and instructor candidate in the back seat 
 observing. Curriculum lessons covered (40 hours). Proper hand positioning on the wheel, use of “running commentary” 
 instruction, proper maneuvering techniques, use of the Smith System or other visual cueing method, and emergency 
 recovery techniques. – TOTAL TIME = 40 HRS* 

OAC 4501-7-11 Skills Covered Date 
(MM/DD/YY) 

Start  
Time 

End  
Time 

Total  
Time 

BTW / 
Range 

Instructor(s) / Manager Initials 

 New Inst Comp Inst  MGR 

 Lesson 1: Starting 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 2: Stopping 


Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 3: Turning 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

 Shifting  

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 4: Braking 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 5: Parking 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 6: Docking 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 7: Hooking up and unhooking 
 trailers and semi-trailers 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 8: Display of emergency equipment 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 9: Use of hazard lighting systems 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 10: Checking and servicing the parts 
 of commercial motor vehicles 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 11: Sharing the road 


Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 12: Safe driving practices 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Lesson 13: Proper public thoroughfare 
 railroad grade crossing procedure 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Describe Other: 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Describe Other: 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Describe Other: 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

Describe Other: 
 

Observe Teach Drive 
                                                

 
 
 



 

* Note: Break times must be allowed but not included in 40-hour training. This form must be used in conjunction with 40-hour Training Format Guidelines 
 which provides additional details regarding the conduct of the training. 
**Note:  Adult remedial and Juvenile Driver Improvement Program training are separate and DO NOT count toward these 40-hours. 
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PHASE 3 –  The third phase of training must be conducted by the training manager. A competent instructor can assist. This phase will focus 
 on the four-step teaching/learning method. Finish this phase by assigning the candidate a topic and require them to practice 
 teach the lesson for the Training Manager. – TOTAL TIME = 3 - 4 HRS* 

OAC 4501-7-11 Topics and/or Skills 
Covered 

Date 
(MM/DD/YY) 

Start  
Time 

End  
Time 

Total  
Time 

Class,
BTW or 
Range 

Instructor(s) / Manager Initials 

 New Inst Comp Inst  MGR 

 Four-step teaching/learning method. How 
to get students involved in the course; how 
to use course materials; student learning 
needs; developing effective teaching skills; 
coaching and evaluation; and classroom 
and in-car management techniques 
(discipline and control).  

Observe Teach Drive 

                                                

Practice Teach Topic:       
                                                 

Describe Other: 
 

Observe Teach Drive                                                 

 
 

PHASE 4 – Hands-on phase where the candidate actually teaches a class or classes to students under the direct supervision of the Training 
 Manager. For an instructor that will be teaching classroom and BTW, this is done for both classroom and BTW. During this phase 
 the Training Manager must remain with the candidate in the classroom or in the vehicle so that they may intercede if a problem 
 arises. The Training Manager must complete an assessment survey of the candidate’s instruction so that improvements can be 
 suggested and problems documented. The candidate will teach at least 60 minutes in the classroom and 60 minutes BTW. If either 
 lesson is not acceptable, additional 60 minute lessons will be taught until an acceptable lesson is recorded. (See web page for 
 assessment information.)  
 

 For an instructor that will be teaching only classroom or only BTW, all of the time in this phase can be used for the type of instruction 
 the candidate will be conducting at the enterprise. – TOTAL TIME = 3 - 5 HRS 

OAC 4501-7-11 Topics and/or Skills 
Taught 

Date 
(MM/DD/YY) 

Start 
Time 

End 
Time 

Total 
Time 

Class 
or BTW 

Instructor(s) / Manager Initials 

New Inst Comp Inst MGR 

 Lesson Title: 
                                                      

Lesson Title: 
                                                      

Lesson Title (if applicable): 
                                                      

Lesson Title (if applicable): 
                                                      

 
 
TOTAL HOURS**        

 
AUTHORIZING OFFICIAL / TRAINING MANAGER X DATE  
I hereby certify I have provided a minimum of forty 
hours of instruction as indicated above: 

 

 
NEW INSTRUCTOR X DATE  
I hereby certify I have received the minimum of forty 
hours of instruction as indicated above: 

 
 
 


