Skip Navigation

Please Note: You are viewing the non-styled version of the OHIO DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY. Either your browser does not support Cascading Style Sheets (CSS) or it is disabled. We suggest upgrading your browser to the latest version of your favorite Internet browser.


Ohio Department of Public Safety Director's Office

Thomas J. Stickrath

Director, Ohio Department of Public Safety


Tom Stickrath was appointed Director of the Ohio Department of Public Safety by Governor Mike DeWine in January of 2019. Stickrath was previously at the Attorney General’s Office as Superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI), overseeing the state crime lab and a team of law enforcement professionals.

Stickrath has more than 30 years of experience in the criminal justice field. He began his career in 1978 with the Ohio Department of Rehabilitation and Correction (DRC) where he served as Warden at the Orient Correctional Institution, Regional Director of the DRC, and Assistant Director. In 2005, Governor Bob Taft appointed him the Director of the Ohio Department of Youth Services (DYS). Under his leadership, the department achieved national accreditation for all of its programs, earning DYS the American Correctional Association’s distinguished Eagle Award. In May of 2010, Governor Ted Strickland appointed Stickrath as Director of the Ohio Department of Public Safety, where he served until his appointment to Superintendent of BCI.

Throughout his career, Stickrath has served in various organizations including the Ohio’s Homeland Security Advisory Council, ACA Commission on Accreditation, Council of State Governments Justice Center and Franklin University. Additionally, he has served extensively as a consultant on criminal justice issues to various organizations and state governments.

Stickrath received both his Bachelor of Science in Business Administration and his Juris Doctorate from the Ohio State University.

The nearly 4,000 employees of the Ohio Department of Public Safety with a $2.5 billion biennial budget are divided within six divisions: the Ohio State Highway Patrol; Bureau of Motor Vehicles; Homeland Security; Emergency Management Agency; Emergency Medical Services; and Office of Criminal Justice Services. 

  Director Tom Stickrath